The Definitive Guide to

Violet and the Smugglers

Written by Harriet Whitehorn and illustrated by Becka Moor
Published by Simon & Schuster UK
Goodreads Rating - 4.2 / 5.0
$7.99
List Price
9-13
Target Age
208
Pages
Chapter
Book Type

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

Meet Violet Remy-Robinson, an amateur Sherlock Holmes in the making, in this “Agatha Christie-esque mystery…[that’s] quirky and charming” (The Guardian)—perfect for fans of Chris Riddell and Robin Stevens’s Wells & Wong mysteries.Uncle Johnny has invited Violet and her friends to spend the summer with him on a sailing adventure around Europe and Violet couldn’t be more excited! But when she suspects that the captain of a boat nearby might be up to no good, Violet needs to put her detective skills into action. Could he be the head of an international smuggling ring?Beautifully designed and filled with gorgeous two-color illustrations throughout, everyone is bound to fall in love with Violet and the colorful characters that make up her world.

What Kind of Book is Violet and the Smugglers

Categories:
mystery
Themes:
detectives
boats
sleuthing

Book Lists That Include Violet and the Smugglers

Book Lists › detectives
Children's Books About Detectives
Book Lists › mystery
Children's Books About Mystery
Book Lists › sleuthing
Clever Children's Books About Sleuthing
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote Violet and the Smugglers

author
Harriet Whitehorn

Harriet Whitehorn grew up in London, where she still lives with her husband and three daughters. She has studied at Reading University, the Architectural Association and The Victoria and Albert Museum and has always worked in building conservation. She currently works for English Heritage. Violet and the Pearl of the Orient was her first children’s book and the first in a series, followed by Violet and the Hidden Treasure, and Violet and the Smugglers.

View Author

Who Illustrated Violet and the Smugglers

illustrator
Becka Moor

Becka Moor studied illustration in the North of Wales at Glyndwr University. She has since moved back home to Manchester where she works under the strict supervision of two very mischievous cats, doodling away and drinking far too much coffee.

View Illustrator

What Has Harriet Whitehorn Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Harriet Whitehorn know that we want more details from them about Violet and the Smugglers!

What Has Becka Moor Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Becka Moor know that we want more details from them about Violet and the Smugglers!

More Books From These Creatives

imagination · adventure · detectives
Violet and the Mummy Mystery
detectives · sleuthing
Violet and the Hidden Treasure

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked This Book

Stuart Little book
6.5
animals · friendship · sleuthing · New York · mice · adventure
Stuart Little
Hardy Boys 1: The Tower Treasure book
6.0
brothers · treasure · detectives · sleuthing
Hardy Boys 1: The Tower Treasure
The Thief Lord book
5.8
sleuthing · magic · time
The Thief Lord
Basil of Baker Street book
5.5
sleuthing · jobs and careers · inspired by classic literature · mice · detectives
Basil of Baker Street
Andi Unexpected book
5.5
sleuthing · new parents · moving · family history · sisters · making friends · listening · names · family · detectives
Andi Unexpected
The Treasure of Maria Mamoun book
5.5
boats · making friends · family · treasure
The Treasure of Maria Mamoun
The Doll People book
5.4
sleuthing · adventure · trying new things · facing fears
The Doll People
Oliver and the Seawigs book
5.3
problem solving · bullying · teamwork · boats · adventure · coping with failure · facing fears
Oliver and the Seawigs

Book Details

ISBN 10:
1471118991
ISBN 13:
9781471118999
Publication Date:
January 1, 1960