An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

Mistaken Identity: Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about mistaken identity?

As you can see, this list of kids books about mistaken identity is a work in progress! We’re currently exploring the best books available, and we’d love your input. If you have a title you’d suggest including on our list of kids books about mistaken identity, please share it with us!

We’ll be featuring a variety of titles on our list, from well known classics to popular bestsellers to lesser known titles that deserve a bigger audience. We’re also including books for a range of ages, from board books for babies and toddlers, to picture books for preschool and kindergarten age kids, to chapter books for early elementary age kids.

We’d love to hear any book suggestions you have—you can comment below or email us at [email protected].

Share this list
Add to list
The Prince and the Porker
Written by Peter Bently & illustrated by David Roberts
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-7

Pignatius was passing the palace one day, when he saw ten fresh buns left to cool on a tray . . . When Pignatius sees fresh pastries cooling on the windowsill of the palace kitchen, he’s tempted to try them. Surely, the cook won’t miss just one. But Pignatius’s greed gets the better of him, and he eats all the buns before sneaking into the palace in search of more treats. Before long, he finds himself in the prince’s room trying on a wig and some clothes, and the servants mistake him for the real prince! When the actual prince returns, Pignatius fears the worst, but the prince saves Pignatius’s bacon instead. It turns out that the prince has always wanted a double to deal with a particularly frightening problem—his aunt Alice! This hilarious reimagining of Mark Twain’s classic The Prince and the Pauper is sure to make kids laugh with its clever rhyming text and delicious, dessert-filled illustrations by New York Times bestselling illustrator David Roberts.

Buy book
$16.95
Bookshop
$14.41
Amazon
$16.95
Used $16.95
Prices as of Sep 27
Add to list
Eee-Moo!
Written by Annika Dunklee & illustrated by Brian Won
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

When the stork drops an egg before delivering it to its parents the little animal’s first words are EEE-MOO. So, a cow, pig, horse, and other furry friends who watch him hatch decide he is an emu and Australia is his home. Good friends that they are, they offer to help him get there. So EEE-MOO’s journey begins, and along the way he meets a cast of other animal friends who guide him to the open arms of his family. But when he gets there, he realizes something is missing.

Buy book
$17.99
Bookshop
$15.29
Amazon
$17.99
Used $17.99
Prices as of Sep 27
Add to list
The Danger Gang and the Isle of Feral Beasts!
Written by Stephen Bramucci & illustrated by Arree Chung
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Ronald Zupan and the rest of the Danger Gang are back for their second rip-roaring adventure, perfect for fans of Indiana Jones and Lemony Snicket, fully illustrated by Arree Chung. “The ride of a lifetime.” –Matt de la Peña, Newbery Award-winning author on The Danger Gang and the Pirates of Borneo! Ronald Zupan, his quick-witted fencing partner Julianne Sato, and his trusty butler Jeeves are off on another adventure. This time, they’re trying to rescue the movie star Josh Brigand–who was kidnapped from his latest film premiere by the dreaded Liars’ Club. As the Danger Gang races to save their friend, they face off with a poisoning poet, a band of Roman candle-wielding thugs, and thousands of feral foxes. When their skills of deduction are put to the ultimate test, will Ronald and his pals be able to stick together long enough to rescue Josh and defeat the Liar’s Club once and for all? Fully illustrated by picture book talent Arree Chung, this hilarious, high-action series is a must-have for all adventurers.

Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$16.99
Used $16.99
Prices as of Sep 27
Add to list
Princess Angelica, Camp Catastrophe
Written by Monique Polak & illustrated by Jane Heinrichs
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 7-9

Angelica isn’t a liar. She just loves making up stories. When she goes to sleepaway camp and is mistaken for a princess, she could easily clear up the misunderstanding… but pretending to be royalty is way more fun! When her best friend from home surprises her at camp, Angelica is forced to fess up. Luckily, she also has a talent for repairing things, and when disaster strikes on the girls’ kayaking trip, Jelly has to repair more than just her newfound friendships.

Buy book
$6.95
Bookshop
$5.91
Amazon
$6.95
Used $6.95
Prices as of Sep 27

    Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did you know you can help us improve this list? Check out our Community Handbook and learn how to add tags to books.