An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

Scouting (youth Activity): Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about scouting (youth activity)?

Children’s literature has many notable options when it comes to scouting (youth activity). To help you find the right books for you and your young reader, we’ve compiled a list of the best kids books about scouting (youth activity).

Our list includes picture books and chapter books. Picture books are generally great options for toddlers and for preschool and kindergarten age children. Picture books are especially enjoyable for adults to read aloud with young kids. The chapter books on our list are generally best for elementary through early middle school age tween kids. You can filter to sort by the best book type for your kid.

When it comes to children’s stories about scouting (youth activity), there are a variety of titles. This list covers everything, from classics like Alien Scout to popular sellers like Big Nate on a Roll.

We hope this list of kids books about scouting (youth activity) can be a helpful resource for parents, teachers, and others searching for a new book!

Share this list
Add to list
The Colossus of Roads
Written & illustrated by Christina Uss
picture book
Recommend Ages: 9-12

Eleven-year-old Rick Rusek is determined to improve the traffic conditions in Los Angeles– his parent’s failing delivery catering service, Smotch, depends on it.

Rick Rusek’s stomach has a lot to say. It’s got opinions on tasty foods, not-so-tasty foods, and how driving in traffic-jammed Los Angeles makes it roil, boil, gurgle, and howl. It never meant to earn its owner the nickname Carsick Rick or make him change schools for fifth grade. It’s doing the best it can.

Rick has a lot to say back to his stomach. In fact, his stomach is the only one he can talk to about his favorite subject: the mighty power of road signs. Rick sees how shifting these bold, beautiful signs announcing STOP, LEFT TURN ONLY, SPEED LIMIT 35, and ROAD WORK AHEAD could improve all the traffic problems in Los Angeles. Too bad his talent for sketching maps that show how to fix everything doesn’t seem to interest or impress anyone else.

When his parents’ catering business teeters on the verge of ruin, Rick wants to prove his talent for noticing small details can make a big difference. He’ll need help from his unicorn-loving Girl Scout neighbor, the Department of Transportation, a renowned street artist, plus the best driver in LA. He’ll have to fight back against snarled streets, graffiti vandals, and other people’s very wrong ideas about traffic.

If Rick can successfully move the 330,000 slow-moving cars standing in the way of his family’s future, maybe everyone will see that he’s not Carsick Rick. He’s one of the seven wonders of Los Angeles. He’s the Colossus of Roads.

Buy book
$17.99
Bookshop
$15.29
Amazon
$17.99
Used $17.99
Prices as of Jan 17
Add to list
Big Nate on a Roll
Written & illustrated by Lincoln Peirce
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Soon to be an animated series from Nickelodeon!

Buy book
$13.99
Bookshop
$11.89
Amazon
$13.99
Used $0.86
Prices as of Jan 17
Add to list
Camp Rex
Written & illustrated by Molly Idle
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

What could be more fun than a camping trip with a good friend?

When that friend is T. Rex!

It’s important to set a few wilderness safety guidelines first. . . like making sure he stays on the trail. And does not disturb the local wildlife. And knows how to build a safe campfire. But sometimes dinosaurs have a different way of doing things, and that’s why it’s best to be prepared . . . for anything!

Following in the extremely large and funny footsteps of Tea Rex, Camp Rex is for anyone who loves to roast a marshmallow or two around the campfire . . . or the whole bag at once!

Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$13.99
Used $1.34
Prices as of Jan 17
Add to list
It's Raining Bats and Frogs!
Written by Joe McGee & illustrated by Ethan Long
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 7-9
A rainstorm gets out of hand and it's up to the Junior Monster Scouts to save The Village from washing away in the hilarious third chapter book of the Junior Monster Scouts series!
Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$16.99
Used $16.99
Prices as of Jan 17
Add to list
Alien Scout
Written by A.I. Newton & illustrated by Anjan Sarkar
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 6-8

In the third book of the Alien Next Door series, Harris knows Zeke is an alien, and they go away for a weekend trip as Beaver Scouts. Will Harris be able to help Zeke keep his secret when another scout starts suspecting something? Zeke has revealed to Harris that he’s an alien and Harris is thrilled to have an alien best friend! This weekend, Harris has a Beaver Scout outing in the wilderness, so he invites Zeke to join in on the fun. Zeke doesn’t quite understand all the activities, like sleeping outside and telling ghost stories, and he is a little careless with using his powers, which leads one scout to become a little suspicious. Will Harris be able to help Zeke hide his identity from everyone?

Buy book
$5.99
Bookshop
$5.09
Amazon
$5.99
Used $5.99
Prices as of Jan 17
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
  • Crash! Bang! Boo! - The Junior Monster Scouts celebrate The Village's 150th birthday in the hilarious second chapter book of the Junior Monster Scouts series!

  • Monster of Disguise - The Junior Monster Scouts must save the village from a carnival with a not-so-fun funhouse in the hilarious fourth chapter book of the Junior Monster Scouts series!

  • The Loch Ness Lock-In - The ragtag scout troop returns in a new adventure—this time, to solve a mystery surrounding the famed Loch Ness Monster. Some scouts spend their weekends weaving baskets, but if you’re a Strange Scout you spend them tagging Massachusetts Pukwudgies (harder than it sounds—Pukwudgies like to set things on fire). Troop Danger has come a long way from their Troop Dweeb days, but nothing can prepare them for what’s next: The Strange Scouts Annual Loch Ness Lock-In! Once a year, Strange Scout troops from around the world are invited to test their scouting skills in an old lighthouse on the shore of the infamous Loch Ness. But when the area surrounding Loch Ness suffers unusual damage, evidence points to a dastardly plot to frame Nessie herself! Can the Strange Scouts’ newest troop clear Nessie’s name and earn their badges before it’s too late?

  • Katie Woo, Super Scout - On a hike with the Super Scouts, Katie is paired up with a girl she does not know who seems much better at scouting then Katie is, but eventually Katie finds that she has discovered a new friend.

Add to list
Cece Loves Science and Adventure
Written by Kimberly Derting and Shelli R. Johannes & illustrated by Vashti Harrison
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Cece loves being an Adventure Girl almost as much as she loves science, which is why she can’t wait for her troop’s camping trip. Nature is full of science for Cece to explore!

Along with her friends, her mom, and her dog, Einstein, Cece learns how to pitch a tent, set up a campsite, and document landmarks on the trail. Then thunder booms in the distance! Working together, the girls use meteorology and math to determine the location of the storm; engineering to build a shelter; and technology and math to calculate the length of the trek back to the campsite. After all that teamwork, Cece’s mom gives them an Adventure Girl surprise!

Buy book
$17.99
Bookshop
$15.29
Amazon
$17.99
Used $17.99
Prices as of Jan 17
Add to list
Mouse Scouts
Written by Sarah Dillard
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 7-10
For fans of Ivy and Bean and Junie B. Jones comes a brand-new chapter book series: Mouse Scouts!
Buy book
$6.99
Bookshop
$5.94
Amazon
$6.99
Used $6.99
Prices as of Jan 17
Add to list
The Monster Squad
Written by Joe McGee & illustrated by Ethan Long
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 7-10
Get to know the Junior Monster Scouts in this first book in a brand-new chapter book series that's perfect for fans of Desmond Cole Ghost Patrol and Hotel Transylvania!
Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$16.99
Used $16.99
Prices as of Jan 17

    Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did you know you can help us improve this list? Check out our Community Handbook and learn how to add tags to books.