The Definitive Guide to

Where the Watermelons Grow

Written by Cindy Baldwin
Published by HarperCollins
Goodreads Rating - 4.2 / 5.0
Add to list
Prices as of Oct 31
$16.99
Retail Price
$14.44
Bookshop
$10.39
used $2.19
Amazon
Jul 3, 2018
Publication Date
256
Pages
8-12
Target Age

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

Fans of The Thing About Jellyfish and A Snicker of Magic will be swept away by Cindy Baldwin’s debut middle grade about a girl coming to terms with her mother’s mental illness. When twelve-year-old Della Kelly finds her mother furiously digging black seeds from a watermelon in the middle of the night and talking to people who aren’t there, Della worries that it’s happening again—that the sickness that put her mama in the hospital four years ago is back. That her mama is going to be hospitalized for months like she was last time. With her daddy struggling to save the farm and her mama in denial about what’s happening, it’s up to Della to heal her mama for good. And she knows just how she’ll do it: with a jar of the Bee Lady’s magic honey, which has mended the wounds and woes of Maryville, North Carolina, for generations. But when the Bee Lady says that the solution might have less to do with fixing Mama’s brain and more to do with healing her own heart, Della must learn that love means accepting her mama just as she is.

What Kind of Book is Where the Watermelons Grow

Book Lists That Include Where the Watermelons Grow

Book Topics › mental illness
Children's Books About Mental Illness
Book Topics › fiction
Children's Books About Fiction
Book Topics › parents
Children's Books About Parents
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote Where the Watermelons Grow

author
Cindy Baldwin

Cindy Baldwin is the author of the critically acclaimed novel Where the Watermelons Grow, an Indies Introduce and Indie Next title. As a teenager, she studied piano and violin and played many Christmas recitals at Brightleaf Square. She lives in Portland, Oregon, with her husband and daughter, surrounded by tall trees and wild blackberries. To learn more about Cindy, visit www.cindybaldwinbooks.com.

View Author

What Has Cindy Baldwin Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Cindy know that you want more details about Where the Watermelons Grow! Try tweeting Cindy on twitter (@beingcindy) or messaging Cindy on instagram (@cindybaldwinbooks).

More Books by Cindy Baldwin

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked Where the Watermelons Grow

Book Details

ISBN:
9780062665867
Publication Date:
July 3, 2018
Library of Congress Number (LCCN):
2017034537
ASIN/ISBN 10:
0062665863
Lexile® Level:
1020L
ATOS® Book Level:
5.4
Accelerated Reader® Points:
8.0
Accelerated Reader Quiz:
197589
Accelerated Reader Interest Level:
MG

Contribute to this page

Core Score - 66%
Making good progress . . .
Depth Score - 15%
Just the barebones.
Improve this page
Are you the author or illustrator? Claim this page.