Almost American Girl
Almost American Girl
Goodreads4.2 / 5

Almost American Girl

Written and illustrated by Robin Ha
Published by Balzer & Bray/Harperteen
Prices as of Aug 7

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

Harvey Award Nominee, Best Children or Young Adult Book A powerful and moving teen graphic novel memoir about immigration, belonging, and how arts can save a life–perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and Hey, Kiddo. For as long as she can remember, it’s been Robin and her mom against the world. Growing up as the only child of a single mother in Seoul, Korea, wasn’t always easy, but it has bonded them fiercely together. So when a vacation to visit friends in Huntsville, Alabama, unexpectedly becomes a permanent relocation–following her mother’s announcement that she’s getting married–Robin is devastated.Overnight, her life changes. She is dropped into a new school where she doesn’t understand the language and struggles to keep up. She is completely cut off from her friends in Seoul and has no access to her beloved comics. At home, she doesn’t fit in with her new stepfamily, and worst of all, she is furious with the one person she is closest to–her mother.Then one day Robin’s mother enrolls her in a local comic drawing class, which opens the window to a future Robin could never have imagined.This nonfiction graphic novel with four starred reviews is an excellent choice for teens and also accelerated tween readers, both for independent reading and units on immigration, memoirs, and the search for identity.

What Kind of Book is Almost American Girl

Primarily about

Race, Ethnicities, & Nationalities

Reviews

    Book Lists That Include This Book

    The Creative Behind the Book

    What Has Robin Ha Said About This Book

    Nothing yet! You should let Robin Ha know that you want to hear from them about their book.

    Other Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked This Book

      They Called Us Enemy
      Graphic Nov.
      George Takei, Justin Eisinger, Steven Scott, Harmony Becker
      The Lightning Dreamer
      Margarita Engle
      Enchanted Air: Two Cultures, Two Wings
      Margarita Engle, Edel Rodriguez
      Home of the Brave
      Katherine Applegate
      Out of the Dust
      5.3
      Karen Hesse
      The Crossover
      #1 in Series
      Kwame Alexander
      View more

    Book Details

    ISBN
    9780062685094
    Publication Date
    January 28, 2020
    Page Count
    240
    Words Per Page
    76
    Audience
    Young Adult
    Reading Age
    14 - 18 years
    ASIN/ISBN 10
    0062685090
    Est. Lexile® Level
    ~511L
    Est. Fountas & Pinnell Level
    ~N
    ATOS® Book Level
    3.4
    Accelerated Reader® Points
    2
    Accelerated Reader Quiz
    507208
    Accelerated Reader Interest Level
    MG+

    Contribute to this page

    Core Score - 62%

    More than halfway there—keep going!

    Depth Score - 15%

    Just the barebones.

    Improve this page

    Are you the author or illustrator? Claim your book.

    Top Contributors
    01
    @elainer
    45

    Bookroo

    Book Clubs

    Follow Bookroo