An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

Fairy Godmothers: Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about fairy godmothers?

As you can see, this list of kids books about fairy godmothers is a work in progress! We’re currently exploring the best books available, and we’d love your input. If you have a title you’d suggest including on our list of kids books about fairy godmothers, please share it with us!

We’ll be featuring a variety of titles on our list, from well known classics to popular bestsellers to lesser known titles that deserve a bigger audience. We’re also including books for a range of ages, from board books for babies and toddlers, to picture books for preschool and kindergarten age kids, to chapter books for early elementary age kids.

We’d love to hear any book suggestions you have—you can comment below or email us at [email protected]o.com.

Share this list
Add to list
Whiskerella
Written & illustrated by Ursula Vernon
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Princess Harriet Hamsterbone is not the kind of princess who enjoys fancy dresses or extravagant parties. Cliff-diving, fractions, and whacking people with swords are more her thing. So when she’s forced to attend a boring ball in honor of a visiting ambassador, Harriet is less than thrilled–until a bewitchingly beautiful stranger arrives. Who is she? And where did she come from? The mystery leads to a not-so-wicked stepsister, an incontinent lizard, and a fairy’s spell that’s really more of a curse. Luckily, Harriet knows a thing or two about curses…

Buy book
$13.99
Bookshop
$11.89
Amazon
$12.15
Used $2.44
Prices as of Jan 16
Add to list
Outlaws
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 9-12

Book two in the hilarious Royal Academy Rebels series by award-winning author, Jen Calonita! The mixed-up fairytale fun continues as Devin and her friends contend with their banishment from Royal Academy and come up with a plan to take down the evil Headmistress Olivina.

Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$11.29
Used $6.32
Prices as of Jan 16
Add to list
Misfits
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

A brand-new series from Jen Calonita, set in the world of Fairy Tale Reform School! Not everyone born royal is meant to rule...

Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$13.99
Used $1.43
Prices as of Jan 16
Add to list
Once Upon a Goat
Written by Dan Richards & illustrated by Eric Barclay
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8
A twisted fairy tale about a king and queen who wish for a child of their own . . . and end up with a baby goat. Perfect for readers of Children Make Terrible Pets and Wolfie the Bunny.

"A funny and redemptive fairy tale."--The Wall Street Journal

Buy book
$17.99
Bookshop
$15.29
Amazon
$14.99
Used $2.00
Prices as of Jan 16
Add to list
Princess Cora and the Crocodile
Written by Laura Amy Schlitz & illustrated by Brian Floca
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Princess Cora is sick of boring lessons. She’s sick of running in circles around the dungeon gym. She’s sick, sick, sick of taking three baths a day. And her parents won’t let her have a dog. But when she writes to her fairy godmother for help, she doesn’t expect that help to come in the form of a crocodile—a crocodile who does not behave properly. With perfectly paced dry comedy, children’s book luminaries Laura Amy Schlitz and Brian Floca send Princess Cora on a delightful outdoor adventure — climbing trees! getting dirty! having fun! — while her alter ego wreaks utter havoc inside the castle, obliging one pair of royal helicopter parents to reconsider their ways.

Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$13.89
Used $1.35
Prices as of Jan 16
Add to list
Add to list
  • Twinkle Thinks Pink! - From the acclaimed author of the beloved Angelina Ballerina series comes the second delightful picture book about a feisty fairy who’s obsessed with the color pink! When Twinkle and her friends get invited to Fairy Godmother’s garden party, they can’t wait to wear their sparkly outfits and eat lots of fairy cake! They fly through Sparkle Tree Forest to take a peek at the rainbow roses in the palace. But as they admire the beautiful garden, Twinkle notices that her favorite color is missing! So, she closes her eyes, waves her wand, and casts a little spell to turn everything pink! With her magical pink spells going sideways and frustration running high, can Twinkle set everything right before the garden party is ruined?

  • Once Upon a Toad - A girl gets into a mouthful of trouble in this modern fractured fairy tale, from the author of The Mother-Daughter Book Club.

Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did you know you can help us improve this list? Check out our Community Handbook and learn how to add tags to books.