An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

Houseboats: Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about houseboats?

As you can see, this list of kids books about houseboats is a work in progress! We’re currently exploring the best books available, and we’d love your input. If you have a title you’d suggest including on our list of kids books about houseboats, please share it with us!

We’ll be featuring a variety of titles on our list, from well known classics to popular bestsellers to lesser known titles that deserve a bigger audience. We’re also including books for a range of ages, from board books for babies and toddlers, to picture books for preschool and kindergarten age kids, to chapter books for early elementary age kids.

We’d love to hear any book suggestions you have—you can comment below or email us at [email protected].

Share this list
Add to list
The Beast
Written by Ally Condie and Brendan Reichs
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-11

Nico, Opal, and their friends just survived their worst nightmares literally come-to-life. But when a deadlier threat surfaces, they realize they can’t control the Darkdeep, an ancient whirlpool that turns fears into reality. It’s more powerful than they could have imagined. Left with only one option, the group must uncover the Darkdeep’s origins, as well as those of that freaky Thing in a Jar. But getting answers won’t be easy, thanks to a YouTube series intent on finding its own creature feature star. As the series closes in, everything’s at stake. Loyalties are put to the test as the friends struggle to guard their secrets, defeat their enemies, and save themselves and all they love. From bestselling duo Ally Condie and Brendan Reichs, this chilling series sequel is perfect for fans of Stranger Things.

Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$10.39
Used $1.69
Prices as of Jan 22
Add to list
Tail of Emily Windsnap (Bound for Schools & Libraries)
Written by Liz Kessler
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-11

A young girl learns she’s half mermaid and plunges into a scheme to reunite with her father in this entrancing, satisfying tale that beckons readers far below the waves. <BR>For as long as she can remember, twelve-year-old Emily Windsnap has lived on a boat. And, oddly enough, for just as long, her mother has seemed anxious to keep Emily away from the water. But when Mom finally agrees to let her take swimming lessons, Emily makes a startling discovery – about her own identity, the mysterious father she’s never met, and the thrilling possibilities and perils shimmering deep below the water’s surface. With a sure sense of suspense and richly imaginative details, first-time author Liz Kessler lures us into a glorious undersea world where mermaids study shipwrecks at school and Neptune rules with an iron trident – an enchanting fantasy about family secrets, loyal friendship, and the convention-defying power of love.

Buy book
$17.80
Bookshop
$15.13
Amazon
$17.80
Used $17.80
Prices as of Jan 22
Add to list
Tail of Emily Windsnap
Written by Liz Kessler & illustrated by Sarah Gibb
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-11
The New York Times best-selling series
Buy book
$6.99
Bookshop
$5.94
Amazon
$5.68
Used $0.25
Prices as of Jan 22
Add to list
Houseboat Mystery
Written by Gertrude Chandler Warner & illustrated by David Cunningham
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 7-10

Floating down a lazy river, Benny finds a blackmail scheme in progress.

Buy book
$6.99
Bookshop
$5.94
Amazon
$5.99
Used $0.35
Prices as of Jan 22

    Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did you know you can help us improve this list? Check out our Community Handbook and learn how to add tags to books.