An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

Droughts: Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about droughts?

Children’s literature has many notable options when it comes to droughts. To help you find the right books for you and your young reader, we’ve compiled a list of the best kids books about droughts.

Our list includes picture books and chapter books. Picture books are generally great options for toddlers and for preschool and kindergarten age children. Picture books are especially enjoyable for adults to read aloud with young kids. The chapter books on our list are generally best for elementary through early middle school age tween kids. You can filter to sort by the best book type for your kid.

When it comes to children’s stories about droughts, there are a variety of titles. This list covers everything, from classics like Lila and the Secret of Rain to popular sellers like Skylark.

We hope this list of kids books about droughts can be a helpful resource for parents, teachers, and others searching for a new book!

Share this list
Add to list
The Storyteller
Written & illustrated by Evan Turk
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

In a time of drought in the Kingdom of Morocco, a storyteller and a boy weave a tale to thwart a Djinn and his sandstorm from destroying their city.

Buy book
$18.99
Bookshop
$16.14
Amazon
$14.39
Used $3.20
Prices as of Apr 12
Add to list
The Farmer
Written & illustrated by Ximo Abadia
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-6

A farmer’s hard work is rewarded in this eco-friendly and elegantly illustrated picture book.

In the town, everyone is sleeping. But not Paul. Paul mows. Paul rakes. Paul sows. Paul draws water. And soon Paul has beautiful plants and flowers growing all around him. But one day, the water dries up. The sun beats down. Paul despairs. But thanks to his animal friends, and a bit of rain, help is on the way . . .

Buy book
$17.99
Bookshop
$15.29
Amazon
$13.89
Used $2.28
Prices as of Apr 12
Add to list
Where the Watermelons Grow
Written by Cindy Baldwin
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Fans of The Thing About Jellyfish and A Snicker of Magic will be swept away by Cindy Baldwin’s debut middle grade about a girl coming to terms with her mother’s mental illness. When twelve-year-old Della Kelly finds her mother furiously digging black seeds from a watermelon in the middle of the night and talking to people who aren’t there, Della worries that it’s happening again—that the sickness that put her mama in the hospital four years ago is back. That her mama is going to be hospitalized for months like she was last time. With her daddy struggling to save the farm and her mama in denial about what’s happening, it’s up to Della to heal her mama for good. And she knows just how she’ll do it: with a jar of the Bee Lady’s magic honey, which has mended the wounds and woes of Maryville, North Carolina, for generations. But when the Bee Lady says that the solution might have less to do with fixing Mama’s brain and more to do with healing her own heart, Della must learn that love means accepting her mama just as she is.

Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$15.39
Used $1.42
Prices as of Apr 12
Add to list
The Extraordinary Colors of Auden Dare
Written & illustrated by Zillah Bethell
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 9-12

Auden Dare is color blind and lives in a world where water is scarce and families must live on a weekly, allocated supply.When Auden’s uncle, the scientist Dr. Bloom, suddenly dies,he leaves a note to Auden and to his classmate Vivi Rookmini. Together, the notes lead them to Paragon—a robot. As Auden, Vivi, and Paragon try to uncover Paragon’spurpose and put together the clues Dr. Bloom left behind,they find out that Dr. Bloom’s death was anything butinnocent, that powerful people are searching for Paragon—and that it’s up to Auden and Vivi to stop them.

Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$16.99
Used $1.28
Prices as of Apr 12
Add to list
Lila and the Secret of Rain
Written by David Conway & illustrated by Jude Daly
picture book
Recommend Ages: 6-9

With the sun baking their Kenyan village for months and no rain sight, Lila learns the trick for making the rains come from her wise grandfather and so heads out to confront the sky in the hopes of saving everyone and everything in the land she loves.

Buy book
$16.95
Bookshop
$14.41
Amazon
$16.95
Used $6.34
Prices as of Apr 12
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
  • Thirsty, Thirsty Elephants - Elephants never forget During a drought in Tanzania, Grandma Elephant is in search of water for her herd. Little Calf follows along and mimics her grandmother at each stop on their journey. When Grandma leads them to a watering hole she recalls from years before, the elephants are overjoyed and Little Calf splashes about with her tender leader. Grandma’s persistence and powerful memory is something Little Calf will never forget. Based on true events. Sandra Markle’s acclaimed nonfiction writing takes on a more lyrical style alongside Fabricio VandenBroeck’s gorgeous illustrations making this story of animal behavior accessible for younger readers. Back matter includes further information about the phenomenon of a herd of elephants that survived a drought, as well as fascinating elephant facts.

  • Skylark - Sarah came to the prairie from Maine to marry Papa. But that summer, a drought turned the land dry and blown. Fires swept across the fields and coyotes came to the well in search of water. So Sarah took Anna and Caleb back east, where they would be safe. Papa stayed behind. He would not leave his land.

  • Gooseberry Park and the Master Plan - Stumpy, Murray, Gwendolyn, and Kona recruit Herman the crow and 200 owls to help with their Master Plan to assist the animals of Gooseberry Park that are in trouble because of a months-long drought.

  • The Cat from Hunger Mountain - In a place called Hunger Mountain there lives a lord who has everything imaginable yet never has enough. To satisfy his every desire, he hires builders to design the tallest pagoda; a world-famous tailor to make his clothing from silk and gold threads; and a renowned chef to cook him lavish meals with rice from the lord’s own fields. What more could he possibly want? Yet when drought plagues the land, Lord Cat is faced with his first taste of deep loss, he ventures down the mountain and what he discovers will change his life forever. Rendered in exquisite mixed-media collage, Caldecott Medalist Ed Young’s deceptively simple fable is a deeply affecting tale about appreciating the value of treasures that need not be chased.

Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did you know you can help us improve this list? Check out our Community Handbook and learn how to add tags to books.