The Definitive Guide to

Where the Watermelons Grow

Written by Cindy Baldwin
Published by HarperCollins
Goodreads Rating - 4.2 / 5.0
$16.99
List Price
8-12
Target Age
256
Pages
Chapter
Book Type

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

Fans of The Thing About Jellyfish and A Snicker of Magic will be swept away by Cindy Baldwin’s debut middle grade about a girl coming to terms with her mother’s mental illness. When twelve-year-old Della Kelly finds her mother furiously digging black seeds from a watermelon in the middle of the night and talking to people who aren’t there, Della worries that it’s happening again—that the sickness that put her mama in the hospital four years ago is back. That her mama is going to be hospitalized for months like she was last time. With her daddy struggling to save the farm and her mama in denial about what’s happening, it’s up to Della to heal her mama for good. And she knows just how she’ll do it: with a jar of the Bee Lady’s magic honey, which has mended the wounds and woes of Maryville, North Carolina, for generations. But when the Bee Lady says that the solution might have less to do with fixing Mama’s brain and more to do with healing her own heart, Della must learn that love means accepting her mama just as she is.

What Kind of Book is Where the Watermelons Grow

Book Lists That Include Where the Watermelons Grow

Book Topics › mental illness
Children's Books About Mental Illness
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote Where the Watermelons Grow

author
Cindy Baldwin

Cindy Baldwin is the author of the critically acclaimed novel Where the Watermelons Grow, an Indies Introduce and Indie Next title. As a teenager, she studied piano and violin and played many Christmas recitals at Brightleaf Square. She lives in Portland, Oregon, with her husband and daughter, surrounded by tall trees and wild blackberries. To learn more about Cindy, visit www.cindybaldwinbooks.com.

View Author

What Has Cindy Baldwin Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Cindy Baldwin know that we want more details from them about Where the Watermelons Grow! Try tweeting at them on twitter (@beingcindy) or messaging them on instagram (@cindybaldwinbooks).

More Books From These Creatives

chapter book
Beginners Welcome

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked This Book

dogs · parenting · siblings · mental illness
Rika's Shepherd
home · war · mental illness · World War 2
The War I Finally Won
mental illness
Good Enough: A Novel
mental illness · sports · teamwork
Jammer Star
mental illness · family · diversity · loneliness · death
Someone Else's Shoes
mental illness · rescue · adventure · twins · dreams
The Dreamway

Book Details

ISBN 10:
0062665863
ISBN 13:
9780062665867
Publication Date:
July 3, 2018