An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

Animal Shelters: Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about animal shelters?

As you can see, this list of kids books about animal shelters is a work in progress! We’re currently exploring the best books available, and we’d love your input. If you have a title you’d suggest including on our list of kids books about animal shelters, please share it with us!

We’ll be featuring a variety of titles on our list, from well known classics to popular bestsellers to lesser known titles that deserve a bigger audience. We’re also including books for a range of ages, from board books for babies and toddlers, to picture books for preschool and kindergarten age kids, to chapter books for early elementary age kids.

We’d love to hear any book suggestions you have—you can comment below or email us at [email protected].

Mr. Scruff
Written & illustrated by Simon James
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

A sweetly silly story of a little boy and a dog who make an unlikely (but perhaps perfect) pair.

Everyone knows that owners and their dogs belong together in a unique way. Polly belongs to Molly, Eric belongs to Derek, Berry belongs to Terry. But poor Mr. Scruff, alone in the rescue shelter, doesn’t belong to anyone. Then a boy named Jim walks in, and they seem to get along. Jim and Mr. Scruff don’t look anything alike, and their names certainly don’t rhyme, but they may end up belonging to each other just the same. From author-illustrator Simon James comes a warm, winning story about friendship and finding a home.

Marion and the Secret Letter
Written by Callie Barkley & illustrated by Tracy Bishop
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

Taking a turn caring for the class pet hamster, Marion is devastated when the hamster goes missing and she receives an anonymous letter in her locker with clues leading to a mysterious scavenger hunt.

Ellie the Flower Girl
Written by Callie Barkley & illustrated by Tracy Bishop
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

Read on for the next Critter Club book: Liz’s night at the museum.

Found Dogs
Written & illustrated by Erica Sirotich
picture book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

For fans of Sandra Boynton’s Doggies and Karent Katz’s Counting Kisses, this adorable rhyming and counting book tallies up all the dogs at the shelter, and then counts backward as the pups are adopted—a perfect fit for every preschooler’s library.

Babies and toddlers will delight in counting up each wriggly, wraggly rescue pup and then counting back down as each doggie is adopted. A bright, bouncy rhyme, jubilant art, and scads of adorable dogs will have wee ones giggling for more.

These patient pound dogs. Now they’re family! Found dogs.

Bad Kitty: Kitten Trouble
Written & illustrated by Nick Bruel
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 7-10

There’s terrible news in the neighborhood next to Kitty’s! A conflict there is growing worse and worse. It started as an argument and has now turned into a full-fledged fight. Worst of all: The cat shelter has been destroyed. Kitty’s family decides it’s time to do something to help. They have an idea to foster as many displaced kittens as possible. Kitty won’t mind, right? Well . . . not exactly. Kitty does seem to mind. She minds A LOT. Will our favorite bad-tempered friend learn to share her space, her food, and GASP! her toys? Find out in Kitten Trouble, this hilarious and poignant addition to the Bad Kitty series from bestselling author and illustrator Nick Bruel.

  • I Want a Dog - A girl seeks her perfect pet at a wonderfully unusual animal shelter in this comical read-aloud by the award-winning creator of Life on Mars The Copley County Animal Shelter has an aardvark, a lizard, a goose, a weasel, and plenty more. But do they have a puppy? The girl with her wagon is ready to adopt a dog—not an aardvark, lizard, or goose! Can the shelter manager help her to find her perfect pet?

Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did you know you can help us improve this list? Check out our Community Handbook and learn how to add tags to books.

Suggested Links