To Tell You the Truth
To Tell You the Truth
4.2/5
Goodreads

To Tell You the Truth

Written by Beth Vrabel
Hardcover
$17.99
$16.73
8 - 12
Reading age
272
Page count
Jun 8, 2021
Publication date

Buy from other retailers

AmazonBookshop

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

An utterly charming Southern-voiced middle grade novel about a young girl and the adventure she embarks upon to prove her Gran’s stories were true. Perfect for fans of The Unforgettable Guinevere St. Clair and Three Times Lucky. Trixy needs a story, fast, or she’s going to fail the fourth grade–that’s a fact. But every time she sits down to write, her mind is a blank. The only stories she can think of are Gran’s, the ones no one else ever believed but Trixy gulped down like sweet tea. Gran is gone now, buried under the lilac bush in the family plot, so it’s not like Trixy’s hurting anybody to claim one of those stories as her own, is she? That stolen story turns out to be a huge success, and soon everybody in town wants Trixy to tell them a tale. Before long, the only one left is the story she vowed never to share, the one that made Gran’s face cloud up with sadness. Trying to find a way out of this tangled mess, Trixy and her friend Raymond hit the road to follow the twists and turns of Gran’s past. Maybe then Trixy can write a story that’s all her own, one that’s the straight-up truth.

What Kind of Book is To Tell You the Truth

Topics

Reviews

    Book Lists That Include This Book

    The Creative Behind the Book

    What Has Beth Vrabel Said About This Book

    Nothing yet! Let Beth Vrabel know that you want to hear from them about their book.

    More Books by Beth Vrabel

      chapter • 272 Pages
      Caleb and Kit
      5.4
      Beth Vrabel
      chapter • 256 Pages
      Bringing Me Back
      Beth Vrabel
      chapter • 272 Pages
      A Blind Guide to Normal
      Beth Vrabel
      chapter • 264 Pages
      A Blind Guide to Stinkville
      Beth Vrabel
      chapter • 384 Pages
      The Humiliations of Pipi McGee
      Beth Vrabel
      chapter • 208 Pages
      The Newspaper Club
      #1 in Series
      Beth Vrabel
      chapter • 240 Pages
      Pack of Dorks
      Beth Vrabel
      chapter • 256 Pages
      The Reckless Club
      Beth Vrabel
      View more

    Other Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked This Book

      chapter • 304 Pages
      When You Trap a Tiger
      Tae Keller
      chapter • 272 Pages
      The Night Diary
      Veera Hiranandani
      chapter • 256 Pages
      The Secret Garden on 81st Street
      Graphic Nov.
      chapter • 224 Pages
      An Occasionally Happy Family
      Cliff Burke
      chapter • 272 Pages
      Chasing Redbird
      Sharon Creech, Marc Burckhardt
      chapter • 240 Pages
      Pay Attention, Carter Jones
      Gary D. Schmidt
      chapter • 288 Pages
      Finding Esme
      Suzanne Crowley
      chapter • 288 Pages
      The Girl and the Witch's Garden
      Erin Bowman
      chapter • 304 Pages
      Public School Superhero
      Chris Tebbetts, James Patterson, Cory Thomas
      chapter • 288 Pages
      The Girl with More Than One Heart
      Laura Geringer Bass

    Book Details

    ISBN
    9781534478596
    Publication Date
    June 8, 2021
    Publisher
    Atheneum Books for Young Readers
    Page Count
    272
    Audience
    Middle Grade
    Reading Age
    8 - 12 years
    Lib. of Congress (LCCN)
    2020029418

    Contribute to this page

    Core Score - 75%

    This page is starting to look fantastic!

    Depth Score - 15%

    Just the barebones.

    Improve this page

    Are you the author or illustrator? Claim your book.

    Bookroo

    Book Clubs

    Follow Bookroo