Vikings: Books For Kids

This list of the best kids books about vikings is sure to include a new favorite for the voracious young reader in your life! From This Little Explorer to The Littlest Viking there's something here for everyone's tastes. Do you have a favorite book about vikings? Let us know!

This Little Explorer book
#1
This Little Explorer
Written by Joan Holub and illustrated by Daniel Roode
board book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

Learn all about the most influential explorers who searched the world far and wide in this engaging and colorful board book perfect for pioneers-in-training! Little explorers discover a great big world. The follow up to This Little President, now even the youngest adventurers can learn about the greatest explorers in history with this bright and playful board book. Highlighting ten memorable pioneers, parents and young discoverers alike will love sharing this fun historical primer full of age-appropriate facts and bold illustrations.

Viking Myths: Volume Two book
#2
Viking Myths: Volume Two
picture book
Recommend Ages: 7-10

Journey to the frozen north for this second spellbinding anthology of Viking myths! Enter the world of Norse mythology, where you’ll find sea monsters, shape-changers, dark forests, and cunning, gold-hoarding underground dwarves. This second volume of Viking tales features more fantastical, entrancing adventures, including Thor’s journey in the land of the giants, and Ragnarok, the apocalyptic battle of the gods, retold in a way that will engage very young readers. Different illustrators bring their distinctive styles to each story.

The Last Viking book
#3
The Last Viking
Written by Norman Jorgensen and illustrated by James Foley
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

A victorious story about a boy with a wild imagination, this humorous and pertinent narrative not only addresses the serious issue of bullying, but also highlights a moving relationship between grandfather and grandson. Josh is a nervous kid, and he is especially nervous about the kids who bother him at school and in the skate park. With his helmet and sword, and joined by his trusty Scottish terrier Wolverine, Josh finds new strength when the ancient Viking gods unite with him to thwart the neighborhood bullies.

Last Viking Returns The book
#4
Last Viking Returns The
Written by Norman Jorgensen and illustrated by James Foley
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

Josh is as brave as a Viking warrior. And not much can scare a Viking. Not even bullies. But the two littlest Vikings are so fearless they think they’re invincible. When Pop takes the family to Viking World, the two littlest Vikings go berserk. Josh is in for one rocky ride as he discovers just how far he’ll go to keep them safe.

Pirate, Viking & Scientist book
#5
Pirate, Viking & Scientist
Written and illustrated by Jared Chapman
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

In this funny story that’s perfect for fans of Ada Twist, Scientist, a determined little boy won’t rest until he proves his theory that you really can have more than one best friend! Pirate is friends with Scientist. Scientist is friends with Viking. Pirate and Viking are NOT friends. What can Scientist do? Use his brain, of course—and the scientific method! He forms a hypothesis, conducts an experiment, observes his results, and tests his subjects again and again until he discovers the perfect formula for friendship. Includes a bonus list of scientific terms and definitions, just right for young readers.

  1. The Littlest Viking - A hilarious story about what happens to the littlest and loudest Viking when an even littler and louder Viking arrives, perfect for fans of The Princess and the Pony and I Don’t Want to Be a Frog. Sven might be the littlest Viking, but he has no trouble making himself known. He has the loudest warrior cry and the fiercest set of teeth. He loves to pillage and plunder. But there’s a new kid in town—a warrior princess, who is smaller than Sven and even louder. What’s a little Viking to do?

Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did we miss one of your favorites? Let us know in the comments below!