An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

Yetis: Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about yetis?

Children’s literature has many notable options when it comes to yetis. To help you find the right books for you and your young reader, we’ve compiled a list of the best kids books about yetis.

Our list includes board books, picture books, and chapter books. Board books are best for babies and toddlers from ages newborn to 2 or 3. Picture books are generally great options for toddlers and for preschool and kindergarten age children. Picture books are especially enjoyable for adults to read aloud with young kids. The chapter books on our list are generally best for elementary through early middle school age tween kids. You can filter to sort by the best book type for your kid.

When it comes to children’s stories about yetis, there are a variety of titles. This list covers everything, from classics like Dear Yeti to popular sellers like The Abominables.

We hope this list of kids books about yetis can be a helpful resource for parents, teachers, and others searching for a new book!

Share this list
Add to list
My Dad Is Amazing
Written by Sabrina Moyle & illustrated by Eunice Moyle
board book
Recommend Ages: 1-3

My Mom Is Magical, featuring a magical unicorn, and My Dad Is Amazing, featuring a mythical yeti, are joyful tributes to just how amazing parents (and their kids!) are.

Buy book
$7.99
Bookshop
$6.79
Amazon
$7.18
Used $1.39
Prices as of Jan 15
Add to list
Dear Yeti
Written & illustrated by James Kwan
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-7

A sweet and whimsical story of a perfect kid-sized winter adventure, Dear Yeti is the debut picture book of an author/illustrator to watch.

Two young hikers set out to look for Yeti one day, and with the help of a bird friend, they trek further and further into the woods, sending letters to coax the shy creature out of hiding. But as their trip goes on, the hikers find that they have not prepared very well, and though their morale is high, food supplies are low, the forest is getting darker, and a snowstorm looms. Luckily Yeti is a friend they can rely on, and though he’s not ready to come out of hiding, he sneakily finds a way to get the hikers exactly what they need when they need it.

Buy book
$17.99
Bookshop
$15.29
Amazon
$17.99
Used $3.03
Prices as of Jan 15
Add to list
The Candy Cane Culprit
Written by & illustrated by Freya Hartas
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-10
After a few successful missions, the misfits have made quite a name for themselves! This time, their help is requested by a very special VIP. Can they find out who the candy cane culprit is?
Buy book
$5.99
Bookshop
$5.09
Amazon
$5.99
Used $5.99
Prices as of Jan 15
Add to list
Friends Rock: An Acorn Book (Unicorn and Yeti #3), Volume 3
Written by Heather Ayris Burnell & illustrated by Hazel Quintanilla
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-7
Magical friends Unicorn and Yeti love to share!
Buy book
$23.99
Bookshop
$20.39
Amazon
$23.99
Used $23.99
Prices as of Jan 15
Add to list
Cheer Up: An Acorn Book (Unicorn and Yeti #4), Volume 4 (Library)
Written by Heather Ayris Burnell & illustrated by Hazel Quintanilla
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-7
Magical friends Unicorn and Yeti love to help each other!
Buy book
$23.99
Bookshop
$20.39
Amazon
$23.99
Used $23.99
Prices as of Jan 15
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
  • Spaghetti with the Yeti - “Hurrah!” shouted George, “At last it is you. I’ve been looking so hard for the Yeti.” The monster looked down with a horrible howl . . . “Are you bonkers? My name is Netty!” Join George, a young and courageous explorer with all the pluck of a little Indiana Jones, on a quest to track down the elusive Yeti against all the odds. With only a map, a woolly hat and a tin of spaghetti in his rucksack, George sets off on his journey up the steep mountain path . . . and spots the Yeti immediately! But wait . . . just look at that lipstick! Can it really be the Yeti? Spaghetti with the Yeti is a funny rhyming romp, the perfect read-aloud adventure book for boy and girl monster lovers! Ideal for fans of Aliens Love Underpants and Supertato, Spaghetti with the Yeti was shortlisted for the Roald Dahl Funny Prize and Highly Commended at the Sheffield Children’s Book Award. Perfect for kids aged 3+. Have you collected all of George’s Amazing Adventures: Spaghetti with the Yeti, Marshmallows for Martians, Doughnuts for a Dragon, Pizza for Pirates, Socks for Santa Treats for T. rex Adam Guillain is a performance storyteller and was the Roald Dahl Museum and Story Centre Writer in Residence. Charlotte Guillain is a prolific author of children’s fiction, non-fiction and picture books, and together they have created the hugely successful George’s Amazing Adventures series. Lee Wildish lives in Lancashire and has been illustrating from a very young age. He loves illustrating children’s books and thinks there’s nothing better than seeing people laughing at a book he’s illustrated. His titles include The Spooky Spooky House which was the winner of the Red House Children’s Book Award 2013, and the New York Times Bestselling How to Babysit a Grandpa.

  • Good Team: An Acorn Book - Magical friends Unicorn and Yeti love to play games.

  • Sparkly New Friends: An Acorn Book - Meet Unicorn and Yeti!

  • The Abominables - Renowned literary great Eva Ibbotson delivers a final novel in her classic, much-loved style. A previously unpublished work from this favorite author, <i>The Abominables </i>follows a family of yetis who are forced, by tourism, to leave their home in the Himalayas and make their way across Europe to a possible new home. Siblings Con and Ellen shepherd the yetis along their eventful journey, with the help of Perry, a good-natured truck driver. Through a mountain rescue in the Alps and a bullfight in Spain, the yetis at last find their way to an ancestral estate in England–only to come upon a club of voracious hunters who have set their sights on the most exotic prey of all: the Abominable Snowmen.<br> Briskly funny and full of incident, <i>The Abominables </i>is vintage Ibbotson. With unforgettable characters and thoughtful messages about the environment and advocacy, it’s a generous last gift to her many devoted fans. <p/> <b>Praise for <i>The Abominables</i></b><br> <b>STARRED REVIEW</b><b>S</b><br> “A satiric farewell from a favorite author.”<br> –<i>Kirkus Reviews</i>, starred review <p/> “A memorable finale to a treasured body of work.”<br> –<i>Publishers Weekly</i>, starred review <p/> “The novel is full of whimsy, charm, and sly humor. The yetis will tug at readers’ heartstrings and make them laugh. The writing is lean, witty, and subtle. Ibbotson manages to touch on ethical messages of human rights, advocacy, and environmentalism without being obvious.”<br> –<i>School Library Journal <p/> “</i>The writing is skillful, precise, and frequently funny, and it offers an effective counterbalance to some of the story’s more serious social criticism…”<br> –<i>Bulletin of The Center for Children’s Books</i> <p/> “Readers will enjoy Ibbotson’s final book.”<br> –<i>Library Media Connection</i>

Add to list
The Thing about Yetis
Written & illustrated by Vin Vogel
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

Introducing Yeti, a fuzzy and sweet new character whose story is perfect for summer, winter, and all the seasons in between!

Everyone knows yetis love winter. They love snowball fights and hot chocolate and sledding and building snow castles. But even yetis get the shivers, and even yetis get crabby from all the cold. So here’s a secret about yetis: sometimes they miss summer. Sometimes, they have to bring a little bit of summer to the coldest of winter days. Those yetis, they’re just full of surprises.

Perfect for fans of Love Monster and the Cat books by Deborah Underwood, this endearing new character will warm your heart.

Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$16.99
Used $16.99
Prices as of Jan 15
Add to list
Don't Wake the Yeti!
Written by Claire Freedman & illustrated by Claudia Ranucci and Claire Freedman
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

If you find a yeti under your bed, there’s no need to fret! Yetis are friendly, cuddly creatures and with this hilarious step-to-step guide your yeti will soon feel at home. You’ll discover how to feed a yeti (you’ll need a napkin), how to run a yeti’s bath (with ice), and what to expect if you take him to school.

Buy book
$17.99
Bookshop
$15.29
Amazon
$16.15
Used $6.44
Prices as of Jan 15

    Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did you know you can help us improve this list? Check out our Community Handbook and learn how to add tags to books.