An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

Construction Vehicles: Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about construction vehicles?

Children’s literature has many notable options when it comes to construction vehicles. To help you find the right books for you and your young reader, we’ve compiled a list of the best kids books about construction vehicles.

Our list includes board books and picture books. Board books are best for babies and toddlers from ages newborn to 2 or 3. Picture books are generally great options for toddlers and for preschool and kindergarten age children. Picture books are especially enjoyable for adults to read aloud with young kids. You can filter to sort by the best book type for your kid.

When it comes to children’s stories about construction vehicles, there are a variety of titles. This list covers everything, from classics like Old MacDonald Had a Truck to popular sellers like Mike Mulligan and His Steam Shovel to some of our favorite hidden gems like My First Trucks and Diggers.

We hope this list of kids books about construction vehicles can be a helpful resource for parents, teachers, and others searching for a new book! As you explore the list, please comment below to let us know what books you would add.

Mike Mulligan and His Steam Shovel
Written & illustrated by Virginia Lee Burton
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-7

A modern classic that no child should miss. Since it was first published in 1939, Mike Mulligan and His Steam Shovel has delighted generations of children. Mike and his trusty steam shovel, Mary Anne, dig deep canals for boats to travel through, cut mountain passes for trains, and hollow out cellars for city skyscrapers — the very symbol of industrial America. But with progress come new machines, and soon the inseparable duo are out of work. Mike believes that Mary Anne can dig as much in a day as one hundred men can dig in a week, and the two have one last chance to prove it and save Mary Anne from the scrap heap. What happens next in the small town of Popperville is a testament to their friendship, and to old-fashioned hard work and ingenuity.

Old MacDonald Had a Truck
Written by Steve Goetz & illustrated by Eda Kaban
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Old MacDonald had a farm E-I-E-I-O. And on that farm he had a…TRUCK?! With a DIG DIG here and a SCOOP SCOOP there, this classic folk song just got revved up! Beloved machines—the excavator, dump truck, bulldozer, and more—will have the vehicle-obsessed of all ages reading and singing along.

My First Trucks and Diggers
Written & illustrated by DK Publishing
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

Introduces trucks, diggers, and other construction and excavation vehicles, including dump trucks, bulldozers, logging trucks, and steamrollers.

The Construction Crew
Written by Finn Coyle & illustrated by Srimalie Bassani
board book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

There are countless machines that help out on a construction site. Everything from a bulldozer to a crane has a very special job. Do you know what it is? Lift the page to learn about what each machine does and discover what happens when they all work together!

Wheels at Work: Construction
Written by Child's Play & illustrated by Cocoretto
board book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

Digging, pushing, mixing and tipping! Lift the flap to see each vehicle busy at work. Perfect for guessing, prediction and memory skills – and simply joining in!

  • Demolition - What’s even more exciting to preschoolers than seeing big machines that build things? Watching the massive ones that tear them down! Crush the stone. Crush the stone. Chip and grind and munch. Make new concrete from the old. Whirr! Churr! Crunch! From the huge crane with a swinging ball (crack! ) to the toothy jaws that ram the walls (thwock! ), this rambunctious demolition, reverberating with sound words, is guaranteed to have small kids rapt. Bright spreads showcase the gargantuan machines in all their glory, and a pictorial glossary explains what each one can do.

  • The Digger and the Flower - From the acclaimed author/artist of Beyond the Pond and Rulers of the Playground comes a breathtaking new book with a powerful message about the environment, perfect for fans of Peter Brown’s The Curious Garden and Kadir Nelson’s If You Plant a Seed. Each day, the big trucks go to work. They scoop and hoist and push. But when Digger discovers something growing in the rubble, he sets in motion a series of events that will change him, and the city, forever. “This story contains bold graphic illustrations and a wonderful message about the environment,” proclaims Brightly.com in their article “18 Must-Read Picture Books of 2018.”

  • Where Do Diggers Sleep at Night? - Getting to dreamland has never been more fun with this board book version of the beloved construction bedtime tale. The bedtime rituals of these little diggers and dump trucks will be quite familar to kids saying goodnight. Young readers will surely identify with little fire engines, tractors, and monster trucks as they ask for one more story while their mommy trucks tuck them in, and their daddy trucks sing a goodnight song. Children who can’t get enough of trucks and other vehicles will love Brianna Caplan Sayres things-that-go…to sleep books, including companion titles Where Do Steam Trains Sleep at Night, and Where Do Jet Planes Sleep at Night?

  • Tip Tip Dig Dig - A parade of colorful construction vehicles doing their work means plenty of joyful noise! From the crane that lifts, lifts, lifts to the bulldozer that push, push-pushes, to the steamroller that rolls, rolls, rolls, every machine here makes it own special sound. And the surprise ending, when the great big mess on page one becomes a wonderful playground, is sure to leave kids pleased!

Dig, Dump, Roll
Written by Sally Sutton & illustrated by Brian Lovelock and Sally Sutton
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

Diggers, dump trucks, rollers, and more—it takes a lot of big, noisy machines to build a school! Every young child who has ever gawked at a building site will gravitate to this exciting new entry in the kid pleasing Construction Crew series.

Backhoe Joe
Written by Lori Alexander & illustrated by Craig Cameron
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Fans of Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site by Sherri Duskey Rinker, Where Do Diggers Sleep at Night? by Brianna Caplan Sayres, and Kate McMullan will be thrilled by this celebrated and endearing picture book about a young boy with a dream of owning the perfect pet.

When Nolan finds a stray backhoe in the street, he can’t wait to adopt it. But this backhoe is not very well behaved. As Nolan tries to train his new pet truck, he learns that maybe this backhoe already has a home…

This delightful story of a boy and his construction vehicle is brought to life with Craig Cameron’s vibrant illustrations, making this the perfect addition to every young reader’s library.

Construction
Written & illustrated by Cocoretto
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

Digging, pushing, mixing and tipping! Lift the flap to see each vehicle busy at work.

    Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did you know you can help us improve this list? Check out our Community Handbook and learn how to add tags to books.

    Suggested Links