An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

Narwhals: Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about narwhals?

Children’s literature has many notable options when it comes to narwhals. To help you find the right books for you and your young reader, we’ve compiled a list of the best kids books about narwhals.

Our list includes board books, picture books, and chapter books. Board books are best for babies and toddlers from ages newborn to 2 or 3. Picture books are generally great options for toddlers and for preschool and kindergarten age children. Picture books are especially enjoyable for adults to read aloud with young kids. The chapter books on our list are generally best for elementary through early middle school age tween kids. You can filter to sort by the best book type for your kid.

When it comes to children’s stories about narwhals, there are a variety of titles. This list covers everything, from classics like Narwhal: Unicorn of the Sea to popular sellers like Not Quite Narwhal.

We hope this list of kids books about narwhals can be a helpful resource for parents, teachers, and others searching for a new book!

Share this list
Add to list
Not Quite Narwhal
Written & illustrated by Jessie Sima
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Born deep in the ocean, Kelp is not like the other narwhals and one day, when he spies a creature on land that looks like him, he learns why.

Buy book
$17.99
Bookshop
$15.29
Amazon
$10.14
Used $4.37
Prices as of Jan 15
Add to list
Narwhal on a Sunny Night
Written by Mary Pope Osborne and Natalie Pope Boyce & illustrated by Isidre Mones
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 7-10

Track the facts about the unicorn of the sea–the narwhal–and its closest relatives!

When Jack and Annie came back from their adventure in Magic Tree House #33: Narwhal on a Sunny Night, they had lots of questions. What is a narwhal? Why is it nicknamed the unicorn of the sea? What other whales live in the arctic? How do they survive the cold? Find out the answers to these questions and more as Jack and Annie track the facts about narwhals and other whales.

Filled with up-to-date information, photographs, illustrations, and fun tidbits from Jack and Annie, Fact Trackers are the perfect way for kids to find out more about the topics they discover in their favorite Magic Tree House adventures.

Buy book
$6.99
Bookshop
$5.94
Amazon
$6.99
Used $6.99
Prices as of Jan 15
Add to list
Iced Out
Written by CK Smouha & illustrated by Isabella Bunnell
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-8

Wilfred Walrus and Neville Narwhal are the only kids in Miss Blubber’s class who are not seals. Life is tough being the odd ones out - lunchtimes and football matches and school photos all present challenges to the two outliers. And they don’t even like each other very much! When Betty Beluga joins the class, everything changes. Betty is smart and independent and amazing at football. As a friendship forms, Betty helps the two boys to recognise that being different isn’t always a bad thing! A warm, funny tale about friendship and fitting in that school-aged children are sure to identify with. Isabella Bunnell’s joyous watercolour illustrations are complimented by luxuriant packaging.

Buy book
$16.95
Bookshop
$14.41
Amazon
$15.17
Used $1.60
Prices as of Jan 15
Add to list
Happy Narwhalidays (a Narwhal and Jelly Book #5)
Written by Ben Clanton
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 6-9
Narwhal and Jelly spread some holiday cheer (and warm waffle pudding) in the festive fifth book of this blockbuster graphic novel series!
Buy book
$12.99
Bookshop
$11.04
Amazon
$9.98
Used $9.64
Prices as of Jan 15
Add to list
Super Narwhal and Jelly Jolt
Written by Ben Clanton
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

“Hilarious and charming. The most lovable duo since Frog and Toad.” –<i>NYT</i>-bestselling creator of the Dog Man and Captain Underpants series, Dav Pilkey<b> <p/>Narwhal and Jelly are back in action for a SUPER adventure! Join Super Narwhal and sidekick Jelly Jolt as they take on three SUPER new stories in this early graphic novel series.</b> <p/>Happy-go-lucky Narwhal and no-nonsense Jelly find their inner superheroes in three new under-the-sea adventures. In the first story, Narwhal reveals his superhero alter-ego and enlists Jelly to help him figure out what his superpower is. Next, Narwhal uses his superpower to help a friend find his way back home. In the third story, Jelly is feeling blue and Narwhal comes to the rescue. Ben Clanton showcases the joys of friendship and the power of believing in yourself and others through this irresistible duo.

Buy book
$7.99
Bookshop
$6.79
Amazon
$7.18
Used $1.36
Prices as of Jan 15
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
  • Narwhal's Otter Friend - “Hilarious and charming. The most lovable duo since Frog and Toad.” –<i>NYT</i>-bestselling creator of the Dog Man and Captain Underpants series, Dav Pilkey<b> <p/>Narwhal and Jelly . . . and Otty?! Exuberant Narwhal and skeptical Jelly test the waters of adding a new friend to their pod when they meet Otty the super-adventurous otter in the fourth book of this blockbuster early graphic novel series!</b> <p/>Dive into three new stories about the joy of adventure and the power of friendship! In the first story, Otty the otter makes her debut splash; while Narwhal greets her with immediate enthusiasm, Jelly’s not so sure about her…mostly because he worries she’ll take his place as Narwhal’s best friend. Readers will easily see why Narwhal’s so excited to meet Otty, a boisterous explorer who even has an aunt who’s a real live sea captain! But readers will also relate to Jelly’s uneasiness seeing his best friend making a new pal. <p/>Jelly tries to work out his jealousy in story two, and in story three, the new trio say “Ahoy, adventure!” and discover they all have more in common than they thought . . . including a love of waffles! Jelly also takes over the “Super Waffle and Strawberry Sidekick” comic providing a sidekick’s-eye-view of defeating the dreaded dEVILed egg!

  • Peanut Butter and Jelly (a Narwhal and Jelly Book #3) - “Hilarious and charming. The most lovable duo since Frog and Toad.” –<i>NYT</i>-bestselling creator of the Dog Man and Captain Underpants series, Dav Pilkey<b> <p/>Narwhal’s obsession with his new favorite food leads him into hijinks and hilarity in the third book of this all-star early graphic novel series!</b> <p/>Narwhal and Jelly are back and Narwhal has a new obsession . . . peanut butter! He’s so obsessed he even wants to change his name to . . . that’s right . . . Peanut Butter! Ever-sensible Jelly isn’t so sure that’s the best idea, but <i>is</i> all for Narwhal trying new things (instead of just eating waffles all the time, no matter how delicious waffles are). <p/>In this third book, Narwhal and Jelly star in three new stories about trying new things, favorite foods and accepting who we are. Always funny and never didactic, this underwater duo charms again through their powerful combination of positive thinking, imagination and joyfulness.

  • Narwhal: Unicorn of the Sea - “Hilarious and charming. The most lovable duo since Frog and Toad.” –<i>NYT</i>-bestselling creator of the Dog Man and Captain Underpants series, Dav Pilkey <p/>Narwhal is a happy-go-lucky narwhal. Jelly is a no-nonsense jellyfish. The two might not have a lot in common, but they do they love waffles, parties and adventures. Join Narwhal and Jelly as they discover the whole wide ocean together.<br> A wonderfully silly early graphic novel series featuring three stories. In the first, Jelly learns that Narwhal is a really good friend. Then Narwhal and Jelly form their own pod of awesomeness with their ocean friends. And finally, Narwhal and Jelly read the best book ever – even though it doesn’t have any words…or pictures!<br> Ben Clanton showcases the joys of friendship, the benefits of working together and the power of imagination in the delightful Narwhal: Unicorn of the Sea.

  • Where's the Narwhal? - Five beautifully illustrated spreads show a series of friendly underwater creatures hiding behind bright felt flaps. A textile, sensory read that's perfect for sharing with babies and toddlers, featuring a mirror reveal on the final spread.

Add to list
What Is a Narwhal?
Written by Ginger Swift
board book
Recommend Ages: 2-5

Learn about the fascinating unicorn of the sea-the narwhal! Babies and toddlers will love exploring every Arctic page filled with playful ocean friends and fun narwhal facts found under sturdy, easy-to-lift flaps perfect for little hands. A sweet addition to your littles library collection!

Buy book
$7.99
Bookshop
$6.79
Amazon
$7.99
Used $7.99
Prices as of Jan 15
Add to list
Lana Swims North
Written by Lisa Ann Scott
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 7-10
Fans of Rainbow Magic and Mermaid Tales will love this new series full of adventures under the sea!
Buy book
$5.99
Bookshop
$5.09
Amazon
$5.99
Used $5.99
Prices as of Jan 15
Add to list
The Narwhal Problem
Written by Debbie Dadey & illustrated by Tatevik Avakyan
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 6-9

Kiki and her friends get caught up in a code war to try and meet a narwhal in this sparkling Mermaid Tales adventure. All the merkids are super-excited! Two famous narwhal scientists are visiting Trident City with their daughter, Nadine. Best of all, someone is going to get to show Nadine around the city while her parents are in meetings! But who? All the merkids want to be the one, so how are they going to decide who gets to do it? Mrs. Karp, their teacher, decides to organize a code-breaking contest, but with the competition getting fierce, it is more like a code war! Even Kiki, Echo, and Shelly are fighting! Is there a way that everyone can win?

Buy book
$17.99
Bookshop
$15.29
Amazon
$17.99
Used $17.99
Prices as of Jan 15

    Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did you know you can help us improve this list? Check out our Community Handbook and learn how to add tags to books.