These Unlucky Stars
These Unlucky Stars
Goodreads4.3 / 5
The Definitive Guide to

These Unlucky Stars

Written by Gillian McDunn
Published by Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Prices as of Nov 27

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

From the highly acclaimed author of Caterpillar Summer comes a sweet and heartfelt story of a girl’s unexpected friendship that changes her forever, perfect for fans of Lynda Mullaly Hunt. Ever since her mother left a few years ago, Annie has felt like the odd one out in her family. Her dad and brother are practical and organized–they just don’t understand the way she thinks, in lines and color. Everywhere she turns, she feels like an outsider, even at school, so she’s been reluctant to get close to anyone. When a Ding-Dong-Ditch attempt goes wrong, Annie finds herself stuck making amends with Gloria, the eccentric elderly lady she disturbed. As she begins to connect with Gloria and her weird little dog, it becomes clear that Gloria won’t be able to live on her own for much longer. But it’s this brief and important friendship that gives Annie the confidence to let people in, and see how rich life can be when you decide to make your own luck and chart your own path to happiness. In this heartwarming novel, acclaimed author Gillian McDunn shows us that even the most unexpected friendship has the power to change us forever. Acclaim for Caterpillar SummerAn Indies Introduce PickA Texas Bluebonnet SelectionA Parents Best Book of the YearA Kirkus Reviews Best Book of the YearAn Amazon Best Book of the Year

What Kind of Book is These Unlucky Stars

Topics

Genres

Reviews

    Book Lists That Include This Book

    The Creative Behind the Book

    What Has Gillian McDunn Said About This Book

    Nothing yet! You should let Gillian McDunn know that you want to hear from them about their book.

    Other Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked This Book

      The Bell Bandit
      Jacqueline Davies
      Alan Cole Is Not a Coward
      Make New Friends, But Keep the Old
      Jennifer Richard Jacobson
      Lola Levine and the Ballet Scheme
      Monica Brown, Angela Dominguez
      Pay Attention, Carter Jones
      Gary D. Schmidt
      The Willoughbys Return
      Lois Lowry
      Lotterys Plus One
      Judy Moody and the Not Bummer Summer
      Megan McDonald, Peter H. Reynolds
      The Girl and the Witch's Garden
      Erin Bowman
      The Vanderbeekers Make a Wish
      Karina Yan Glaser

    Book Details

    ISBN
    9781547605385
    Publication Date
    March 2, 2021
    Page Count
    288
    Reading Age
    8 - 11 years
    Lib. of Congress (LCCN)
    2020035095
    ASIN/ISBN 10
    1547605383

    Contribute to this page

    Core Score - 55%

    More than halfway there—keep going!

    Depth Score - 15%

    Just the barebones.

    Improve this page

    Are you the author or illustrator? Claim your book.