To Tell You the Truth
To Tell You the Truth
Goodreads4.2 / 5
The Definitive Guide to

To Tell You the Truth

Written by Beth Vrabel
Published by Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Prices as of Oct 20

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

An utterly charming Southern-voiced middle grade novel about a young girl and the adventure she embarks upon to prove her Gran’s stories were true. Perfect for fans of The Unforgettable Guinevere St. Clair and Three Times Lucky. Trixy needs a story, fast, or she’s going to fail the fourth grade–that’s a fact. But every time she sits down to write, her mind is a blank. The only stories she can think of are Gran’s, the ones no one else ever believed but Trixy gulped down like sweet tea. Gran is gone now, buried under the lilac bush in the family plot, so it’s not like Trixy’s hurting anybody to claim one of those stories as her own, is she? That stolen story turns out to be a huge success, and soon everybody in town wants Trixy to tell them a tale. Before long, the only one left is the story she vowed never to share, the one that made Gran’s face cloud up with sadness. Trying to find a way out of this tangled mess, Trixy and her friend Raymond hit the road to follow the twists and turns of Gran’s past. Maybe then Trixy can write a story that’s all her own, one that’s the straight-up truth.

What Kind of Book is To Tell You the Truth

Topics

Reviews

    Book Lists That Include This Book

    The Creative Behind the Book

    What Has Beth Vrabel Said About This Book

    Nothing yet! You should let Beth Vrabel know that you want to hear from them about their book.

    Other Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked This Book

      When You Trap a Tiger
      Tae Keller
      Mayday
      5.0
      Karen Harrington
      Clayton Byrd Goes Underground
      Rita Williams-Garcia, Frank Morrison
      Boy in the Black Suit
      Jason Reynolds
      A Home for Goddesses and Dogs
      Leslie Connor, Julie McLaughlin
      The Girl with More Than One Heart
      Laura Geringer Bass
      Chasing Redbird
      Sharon Creech, Marc Burckhardt
      Finding Esme
      Suzanne Crowley
      Finding Orion
      John David Anderson
      The Girl and the Witch's Garden
      Erin Bowman

    Book Details

    ISBN
    9781534478596
    Publication Date
    June 8, 2021
    Page Count
    272
    Reading Age
    8 - 12 years
    Lib. of Congress (LCCN)
    2020029418
    ASIN/ISBN 10
    1534478590

    Contribute to this page

    Core Score - 55%

    More than halfway there—keep going!

    Depth Score - 15%

    Just the barebones.

    Improve this page

    Are you the author or illustrator? Claim your book.