An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

Magic Tricks: Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about magic tricks?

Children’s literature has many notable options when it comes to magic tricks. To help you find the right books for you and your young reader, we’ve compiled a list of the best kids books about magic tricks.

Our list includes picture books and chapter books. Picture books are generally great options for toddlers and for preschool and kindergarten age children. Picture books are especially enjoyable for adults to read aloud with young kids. The chapter books on our list are generally best for elementary through early middle school age tween kids. You can filter to sort by the best book type for your kid.

When it comes to children’s stories about magic tricks, there are a variety of titles. This list covers everything, from classics like This Book Is Not Good for You to popular sellers like The Sorcerer of the North to some of our favorite hidden gems like The Magic Misfits.

We hope this list of kids books about magic tricks can be a helpful resource for parents, teachers, and others searching for a new book! As you explore the list, please comment below to let us know what books you would add.

The Magic Misfits
Written by Neil Patrick Harris & illustrated by Lissy Marlin and Kyle Hinton
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

From award-winning actor, Neil Patrick Harris, comes the magical first book in a new series with plenty of tricks up its sleeve. When street magician Carter runs away, he never expects to find friends and magic in a sleepy New England town. But like any good trick, things change instantly as greedy B.B. Bosso and his crew of crooked carnies arrive to steal anything and everything they can get their sticky fingers on. After a fateful encounter with the local purveyor of illusion, Dante Vernon, Carter teams up with five other like-minded illusionists. Together, using both teamwork and magic, they’ll set out to save the town of Mineral Wells from Bosso’s villainous clutches. These six Magic Misfits will soon discover adventure, friendship, and their own self-worth in this delightful new series. (Psst. Hey, you! Yes, you! Congratulations on reading this far. As a reward, I’ll let you in on a little secret… This book isn’t just a book. It’s a treasure trove of secrets and ciphers and codes and even tricks. Keep your eyes peeled and you’ll discover more than just a story—you’ll learn how to make your own magic!)

Rabbit Magic
Written & illustrated by Meg McLaren
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-7

A distinctive palette and a large cast of adorable rabbits adorn a lively story told in very few words. When a magic trick goes awry, the magician M. Lapin becomes a sad rabbit while his rabbit assistant, Houdini, becomes the star of the show. After trying increasingly spectacular tricks, Houdini realizes that someone else wants and deserves the spotlight, and in his most amazing trick ever, he restores M. Lapin to his former self. Generosity and teamwork—and of course magic—take center stage in this delightful debut.

This Book Is Magic
Written & illustrated by Ashley Evanson
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

Make some magic in this colorful, interactive picture book from the author/illustrator of the Hello, World board book series!

Do you know that you’re a magician? In this interactive book, use your fingers to perform all kinds of magic tricks. Tap a hat to make a bunny appear, recite a spell to make books bigger, say “Gone-zo!” to make a ship disappear, and much more. But beware: the clever magic tricks don’t always turn out the way you’d expect!

Reminiscent of Hervé Tullet’s Press Here, kids—and adults!—are sure to want to read this book again and again as they perfect their magic skills.

Milo's Hat Trick
Written & illustrated by Jon Agee
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Milo the Magnificent’s magic act isn’t so magnificent after all, until he meets a bear who teaches him the secret to the perfect hat trick in this classic and critically acclaimed picture book, perfect for fans of Oliver Jeffers and Jon Klassen Milo the Magnificent is the world’s least magnificent magician. He can’t even pull a rabbit out of his hat! When Mr. Popovich gives him one more chance, Milo knows he has no choice: he has to go out and catch a rabbit for his act. Instead, he catches a bear. And the bear promises to help! Into the hat he dives. Milo rides the train home, sure his act will go off perfectly tonight. But when he arrives in his dressing room, he discovers that he left his hat—and the bear!—on the train. Meanwhile, across town, a man in a restaurant has a very familiar hat . . . Can Milo get his hat back in time for his act?

The Great Henry Hopendower
Written by Justin Roberts & illustrated by Deborah Hocking
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

For fans of Grandpa Green, a young boy remembers his much-loved grandpa in this touching story about family, memory and everyday magic.

Henry wakes up one bright morning ready to take on the day and find magic! After all, he is the Great Henry Hopendower—an aspiring young magician who learned everything he knows from the very best, his grandpa. Henry has so many favorite memories of his grandfather, including his house with its wobbly cuckoo clock and his famous leaning tower of pancakes that tipped but never toppled. And then there was the day his grandpa gave him a red checkered suit and shared the secret to being a magician: magic is everywhere, you just have to see it. So with Grandpa’s words as his guide, Henry sets off to do the truly impossible.

This heartwarming story is a celebration of the magic that surrounds us all and the people we love most.

  • This Book Is Not Good for You - From her first bite, young Betty Bunny likes chocolate cake so much that she claims she will marry it one day, and she has trouble learning to wait patiently until she can have her next taste.

  • The Sorcerer of the North - Time has passed since the apprentice and his master, Will and Halt, led the Araluens to victory against invaders, and Will is now a full-fledged Ranger with his own fief to look after. The fief seems sleepy–boring, even–until the king is poisoned. Joined by his friend Alyss, Will is thrown headfirst into an extraordinary adventure propelled by fears of sorcery, and must determine who is trustworthy to the king and who is trying to take his throne. Will and Alyss must battle growing hysteria, traitors, and most of all, time. The king is fading, but when Alyss is taken hostage, Will is forced to make a desperate choice between loyalty to his mission and loyalty to his friend.

  • Magic Box - For Eva, a young girl with a lively imagintation, a seemingly ordinary box becomes a portal to a magical, wonder-filled world./DIV Eva wishes for a pet. She reaches into her magic box and pulls out Monty. But he’s not quite what she had in mind. (He’s a polar bear.) What else might be in the magic box? A colony of festive rabbits, some delicious food, and a band of the very best musicians (including a sax-playing leopard)! The party is officially on! Once everyone has danced their socks off, Eva clicks her fingers to make everything vanish. Well, not quite everything… DIVKatie Cleminson’s lively and fanciful illustrations are the perfect vehicle to convey the transformative power of a young child’s imagination.

  • Magic Molly - After going to a magic show, Molly decides that she wants to be a real magician, and she hopes that her father’s old magic kit may help her master some real magic in time to put on a show for Sharing Time at school—aiming big, she would really like to be able to saw her best friend in half (and of course put her back together).

Hat Tricks
Written & illustrated by Satoshi Kitamura
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Meet Hattie the magician―she’s a natural performer, and you’re invited to her magic show.

Abracadabra, katakurico! Oh, goodness! Out pops a cat from Hattie’s magic hat. Can you guess what creature will appear from the magic hat next? Follow along as Hattie conjures up a parade of animals from her magic hat, and don’t miss the grand finale!

From renowned author and illustrator Satoshi Kitamura, this humorous story is a delightful choice for audience participation.

Marigold Finds the Magic Words
Written & illustrated by Mike Malbrough
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

In his second starring role, Marigold, the fussy cat with a comically short fuse, sees his birthday party upended by a group of party-crashing birds, with hilarious results — and a lesson in “please” and “thank you.” For fans of the Don’t Let the Pigeon series!

Marigold is throwing himself the most amazing birthday party ever! He’s baked himself an enormous birthday cake and planned everything well in advance. Everyone is ready for something extraordinary. Something…magical!

But when Marigold tries to make a bouquet of flowers disappear, a pesky finch appears in its place. That’s not right at all!

At every turn, Marigold’s magic trick gets derailed until the distractions are too much to bear, and Marigold launches into a full-on feline frenzy, making everything–and everyone–disappear. What magic words can save the day?

    Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did you know you can help us improve this list? Check out our Community Handbook and learn how to add tags to books.

    Suggested Links