An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

Blue: Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about blue?

As you can see, this list of kids books about blue is a work in progress! We’re currently exploring the best books available, and we’d love your input. If you have a title you’d suggest including on our list of kids books about blue, please share it with us!

We’ll be featuring a variety of titles on our list, from well known classics to popular bestsellers to lesser known titles that deserve a bigger audience. We’re also including books for a range of ages, from board books for babies and toddlers, to picture books for preschool and kindergarten age kids, to chapter books for early elementary age kids.

We’d love to hear any book suggestions you have—you can comment below or email us at [email protected].

Share this list
Add to list
Blue-Azul
Written by Meritxell Marti & illustrated by Xavier Salomó
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

Did you know that colors can tell stories? The illustrations in this charming board book introduce your brilliant baby to all kinds of things that are blue, including finny fish and giant whales in the deep blue sea, a blue-jeaned cowboy eating blueberries, and Bluebeard the pirate by the waters of a nearby river. Our blue planet Earth begins this fun story that leads in surprising directions, all with a cool and sincere blue tone. Part of the Colors series. Illustrator Xavier Salomó was born in Barcelona. He studied illustration, drawing, and printing at the Massana School of Barcelona and art history at the University of Barcelona. He’s worked as an illustrator and graphic designer for various advertising agencies and publishers. In 2006, he won the Junceda Prize for his book The Sounds of . . . Meritxell Martí was also born in Barcelona, and is a writer and professor of humanities at the Open University of Catalonia.

Buy book
$9.99
Bookshop
$8.49
Amazon
$9.99
Used $9.99
Prices as of Sep 27
Add to list
Rare and Blue: Finding Nature's Treasures
Written by Constance Van Hoven & illustrated by Alan Marks
picture book
Recommend Ages: 7-10

A variety of rare blue species–from the blue lobster to the blue black bear–are rare and unique for a reason.

Travel across Earth to discover eight species that are blue in color and are either naturally rare, threatened, or endangered. Panoramic illustrations and a playful main text prompt a search for the blue species at hand, while the page-turn and informative sidebars zoom in to reveal a closer look at the species. There’s a lot to uncover about the Karner blue butterfly, blue black bear, blue whale, Quitobacquito pupfish, Cerulean warbler, blue lobster, Eastern Indigo snake, and big bluestem grass. A surprise ending celebrates that planet Earth is the rarest and bluest and must be protected for the sake of all.

Buy book
$18.99
Bookshop
$16.14
Amazon
$18.99
Used $18.99
Prices as of Sep 27
Add to list
Blue vs. Yellow
Written & illustrated by Tom Sullivan
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

From Tom Sullivan, author-illustrator of I Used to Be a Fish, comes a high-concept picture book about a battle between primary colors, for fans of The Day the Crayons Quit, Red: A Crayon’s Story, and Mix It Up! Ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls, welcome to the Clash of the Colors! BLUE VS. YELLOW! Which one will be declared the best color of all? Will they join forces and be mightier together? Or . . . will another color challenge them for the title? Ding! Ding! Let the battle begin!

Buy book
$17.99
Bookshop
$15.29
Amazon
$17.99
Used $17.99
Prices as of Sep 27
Add to list
One Patch of Blue
Written by & illustrated by Marthe Jocelyn
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-2

A wordless board book that follows the journey of one patch of denim as it escapes from a pair of pants and transforms into many other objects.

Buy book
$9.95
Bookshop
$8.46
Amazon
$9.95
Used $9.95
Prices as of Sep 27
Add to list
Blue Ethel
Written & illustrated by Jennifer Black Reinhardt
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-6

Ethel is old, she is fat, she is black, and she is white. She is also a cat who is very set in her ways…until the day she turns blue! BLUE ETHEL is an adorable story written and illustrated by Jennifer Black Reinhardt, showing readers that being different can be a good thing.

Buy book
$17.99
Bookshop
$15.29
Amazon
$17.99
Used $17.99
Prices as of Sep 27
Add to list
  • Blue Spot: Walt Disney Animation Studios Artist Showcase - Daisy the kitten has gotten a blue spot on her new white dress. How did this happen, asks her mama. Daisy has an answer, which is anything but simple. Instead, she responds with a wonderful fantastical story that includes a blue monster and plenty of blue treats. Mama encourages Daisy to tell the truth in the end, which she does, but even Mama loves the creativity in Daisy’s first answer—and kids will, too.

Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did you know you can help us improve this list? Check out our Community Handbook and learn how to add tags to books.