Beginners Welcome
Beginners Welcome
Bookroo5.0 / 7Goodreads4.2 / 5
The Definitive Guide to

Beginners Welcome

Written and illustrated by Cindy Baldwin
Published by HarperCollins
Prices as of Oct 21

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

The acclaimed author of Where the Watermelons Grow is back with a story perfect for fans of Lynda Mullaly Hunt and Ali Benjamin, about finding friendship after a tragic loss. It’s been eighty-three days since Annie Lee’s daddy died, but she still sees reminders of him everywhere. His record player mysteriously plays his favorite songs, there’s shaving cream in the sink every morning, and the TV keeps flipping to the Duke basketball games he loved. She knows Mama notices it too, but Mama’s been working around the clock to make ends meet. To make matters worse, Annie Lee’s friends ditched her over the summer. She feels completely alone—until she meets Mitch. Though Mitch is tough and confident on the outside, she may need a friend just as badly as Annie Lee. But after losing so much, Annie Lee is afraid to let anyone get too close. And Mitch isn’t the only friend trying to break through Annie Lee’s defenses. Ray, an elderly pianist who plays at a local mall, has been giving her piano lessons. His music is pure magic, and Annie Lee hopes it might be the key to healing her broken heart. But when Ray goes missing, searching for him means breaking a promise to Mitch. Faced with once again losing those who mean the most to her, Annie Lee must make a choice: retreat back into her shell, or risk admitting how much she needs Mitch and Ray—even if it means getting hurt all over again. Just like in her debut, Where the Watermelons Grow, Cindy Baldwin brings her signature twist of magic to this authentically heartfelt story.

What Kind of Book is Beginners Welcome

Primarily about

Genres

Writing Styles

Reviews

Book Lists That Include This Book

The Creative Behind the Book

What Has Cindy Baldwin Said About This Book

Nothing yet! You should let Cindy Baldwin know that you want to hear from them about their book.

Other Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked This Book

    Hope in the Holler
    The Girl with More Than One Heart
    Laura Geringer Bass
    It's the End of the World as I Know It
    6.0
    Matthew Landis
    A Home for Goddesses and Dogs
    Leslie Connor, Julie McLaughlin
    Taylor Before and After
    Jennie Englund
    Bridge to Terabithia
    5.8
    Donna Diamond, Katherine Paterson
    The Care and Feeding of a Pet Black Hole
    Michelle Cuevas
    The Memory of Forgotten Things
    Kat Zhang
    All the Ways Home
    Elsie Chapman
    Finding Esme
    Suzanne Crowley

Book Details

ISBN
9780062665898
Publication Date
February 11, 2020
Page Count
336
Reading Age
8 - 12 years
ASIN/ISBN 10
0062665898

Contribute to this page

Core Score - 51%

More than halfway there—keep going!

Depth Score - 21%

Just the barebones.

Improve this page

Are you the author or illustrator? Claim your book.

Top Contributors
01
@thegoodfather
51