Once Upon a Goat
Once Upon a Goat
Goodreads4.2 / 5

Once Upon a Goat

Written by Dan Richards & illustrated by Eric Barclay
Published by Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers
Prices as of Aug 6

What's Once Upon a Goat About

Publisher Summary

A twisted fairy tale about a king and queen who wish for a child of their own . . . and end up with a baby goat. Perfect for readers of Children Make Terrible Pets and Wolfie the Bunny. “A funny and redemptive fairy tale.”–The Wall Street Journal Once upon a time, a very prim and proper king and queen begged their fairy godmother for a child. They’d prefer a boy, with glowing skin, bright eyes, and two roses for lips . . . but any kid will do. When they find themselves gifted with a baby goat (also known as a kid) instead, they can’t imagine how he’ll fit into their lives. But of course, it isn’t long before he’s part of the royal family. Readers will delight in this story’s hilarity, confusion, and celebration of families that come in every shape and size. “A fresh, amusing, kindhearted picture book.”–Booklist, Starred review”With its gentle morals of acceptance, not judging by appearances, and being open to outcomes different than expectations, this is a lovely family read-aloud.”–Kirkus”The contrast between the royal couple’s once-ordered existence and the cheerful mess at book’s end is very funny, and the message about acceptance and the expanded definition of family is a bonus.”–Horn Book

What Kind of Book is Once Upon a Goat

Topics

Reviews

    Book Lists That Include Once Upon a Goat

    The Creatives Behind the Book

    What Has Dan Richards Said About This Book

    Nothing yet! You should let Dan Richards know that you want to hear from them about their book.

    What Has Eric Barclay Said About This Book

    Nothing yet! You should let Eric Barclay know that you want to hear from them about their book.

    Other Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked Once Upon a Goat

      Peeping Beauty
      Brenda Maier, Zoe Waring
      Wally Does Not Want a Haircut
      5.8
      Amanda Driscoll
      Charlotte the Scientist Is Squished
      5.4
      #1 in Series
      Camille Andros, Brianne Farley
      A Squash and a Squeeze
      Julia Donaldson, Axel Scheffler
      Zombies Don't Eat Veggies
      Megan Lacera, Jorge Lacera
      Hensel and Gretel, Ninja Chicks
      5.0
      Corey Rosen Schwartz, Rebecca J. Gomez, Dan Santat
      Excellent Ed
      Stacy McAnulty, Julia Sarcone-Roach
      The Three Billy Goats Buenos
      Susan Middleton Elya, Miguel Ordónez
      The Apple Pie That Papa Baked
      Lauren Thompson, Jonathan Bean
      The Three Billy Goats Gruff
      4.8
      Jerry Pinkney
      View more

    Book Details

    ISBN
    9781524773748
    Publication Date
    August 27, 2019
    Page Count
    40
    Words Per Page
    13
    Audience
    Picture
    Reading Age
    4 - 8 years
    ASIN/ISBN 10
    1524773743
    Lexile® Level
    510L
    Est. Fountas & Pinnell Level
    ~N
    ATOS® Book Level
    2.6
    Accelerated Reader® Points
    0.5
    Accelerated Reader Quiz
    504929
    Accelerated Reader Interest Level
    LG

    Contribute to this page

    Core Score - 62%

    More than halfway there—keep going!

    Depth Score - 15%

    Just the barebones.

    Improve this page

    Are you the author or illustrator? Claim your book.

    Bookroo

    Book Clubs

    Follow Bookroo