An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

Queens: Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about queens?

Children’s literature has many notable options when it comes to queens. To help you find the right books for you and your young reader, we’ve compiled a list of the best kids books about queens.

Our list includes picture books and chapter books. Picture books are generally great options for toddlers and for preschool and kindergarten age children. Picture books are especially enjoyable for adults to read aloud with young kids. The chapter books on our list are generally best for elementary through early middle school age tween kids. You can filter to sort by the best book type for your kid.

When it comes to children’s stories about queens, there are a variety of titles. This list covers everything, from classics like Cleopatra VII, Daughter of the Nile to popular sellers like The Sleeper and the Spindle.

We hope this list of kids books about queens can be a helpful resource for parents, teachers, and others searching for a new book!

Share this list
Add to list
Wherever I Go
Written by Mary Wagley Copp & illustrated by Munir D. Mohammed
picture book
Recommend Ages: 6-9

A hopeful and timely picture book about a spirited little girl living in a refugee camp.

Of all her friends, Abia has been at the Shimelba Refugee Camp the longest—seven years, four months, and sixteen days. Papa says that’s too long and they need a forever home. Until then, though, Abia has something important to do. Be a queen.

Sometimes she’s a noisy queen, banging on her drum as she and Mama wait in the long line for rice to cook for dinner. Sometimes she’s a quiet queen, cuddling her baby cousin to sleep while Auntie is away collecting firewood. And sometimes, when Papa talks hopefully of their future, forever home, Abia is a little nervous. Forever homes are in strange and faraway places—will she still be a queen?

Filled with hope, love, and respect, Wherever I Go is a timely tribute to the strength and courage of refugees around the world.

Buy book
$17.99
Bookshop
$15.29
Amazon
$14.49
Used $11.54
Prices as of Jan 17
Add to list
Fire in the Star
Written by Kamilla Benko
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 10-13

The enchanting Unicorn Quest series reaches its thrilling conclusion as two sisters fight to save a magical land from destruction.

Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$15.29
Used $6.09
Prices as of Jan 17
Add to list
The Queen's Hat
Written & illustrated by Steve Antony
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

From Steve Antony, the author and illustrator of PLEASE, MR. PANDA and BETTY GOES BANANAS!

A sudden gust of wind sets off a marvelous adventure for the Queen, lots of Queen’s men, and one very special hat. Just where will that hat land? Following a hysterical, epic hat chase, the Queen is reunited with her hat – and the royal baby!

Young children will love the search-and-find fun of the story, the hysterical mayhem that breaks loose, and Steve Antony’s winning art style. THE QUEEN’S HAT shows some of London’s most famous sites, and back matter explains their significance.

Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$13.99
Used $5.10
Prices as of Jan 17
Add to list
The Missing Dwarf
Written by & illustrated by Macky Pamintuan
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 6-8
Kara and Zed are off on a new adventure, in this twisted fairy tales series from Anna Staniszewski!
Buy book
$24.99
Bookshop
$21.24
Amazon
$24.99
Used $24.99
Prices as of Jan 17
Add to list
The Lost Books: The Scroll of Kings
Written by Sarah Prineas
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

“A page-turner of a fantasy with elements of humor as well as intrigue, swordplay, and librarian-versus-hostile-book combat.” —Booklist From Sarah Prineas, author of the acclaimed Magic Thief series, comes a stunning new tween fantasy where books literally come to life! The powerful Lost Books at the palace library are infecting the rest with an evil magic, and two unlikely friends must figure out who, or what, is controlling the books and their power. If they can’t, the entire kingdom could be at risk. Sarah Prineas returns to her classic middle grade roots with this imaginative, fast-paced adventure for book lovers everywhere.

Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$16.99
Used $16.99
Prices as of Jan 17
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
  • Calling on Dragons, Volume 3: The Enchanted Forest Chronicles, Book Three - Those wicked wizards are back–and they’ve become very smart. (Sort of.) They intend to take over the Enchanted Forest once and for all . . . unless Cimorene finds a way to stop them. And some people think being queen is <i>easy</i>.<br>

  • Beast & Crown #2: The Ice Witch - From Texas Bluebonnet Award winner Joel Ross, author of The Fog Diver, comes the second book in his sweeping fantasy duology. Ji and his friends Roz, Sally, and Chibo have gone into hiding following the disastrous Diadem Rite, where they were transformed from humans into half-beasts. It’s their hope that they will survive the epic journey to the Ice Witch to be restored to humans again before they run out of time. But they know the evil Summer Queen’s soldiers are tracking them and fear that she is hot on their (at times abnormally large and fluffy) tails… With the help of goblins, ogres, trolls, and a few mermaids along the way, Ji and his band of unlikely heroes must save their world from being eternally divided. Ross’s smart and fast-paced writing, paired with an addictive, suspenseful, and funny storyline, will leave readers hanging on every word. Fans will cheer for this endearing crew of servants, led by the amazing and dynamic Ji, who are changed forever and must fight for their freedom.

  • Grump: The (Fairly) True Tale of Snow White and the Seven Dwarves - From the

  • The Brave Little Seamstress - “Goodness!” the little seamstress said. “I’ve killed seven flies with one blow.” And to mark the event, she took out her favorite coat and stitched on the back: SEVEN WITH ONE BLOW! Proud of her amazing feat, the brave little seamstress sets off to tell the world. It’s not her fault if, along the way, a giant sees her coat and thinks she slayed seven giants, now is it? Based on the classic fairy tale “The Brave Little Tailor,” Mary Pope Osborne’s spirited retelling – this time starring a gutsy seamstress – and Giselle Potter’s charming illustrations take you to a magical world where a little heroine meets even the biggest challenges with wit and imagination.

Add to list
Does the Queen Wear Her Crown to Bed?
Written by Royal Collection Trust & illustrated by Aurora Cacciapuoti
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

For bedtime stories, the beautifully illustrated ‘Does The Queen Wear Her Crown in Bed?’ will answer all of the important questions little ones have about our Monarch.

Add to list
Escape From The Palace
Written by Santa Montefiore & illustrated by Kate Hindley
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Mission Impossible and James Bond have nothing on this wily bunch of rabbits who are pledged to protect the Queen of England—and the President of the United States—from a dastardly plot in this charming second novel of the Royal Rabbits of London series.

Life is an adventure. Anything in the world is possible—by will and by luck, with a moist carrot, a wet nose and a slice of mad courage!

Little Shylo Tawny-Tail is proud to call himself one of the Royal Rabbits of London, a secret order who live under Buckingham Palace and fight evil across the world. But high up in London’s famous skyscraper, the Shard, the horrible ratzis are plotting to cause chaos during a visit from the President of the United States. And when the Grand Burrow is attacked and Shylo is kidnapped, it looks as though they might just manage it! Can Shylo escape in time to save the day?

Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$16.99
Used $1.60
Prices as of Jan 17
Add to list
The Sleeper and the Spindle
Written by Neil Gaiman & illustrated by Chris Riddell
Select type book
Recommend Ages: 13-17

In a beautiful collaboration, New York Times bestselling and Newbery and Carnegie Medal-winning author Neil Gaiman and Kate Greenaway-winning illustrator Chris Riddell have created a thrillingly reimagined fairy tale, “told in a way only Gaiman can” and featuring “stunning metallic artwork” (GeekInsider.com).

The result is a beautiful and coveted edition of The Sleeper and the Spindle that the Guardian calls “a refreshing, much-needed twist on a classic story.”

In this captivating and darkly funny tale, Neil Gaiman and Chris Riddell have twisted together the familiar and the new as well as the beautiful and the wicked to tell a brilliant version of Snow White’s (sort of) and Sleeping Beauty’s (almost) stories.

This story was originally published (without illustrations) in Rags & Bones (Little, Brown, 2013). This is the first time it is being published as an illustrated, stand-alone edition, and the book is a beautiful work of art.

Buy book
$19.99
Bookshop
$16.99
Amazon
$17.89
Used $10.57
Prices as of Jan 17
Add to list
Cleopatra VII, Daughter of the Nile
Written & illustrated by Kristiana Gregory
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Written in a diary-style format, this work presents the experiences and feelings of the young queen-to-be while providing informative facts about her homelife, family and royal enviroment. 90,000 first printing.

Buy book
$12.99
Bookshop
$11.04
Amazon
$12.99
Used $12.99
Prices as of Jan 17
Add to list
Conceal, Don't Feel: A Twisted Tale
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 12-17

What if Anna and Elsa never knew each other? As the future Queen of Arendelle, Princess Elsa’s life is full of expectation and responsibility-not to mention, questions. What type of ruler will she be? When will she have to pick a suitor? And why has she always harbored the feeling that some critical piece of herself is missing?</p> </p>Following the unexpected death of her parents, Elsa is forced to answer those questions sooner than she’d hoped, becoming the sole ruler of her kingdom and growing lonelier than ever. But when mysterious powers begin to reveal themselves, Elsa starts to remember fragments of her childhood that seem to have been erased-pieces that include a very familiar-looking girl. Determined to fill the void she has always felt, Elsa must take a harrowing journey across her icy kingdom to undo a terrible curse . . . and find the missing Princess of Arendelle. </p>

Buy book
$17.99
Bookshop
$15.29
Amazon
$10.03
Used $4.97
Prices as of Jan 17
Add to list
Add to list
  • Snow White-Rossi - A young girl finds a safe haven with seven dwarves while escaping her wicked stepmother.

  • Wannabees - Get ready to roll with Pea, Bee, & Jay in this brand-new early reader graphic novel series by Brian "Smitty" Smith, perfect for fans of Narwhal & Jelly, emerging readers, and comic lovers alike!

Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did you know you can help us improve this list? Check out our Community Handbook and learn how to add tags to books.