The Definitive Guide to

The Forgetful Knight

Written by Michelle Robinson & illustrated by Fred Blunt
1234567
4.0 / 7.0
- Bookroo Rating
Goodreads Rating - 3.5 / 5.0
Add to list
Prices as of Oct 27
$16.99
Retail Price
$14.44
Bookshop
$16.99
used $16.99
Amazon
Jul 5, 2016
Publication Date
40
Pages
4-8
Target Age

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

This hilarious, Monty Python–style sendup of the classic knight-and-dragon story comes with jaunty rhymes and a fabulous twist ending

Mischief! Mishaps! Dragons! Here’s the story of an intrepid knight, only our narrator can’t quite remember the details. Did that knight carry a sandwich, or a sword? Was he supposed to fight a cat, or a dragon? A hilarious and unpredictable adventure ensues, building through laugh-out-loud rhymes until, at last, the narrator remembers his own role at the center of all the marvelous madness. Fans of Jon Scieszka’s The Stinky Cheese Man, David Ezra Stein’s Interrupting Chicken, all of Patrick McDonnell’s and Mac Barnett’s picture books will love this zany read-aloud adventure.

What Kind of Book is The Forgetful Knight

Trusted Reviews & Ratings

B is for Bookworm
Book-loving mommy-to-be! Recently enjoyed The Hobbit, Becoming, and The Marvelous Magic of Miss Mabel.
1234567
4.0 / 7.0

This book was intentionally a little scatterbrained. It made the story fun to read and added some humor, but it did feel a little all over the place. Still a fun story, though it had some violent parts (like a dragon eating a knight, sword-fighting).

Book Lists That Include The Forgetful Knight

Book Topics › knights
Children's Books About Knights
Book Topics › action and adventure
Awesome Children's Books About Adventure
Book Topics › rhyming
Children's Books About Rhyming
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote The Forgetful Knight

author
Michelle Robinson

One of Michelle Robinson’s first jobs was writing radio ads. She wrote more than 6,000 before she got bored and moved on to writing stories for children. She now lives in Frome, England with her two children.

View Author

Who Illustrated The Forgetful Knight

illustrator
Fred Blunt

Fred Blunt never wanted to be an astronaut or drive a train when he grew up. Right from the beginning, he knew he wanted to draw silly pictures for a living. Fred worked on all sorts of projects from advertising to animation, including designing an animated series of interstitials for the BBC. He now works mostly on children’s books. He lives in Swindon, Wiltshire, UK, with his wife and two young children.

View Illustrator

What Has Michelle Robinson Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Michelle know that you want more details about The Forgetful Knight! Try tweeting Michelle on twitter (@micherobinson) or messaging Michelle on instagram (@michellerobinsonbooks).

What Has Fred Blunt Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Fred know that you want more details about The Forgetful Knight!

More Books From These Creatives

Nick East, Michelle Robinson
Picture book
4.8
Add to list
Michelle Robinson, Tor Freeman
Picture book
4.8
Add to list
Michelle Robinson, Briony May Smith
Picture book
4.3
Add to list
Michelle Robinson, Jim Field
Picture book
Add to list
Michelle Robinson, David Roberts
Picture book
Add to list

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked The Forgetful Knight

Book Details

ISBN:
9780803740679
Publication Date:
July 5, 2016
Library of Congress Number (LCCN):
2015019779
ASIN/ISBN 10:
0803740670
Lexile® Level:
490L
ATOS® Book Level:
2.29
Accelerated Reader® Points:
0.5
Accelerated Reader Quiz:
186374
Accelerated Reader Interest Level:
LG

Contribute to this page

Core Score - 66%
Making good progress . . .
Depth Score - 15%
Just the barebones.
Improve this page
Are you the author or illustrator? Claim this page.