The Definitive Guide to

Violet the Pilot

Written & illustrated by Steve Breen
1234567
5.38
- Bookroo Rating
Goodreads Rating - 4.3 / 5.0
$17.99
List Price
4-8
Target Age
32
Pages
Picture
Book Type

What's Violet the Pilot About

Publisher Summary

Violet is a science-loving girl inventor with a flair for the air! Fans of Ada Twist, Scientist and Rosie Revere, Engineer will love this classic underdog story by two-time Pulitzer Prize-winning editorial cartoonist Steve Breen.

By the time she’s two years old, Violet Van Winkle can engineer nearly any appliance in the house. And by eight she’s building elaborate flying machines from scratch—mind-boggling contraptions such as the Tubbubbler, the Bicycopter, and the Wing-a-ma-jig. The kids at school tease her, but they have no idea what she’s capable of. Maybe she could earn their respect by winning the blue ribbon in the upcoming Air Show. Or maybe something even better will happen—something involving her best-ever invention, a Boy Scout troop in peril, and even the mayor himself!

What Kind of Book is Violet the Pilot

Trusted Reviews & Ratings

Mr. Staccato
Spent many carefree hours hunting clues with the Hardy boys and defending Redwall Abbey.
1234567
5.25

A powerful story about a girl who likes to build things. Ever since she’s been little, she’s been tinkering with household electronics and gadgets; fixing them and learning how they work. Soon she begins building airplanes and learning to fly. Her unusual hobbies, though, make her quite unpopular with the kids at school.

B is for Bookworm
Human Development Degree, Book-loving aunt
1234567
5.5

Book Lists That Include Violet the Pilot

Book Topics › aviation
Children's Books About Aviation
Book Topics › heroes
Children's Books About Heroes
Book Topics › transportation
Children's Books About Transportation
Book Topics › funny and humorous
Hilarious Children's Books Filled With Humor
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote Violet the Pilot

author & illustrator
Steve Breen

Steve Breen is a two-time Pulitzer Prize-winning editorial cartoonist whose comic strip Grand Avenueregularly appears in more than 150 newspapers. He has also written and illustrated several popular picture books, including Pug and Doug, Violet the Pilot, and Stick.

View Author

What Has Steve Breen Said About Violet the Pilot

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Steve know that you want more details about Violet the Pilot!

More Books by Steve Breen

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked Violet the Pilot

Book Details

ISBN:
9780803731257
Publication Date:
March 13, 2008

Suggested Links