An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

Life On Other Planets (extraterrestrial Life): Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about life on other planets (extraterrestrial life)?

Children’s literature has many notable options when it comes to life on other planets (extraterrestrial life). To help you find the right books for you and your young reader, we’ve compiled a list of the best kids books about life on other planets (extraterrestrial life).

Our list includes picture books and chapter books. Picture books are generally great options for toddlers and for preschool and kindergarten age children. Picture books are especially enjoyable for adults to read aloud with young kids. The chapter books on our list are generally best for elementary through early middle school age tween kids. You can filter to sort by the best book type for your kid.

When it comes to children’s stories about life on other planets (extraterrestrial life), there are a variety of titles. This list covers everything, from classics like Perelandra to popular sellers like Out of the Silent Planet.

We hope this list of kids books about life on other planets (extraterrestrial life) can be a helpful resource for parents, teachers, and others searching for a new book!

Share this list
Add to list
Out There
Written & illustrated by Tom Sullivan
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

This stunning picture book will have young readers wondering about outer space and life on other planets while imparting a surprising and profound message of empathy. From the author/illustrator of Blue vs. Yellow and I Used to Be a Fish. Do you ever look up at the night sky and wonder if there is anybody else out there? Are there evil robots or cool aliens? Do they fly in UFOs or live in futuristic cities? Or maybe . . . they are just like us. Out There is a wonder-filled, surprising journey of imagination and empathy, a book that will inspire readers of all ages to reflect on how much we all have in common, despite our differences.

Buy book
$17.99
Bookshop
$15.29
Amazon
$12.79
Used $3.41
Prices as of Sep 21
Add to list
Life on Mars
Written & illustrated by Jon Agee
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

In this sneaky, silly picture book for fans of Oliver Jeffers and Jon Klassen, an intrepid-but not so clever-space explorer is certain he’s found the only living thing on Mars. A young astronaut is absolutely sure there is life to be found on Mars. He sets off on a solitary mission, determined to prove the naysayers wrong. But when he arrives, equipped with a package of cupcakes as a gift, he sees nothing but a nearly barren planet. Finally, he spies a single flower and packs it away to take back to Earth as proof that there is indeed life on Mars. But as he settles in for the journey home, he cracks open his cupcakes-only to discover that someonehas eaten them all! Readers will love being in on the secret- Unbeknownst to the explorer, a Martian has been wandering through the illustrations the whole time-and he got himself a delicious snack along the way.

Buy book
$17.99
Bookshop
$15.29
Amazon
$13.69
Used $2.13
Prices as of Sep 21
Add to list
Earth Space Moon Base
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

An unlikely trio lands on a planet and keeps the inhabitants at bay using bananas.

Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$16.99
Used $3.47
Prices as of Sep 21
Add to list
Cosmic Blackout!
Written by Ray O’Ryan & illustrated by Jason Kraft
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 5-9

Zack loves everything about his new planet, Nebulon, until there is a complete cosmic blackout and he must try to function without his Indoor Robotic Assistant and hyperphone.

Buy book
$5.99
Bookshop
$5.09
Amazon
$5.99
Used $5.99
Prices as of Sep 21
Add to list
Aliens Love Underpants
Written by Claire Freedman & illustrated by Ben Cort
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-6

It’s a totally zany story with some of the silliest illustrations to appear in many seasons–which is to say that Aliens Love Underpants will be a surefire hit among toddlers and beginning readers. When little aliens fly down to Earth, they don’t come to visit because they want to meet the Earthlings. They simply want to steal everybody’s underpants! They like them large or small, they like them red or green–and they like them in all other sizes and colors, too. They think that Mom’s pink, frilly panties are a perfect place to hide. And Grandpa’s woolly long johns make a super-whizzy slide! The text is in verse, the illustrations are big and bright, and kids who open this book will giggle from first page to last.

Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
  • Who Let the Dogs Out? - Barton and Nancy are supposed to be minding the store–the pet store, that is. But instead they’re off trying to win tickets to see their favorite band, Woptic. So who’s watching the animals? Their alien clones, Beta and Gamma, that’s who! They can take care of a few little critters…What could go wrong?

  • Perelandra - The second book in C. S. Lewis’s acclaimed Space Trilogy, which also includes Out of the Silent Planet and That Hideous Strength, Perelandra continues the adventures of the extraordinary Dr. Ransom. Pitted against the most destructive of human weaknesses, temptation, the great man must battle evil on a new planet – Perelandra – when it is invaded by a dark force. Will Perelandra succumb to this malevolent being, who strives to create a new world order and who must destroy an old and beautiful civilization to do so? Or will it throw off the yoke of corruption and achieve a spiritual perfection as yet unknown to man? The outcome of Dr. Ransom’s mighty struggle alone will determine the fate of this peace-loving planet.

  • Out of the Silent Planet - The first book in C. S. Lewis’s acclaimed Space Trilogy, which continues with Perelandra and That Hideous Strength, Out of the Silent Planet begins the adventures of the remarkable Dr. Ransom. Here, that estimable man is abducted by a megalomaniacal physicist and his accomplice and taken via spaceship to the red planet of Malacandra. The two men are in need of a human sacrifice, and Dr. Ransom would seem to fit the bill. Once on the planet, however, Ransom eludes his captors, risking his life and his chances of returning to Earth, becoming a stranger in a land that is enchanting in its difference from Earth and instructive in its similarity. First published in 1943, Out of the Silent Planet remains a mysterious and suspenseful tour de force.

  • AstroNuts Mission One: The Plant Planet - This laugh-out-loud, visually groundbreaking read launches a major new series by children’s literature legend Jon Scieszka. Featuring full-color illustrations throughout, a spectacular gatefold, plus how-to-draw pages in the back, it’s an outer space adventure that demonstrates a giant leap for bookmaking and a giant leap for any kid looking for their next go-to series. AstroWolf, LaserShark, SmartHawk, and StinkBug are animals that have been hybridized to find other planets for humans to live on once we’ve ruined Earth. So off they rocket to the Plant Planet! Will that planet support human life? Or do Plant Planet’s inhabitants have a more sinister plan? AstroNuts Mission One is a can’t-put-it-down page-turner for reluctant readers and fans ready to blast past Wimpy Kid.

Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did you know you can help us improve this list? Check out our Community Handbook and learn how to add tags to books.