Yoga Sutras Quotes

20 of the best book quotes from Yoga Sutras
  1. #1
    “Sutra 1.13: tatra sthitau yatno ‘bhyâsah”
    Translation: Practice means choosing, applying the effort, and doing those actions that bring a stable and tranquil state.
  2. #2
    “Sutra 1.14: sa tu dîrgha-kâla-nairantarya-satkârâsevito drdha-bhûmih”
    Translation: When this practice is done for a long time, and with sincere devotion, then the practice becomes a firmly rooted, stable, and solid foundation.
  3. #3
    “Sutra 1.2: yogas citta-vrtti-nirodhah”
    Translation: Yoga is the control of the mind.
  4. #4
    “Sutra 1.27: tasya vâcakah prañavah”
    Translation: Isvara is the Sanskrit word for pure awareness, and is represented by the sound of OM, the universal vibration that connects us all.
  5. #5
    “Sutra 1.34: pracchardana-vidhârañâbhyâm vâ prâñasya”
    Translation: The mind is also calmed by regulating the breath, particularly attending to the exhalation and the natural stilling of breath that comes from such practice.
  6. #6
    “Yoga Sutra I.2: Yoga citta vritti nirodhah
    Yoga is the ending of disturbances of the mind.”
  1. #7
    Yoga Sutra I.5–6: Vrttayah pancatayyah klistaklistah pramana viparyaya vikalpa nidra smrtayah
    Translation: There are five functions or activities of the mind, which can either cause us problems or not. They are: correct perception, misunderstanding, imagination, deep sleep, and memory.
  2. #8
    Yoga Sutra I.12- Abhyasa vairagyabhyam tat nirodhah
    Translation: In order to achieve a state of yoga, one must develop both practice and detachment.
  3. #9
    Yoga Sutra I.29- “Tatah pratyakcetanadhigamah api antarayabhavas ca”
    Translation: Then, the inner consciousness is revealed, we come to know the true Self, and our obstacles are reduced.
  4. #10
    Sutra II.15: Parinama tapa samskara duhkhaih guna vrtti virodhaccha duhkham evam sarvam vivekinah
    Translation: Change, longing, habits, and the activity of the gunas can all cause us suffering. In fact, even the wise suffer, for suffering is everywhere.
  5. #11
    Sutra 4.15: vastu-sâmye citta-bhedât tayor vibhaktah panthâh
    Translation: Although individuals perceive the same objects, these objects are perceived in different ways, because those minds are each unique and beautifully diverse.
  6. #12
    Sutra II.42: Samtosad anuttamah sukhalabha
    Translation: From contentment, incomparable happiness is obtained.

Books about diversity

View All
Picture book
Add to list
Picture book
Add to list
Board book
Add to list
Picture book
Add to list
Picture book
Add to list
Board book
Add to list
Board book
Add to list
Board book
Add to list
  1. #13
    Sutra 2.46: “sthira-sukham âsanam”
    Translation: The means of perfecting the posture is that of relaxing, relenting effort, and allowing your attention to merge with endlessness, or the infinite.
  2. #14
    Sutra 3.1: “desa-bandhas cittasya dhârañâ”
    Translation: Concentration is the process of holding or fixing the mind’s attention onto one object or place, and is the sixth of the eight rungs.
  3. #15
    Sutra 3.49: “tato mano-javitvam vikaraña-bhâvah pradhâna-jayas ca”
    Translation: With mastery over the senses, thoughts, and actions comes quickness of mind and perception.
  4. #16
    Sutra II.33: Vitarka badhane 
pratipaksha bhavanam
    Translation: When disturbed by negative thoughts, opposite ones should be thought of.
  5. #17
    Sutra 2.32: sauca-santosa-tapah-svâdhyâyesvara-prañidhânâni niyamâh
    Translation: Cleanliness and purity of body and mind, an attitude of contentment, discipline, self-study and reflection on sacred words, and an attitude of surrender are the observances or practices of self-training, and are the second rung on the ladder of yoga, otherwise known as the Niyamas.
  6. #18
    Sutra 2.31: ete jâti-desa-kâla-samayânavacchinnâh sârva-bhaumâ mahâvratam
    Translation: These codes of self-regulation become a powerful standard to live by when they can be practiced unconditionally.
  7. #19
    Sutra I.12: Abhyasa vairagyabhyam tat nirodhah
    Translation: In order to achieve a state of yoga, one must develop both practice and detachment.
  8. #20
    Sutra I.20: Shraddha virya smrti samadhi prajna purvakah itaresham
    Translation: For those of us who were not born into states of higher consciousness or knowing, we must cultivate self-confidence and conviction to help us maintain our persistence and strength, and to remember our direction so that we may attain our goal of a focused mind and clear perception.
Book Topics › goals
Children's Books About Goals