An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

Stepfamilies: Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about stepfamilies?

Children’s literature has many notable options when it comes to stepfamilies. To help you find the right books for you and your young reader, we’ve compiled a list of the best kids books about stepfamilies.

Our list includes picture books and chapter books. Picture books are generally great options for toddlers and for preschool and kindergarten age children. Picture books are especially enjoyable for adults to read aloud with young kids. The chapter books on our list are generally best for elementary through early middle school age tween kids. You can filter to sort by the best book type for your kid.

When it comes to children’s stories about stepfamilies, there are a variety of titles. This list covers everything, from classics like Two Naomis to popular sellers like Sarah, Plain and Tall.

We hope this list of kids books about stepfamilies can be a helpful resource for parents, teachers, and others searching for a new book!

Share this list
Add to list
Every Missing Piece
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12
A stunning voice-driven novel about grief, family, and putting the pieces back together for "fans of Rebecca Stead and Erin Entrada Kelly" (BCCB) and "readers who enjoyed The Thing About Jellyfish (Booklist).
Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$16.99
Used $16.99
Prices as of Jan 15
Add to list
Cinderella Junior Novel
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Ella’s childhood is a happy one: she has loving parents, plenty of fields and meadows to explore, and lots of kind animal friends to play with. A sweet child, Ella warms the hearts of all who meet her. And her home is a wonderful place, the perfect little kingdom for a joyful family.<br>But when tragedy strikes, Ella’s happy home turns into one filled with sadness and cruelty. Will Ella be able to hold onto her kindness and courage through it all?

Buy book
$5.99
Bookshop
$5.09
Amazon
$5.99
Used $5.99
Prices as of Jan 15
Add to list
Snow White Lucks Out
Written by Suzanne Williams and Joan Holub
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Once upon a time, in faraway Grimmlandia. . .

Buy book
$5.99
Bookshop
$5.09
Amazon
$5.99
Used $1.15
Prices as of Jan 15
Add to list
Wedgie & Gizmo
Written by Suzanne Selfors
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Fans of Stick Dog and My Big Fat Zombie Goldfish will love Suzanne Selfors's hilarious new illustrated series about the growing pains of blended families and the secret rivalry of pets.

Buy book
$12.99
Bookshop
$11.04
Amazon
$11.79
Used $1.40
Prices as of Jan 15
Add to list
Skylark
Written by Patricia MacLachlan
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 6-10

Sarah came to the prairie from Maine to marry Papa. But that summer, a drought turned the land dry and blown. Fires swept across the fields and coyotes came to the well in search of water. So Sarah took Anna and Caleb back east, where they would be safe. Papa stayed behind. He would not leave his land.

Buy book
$6.99
Bookshop
$5.94
Amazon
$6.99
Used $6.99
Prices as of Jan 15
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
  • The Time of Green Magic - "Possibly the finest writer of our time." --Elizabeth Wein, New York Times bestselling author of Code Name Verity

  • Once Upon a Toad - A girl gets into a mouthful of trouble in this modern fractured fairy tale, from the author of The Mother-Daughter Book Club.

  • The Wyrm King - In the final installment of Beyond the Spiderwick Chronicles, Nick and Laurie had thought they solved their giant problems when they drove all the giants into the sea. But now, the Grace kids have come back to tell them they may have more trouble coming their way! It turns out the giants control the population of Hydra, a dragon like creature that is creating sinkholes all over Florida. But with the mermaids refusing to return the giants to the shore, the nixie’s still missing and the threat of a destroyed Florida drawing closer, the kids have to take matters in their own hands. Will Nick and Laurie be able to stop the destruction they unwittingly caused? Can a new giant hunter help save the day? Can Arthur Spiderwick’s Field Guide help them out of this or are they on their own? Find out in the final conclusion of the Spiderwick saga!

  • Two Naomis - A realistic contemporary story of two girls whose divorced parents begin to date—perfect for fans of Lisa Graff, Sara Pennypacker, and Rita Williams-Garcia. Other than their first names, Naomi Marie and Naomi Edith are sure they have nothing in common, and they wouldn’t mind keeping it that way.

Add to list
The Ring Bearer
Written & illustrated by Floyd Cooper
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

Mama’s getting married, and Jackson has an important job to do! A story about love, weddings, and the special joy that is a blended family.

Jackson’s mama is getting married, and he gets to be the ring bearer. But Jackson is worried . . . What if he trips? Or walks too slowly? Or drops the rings? And what about his new stepsister, Sophie? She’s supposed to be the flower girl, but Jackson’s not sure she’s taking her job as seriously as she should.

In a celebration of blended families, this heartwarming story, stunningly illustrated by the award-winning Floyd Cooper, is a perfect gift for any child who’s nervous to walk down the aisle at a wedding, and shows kids that they can handle life’s big changes.

Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$16.99
Used $3.75
Prices as of Jan 15
Add to list
Maggie and the Wish Fish
Written by E.D. Baker & illustrated by Lisa Manuzak
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 7-10

Maggie's adventures in the Enchanted Forest continue in the second book of a new chapter book series by E. D. Baker!

Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$16.99
Used $16.99
Prices as of Jan 15
Add to list
Sarah, Plain and Tall
Written by Patricia MacLachlan
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 6-10

This beloved Newbery Medal–winning book is the first of five books in Patricia MacLachlan’s chapter book series about the Witting family. Set in the late nineteenth century and told from young Anna’s point of view, Sarah, Plain and Tall tells the story of how Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton comes from Maine to the prairie to answer Papa’s advertisement for a wife and mother. Before Sarah arrives, Anna and her younger brother Caleb wait and wonder. Will Sarah be nice? Will she sing? Will she stay? This children’s literature classic is perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder’s Little House on the Prairie books, historical fiction, and timeless stories using rich and beautiful language. Sarah, Plain and Tall gently explores themes of abandonment, loss and love. This anniversary edition includes author Patricia MacLachlan’s Newbery speech, a discussion guide, and a reading list. Read the rest of the Sarah books by Patricia MacLachlan: Skylark, Caleb’s Story, More Perfect than the Moon, and Grandfather’s Dance.

Buy book
$7.99
Bookshop
$6.79
Amazon
$6.99
Used $1.41
Prices as of Jan 15
Add to list
The Nixie's Song
Written by Holly Black and Tony DiTerlizzi & illustrated by Tony DiTerlizzi
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 7-12

The Spiderwick Chronicles leave the old-fashioned charm of New England far behind and head south for some fiendish faerie fun in the hot Florida sun. Eleven-year-old Nicholas Vargas only thinks his life has been turned upside down after his developer father remarries and moves his new wife and daughter into the soon-to-be completed Mangrove Hollow.

But an “expedition” to a nearby lake turns up a little nixie with a giant problem - the huge, lumbering, fire-breathing variety - and it’s up to Nick; his stepsister, Laurie; and his big brother, Julian (plus a familiar face from the original Spiderwick Chronicles) to figure out the best way to stop a host of rampaging giants before all of Florida goes up in smoke.

Buy book
$12.99
Bookshop
$11.04
Amazon
$10.82
Used $0.87
Prices as of Jan 15
Add to list
The Salmon Princess
Written & illustrated by Mindy Dwyer
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

Loosely based on “Cinderella,” this story is set in Alaska, the fairy godmother is an eagle, and the hero, the son of a cannery owner, finds his true love through her Sitka slipper, a heavy rubber boot she left at the Silver Salmon Festival.

Buy book
$10.99
Bookshop
$9.34
Amazon
$10.99
Used $10.99
Prices as of Jan 15

    Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did you know you can help us improve this list? Check out our Community Handbook and learn how to add tags to books.