The Marvelous Magic of Miss Mabel
The Marvelous Magic of Miss Mabel
Bookroo6.5 / 7Goodreads4.2 / 5

The Marvelous Magic of Miss Mabel

Written and illustrated by Natasha Lowe
Part of the Poppy Pendle Book Series
Published by Simon and Schuster-Paula Wiseman Books
Prices as of Jan 21

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

Penderwicks meets Edward Eager in this charming coming of age tale about a young witch found in a flowerpot who’s on a journey to discover her roots. The morning Nora Ratcliff finds a baby in the flowerpot on her front steps her life changes forever. She had always wanted a child, but after her husband passed away, Nora never thought she would have one, but her flowerpot child was a miracle and she decided to name her Mabel. As Mabel grew up, she showed a distinct talent for magic. When Mabel is accepted to the prestigious witch school, Ruthersfield Academy, she excels at the magic curriculum but is constantly in trouble for experimenting and inventing her own potions. One day she is asked to write a paper on her magical roots and discovers the truth about her birth after a mean classmate blurts out what everyone seems to know except Mabel. Mabel is shocked but the revelation does explain a lot. In rebellion, Mabel changes her name to Magnolia and tries to understand why she was left in the flowerpot and who her birth family might be. Will Mabel find the answers she’s looking for—or will she discover that families are people who love each other and look after each other and that’s most important of all.

What Kind of Book is The Marvelous Magic of Miss Mabel

Primarily about

What Should I Know As a Parent

Families are unique and have different expectations for the books they choose to read. The following are concepts included in this book that some parents may wish to seek out or avoid.

Note that this list is not exhaustive and there may be concepts in this book that are not included or have been insufficiently or incorrectly detailed here.


Book Lists That Include This Book

The Creative Behind the Book

What Has Natasha Lowe Said About This Book

Nothing yet! You should let Natasha Lowe know that you want to hear from them about their book.

Discover All the Books in the Poppy Pendle Series

    The Courage of Cat Campbell
    The Courage of Cat Campbell
    Daring of Della Dupree
    Daring of Della Dupree
    The Marvelous Magic of Miss Mabel
    The Marvelous Magic of Miss Mabel
    The Power of Poppy Pendle
    The Power of Poppy Pendle
    See All Books

Other Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked This Book

    Brave Like That
    Eight Keys
    Orphan Train Girl
    Witches of Brooklyn
    Hope in the Holler
    Gracefully Grayson
    Aleca Zamm Is a Wonder
    Ginger Rue
    Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
    Mary GrandPré
    Momentous Events in the Life of a Cactus
    Dusti Bowling
    Anne of Green Gables
    L.M. Montgomery

Book Details

Publication Date
August 30, 2016
Page Count
Words Per Page
Reading Age
8 - 12 years
Lib. of Congress (LCCN)
Lexile® Level
Est. Fountas & Pinnell Level
ATOS® Book Level
Accelerated Reader® Points
Accelerated Reader Quiz
Accelerated Reader Interest Level

Contribute to this page

Core Score - 74%

Making good progress . . .

Depth Score - 25%

Just the barebones.

Improve this page

Are you the author or illustrator? Claim your book.

Top Contributors