The Definitive Guide to

Cece Loves Science

Written by Kimberly Derting and Shelli R. Johannes & illustrated by Vashti Harrison
Published by Greenwillow Books
1234567
4.5 / 7.0
- Bookroo Rating
Goodreads Rating - 3.9 / 5.0
$17.99
List Price
4-8
Target Age
40
Pages
Picture
Book Type
Add to list

What's This Book About

Publisher Summary

Cece loves science! In this STEM-themed picture book, Cece asks one of life’s most pressing questions: Do dogs eat vegetables? Cece and her best friend, Isaac, head to the lab to find out.

This picture book is perfect for fans of Ada Twist, Scientist, and anyone who enjoys asking questions.

Cece’s parents say she was born curious. She asks: Why? How? What if? When her teacher, Ms. Curie, assigns a science project, Cece knows just what to ask—do dogs eat vegetables? She teams up with her best friend, Isaac, and her dog, Einstein, to discover the answer. They investigate, research, collect data, and analyze, using Einstein as their case study. Their final conclusion is surprising, and a lot of fun!

Illustrated by Vashti Harrison, whose Little Leaders: Bold Women in Black History is a New York Times bestseller and an NAACP Image Award winner. Cece Loves Science is just right for fans of Rosie Revere, Engineer; What Do You Do with an Idea?; and anyone who loves learning.

What Kind of Book is Cece Loves Science

Trusted Reviews & Ratings

The Book Snob Mom
Mom of boys. Lover of Harry Potter, Jane Austen and believes one can never own too many children's books!
1234567
4.5 / 7.0
B is for Bookworm
Book-loving mommy-to-be! Recently enjoyed The Hobbit, Becoming, and The Marvelous Magic of Miss Mabel.
1234567
4.5 / 7.0

Book Lists That Include Cece Loves Science

Book Topics › female scientists
Children's Books About Female Scientists
Book Topics › questions
Children's Books About Questions
Kids Book Club
Monthly. Curated. Delivered.
Get Started
As low as $16.95 / mo

Who Wrote Cece Loves Science

author
Kimberly Derting

Kimberly Derting is the author of the Body Finder series, the Pledge trilogy, and the Taking series. She lives in the Pacific Northwest, where the gloomy weather is ideal for writing anything dark and creepy. Her three beautiful (and often mouthy) children serve as an endless source of inspiration and frequently find things they say buried in the pages of their mother’s books. You can visit her online at www.kimberlyderting.com.

View Author
author
Shelli R. Johannes

Shelli R. Johannes never warmed up to creepy crawly bugs, but she always loved zoology and biology. In fact, she can often be found on highways and country roads saving strays and other jaywalking critters, or volunteering with animal conservations groups like The Atlanta Zoo, The Dolphin Project, and animal rescue centers. Unfortunately, she learned early on that chemistry (a.k.a. cooking) was not her favorite science, often resulting in odd reactions and minor explosions. She lives in Atlanta with her husband, two kids, one bird, one fish, and two crazy-haired Doodles who, just like Einstein, all who seem to love fruit and dessert, but loathe veggies.

View Author

Who Illustrated Cece Loves Science

illustrator
Vashti Harrison

Vashti Harrison is the author-illustrator of the New York Times bestselling picture book Little Leaders: Bold Women in Black History, which is also a NAACP Image Award winner. She earned her BA from the University of Virginia with a double major in Media Studies and Studio Art, and received her MFA in Film and Video from CalArts where she snuck into Animation classes to learn from Disney and Dreamworks legends. There she rekindled a love for drawing and painting. Now, utilizing both skill sets, she is passionate about crafting beautiful stories in both the film and picture book worlds.

View Illustrator

What Has Kimberly Derting Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Kimberly know that you want more details about Cece Loves Science!

What Has Shelli R. Johannes Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Shelli know that you want more details about Cece Loves Science!

What Has Vashti Harrison Said About This Book

Nothing yet! 🤷 You should let Vashti know that you want more details about Cece Loves Science!

More Books From These Creatives

Libby Loves Science book
Kimberly Derting, Shelli R. Johannes, Joelle Murray
Picture book
4.3
Add to list

Books You Might Enjoy If You Liked Cece Loves Science

Book Details

ISBN:
9780062499608
Publication Date:
June 19, 2018
Library of Congress Number (LCCN):
2017043503
ASIN/ISBN 10:
0062499602
Lexile:
550L
Accelerated Reader Points:
0.5
Accelerated Reader Quiz:
196902
ATOS Book Level:
3.5
Accelerated Reader Interest Level:
LG

Contribute to this page

Core Score - 66%
Making good progress . . .
Depth Score - 15%
Just the barebones.
Improve this page
Are you the author or illustrator? Claim this page.