An award-winning book club for kids
Shop Now

Vikings: Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about vikings?

Children’s literature has many notable options when it comes to vikings. To help you find the right books for you and your young reader, we’ve compiled a list of the best kids books about vikings.

Our list includes board books, picture books, and chapter books. Board books are best for babies and toddlers from ages newborn to 2 or 3. Picture books are generally great options for toddlers and for preschool and kindergarten age children. Picture books are especially enjoyable for adults to read aloud with young kids. The chapter books on our list are generally best for elementary through early middle school age tween kids. You can filter to sort by the best book type for your kid.

When it comes to children’s stories about vikings, there are a variety of titles. This list covers everything, from classics like The Last Viking to popular sellers like The Sword of Summer to some of our favorite hidden gems like This Little Explorer.

We hope this list of kids books about vikings can be a helpful resource for parents, teachers, and others searching for a new book! As you explore the list, please comment below to let us know what books you would add.

This Little Explorer book
#1
This Little Explorer
Written by Joan Holub and illustrated by Daniel Roode
board book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

Learn all about the most influential explorers who searched the world far and wide in this engaging and colorful board book perfect for pioneers-in-training! Little explorers discover a great big world. The follow up to This Little President, now even the youngest adventurers can learn about the greatest explorers in history with this bright and playful board book. Highlighting ten memorable pioneers, parents and young discoverers alike will love sharing this fun historical primer full of age-appropriate facts and bold illustrations.

Ronan the Librarian book
#2
Ronan the Librarian
Written by Becky Cattie and Tara Luebbe and illustrated by Victoria Maderna
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

This humorous picture book from sister duo Tara Luebbe and Becky Cattie and illustrator Victoria Maderna follows Ronan the Barbarian as he he grows from being just a rough-and-tumble warrior to Ronan the Librarian—a rough-and-tumble warrior who loves books.

Ronan was a mighty barbarian. He invaded. He raided. And back home, he traded. He always found the greatest treasures. Until one day, Ronan found something no barbarian wants: A BOOK.

At first, his fellow barbarians are skeptical of his newfound passion for reading, but in the end, even they aren’t immune to the charms of a good book.

Viking Myths: Volume Two book
#3
Viking Myths: Volume Two
picture book
Recommend Ages: 7-10

Journey to the frozen north for this second spellbinding anthology of Viking myths! Enter the world of Norse mythology, where you’ll find sea monsters, shape-changers, dark forests, and cunning, gold-hoarding underground dwarves. This second volume of Viking tales features more fantastical, entrancing adventures, including Thor’s journey in the land of the giants, and Ragnarok, the apocalyptic battle of the gods, retold in a way that will engage very young readers. Different illustrators bring their distinctive styles to each story.

D'Aulaires' Book of Norse Myths book
#4
D'Aulaires' Book of Norse Myths
Written by Edgar Parin D'Aulaire and Ingri D'Aulaire and illustrated by Michael Chabon
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 5-9

The Caldecott medal-winning d’Aulaires once again captivate their young audience with this beautifully illustrated introduction to Norse legends, telling stories of Odin the All-father, Thor the Thunder-god and the theft of his hammer, Loki the mischievous god of the Jotun Race, and Ragnarokk, the destiny of the gods. Children meet Bragi, the god of poetry, and the famous Valkyrie maidens, among other gods, goddesses, heroes, and giants. Illustrations throughout depict the wondrous other world of Norse folklore and its fantastical Northern landscape.

Arthur and the Golden Rope: Brownstone's Mythical Collection book
#5
Arthur and the Golden Rope: Brownstone's Mythical Collection
Written and illustrated by Joe Todd-Stanton
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-9

Imagine a vault so cavernous that it could contain all the world’s greatest treasures and relics, from mummified remains of ancient monarchs to glistening swords brandished by legendary warriors. Who could be in charge of such a vault and how did he come into possession of such a unique collection? Who is…Professor Brownstone?

  1. The Sword of Summer - Magnus Chase has seen his share of trouble. Ever since that terrible night two years ago when his mother told him to run, he has lived alone on the streets of Boston, surviving by his wits, staying one step ahead of the police and truant officers. One day, he’s tracked down by an uncle he barely knows-a man his mother claimed was dangerous. Uncle Randolph tells him an impossible secret: Magnus is the son of a Norse god. The Viking myths are true. The gods of Asgard are preparing for war. Trolls, giants, and worse monsters are stirring for doomsday. To prevent Ragnarok, Magnus must search the Nine Worlds for a weapon that has been lost for thousands of years. When an attack by fire giants forces him to choose between his own safety and the lives of hundreds of innocents, Magnus makes a fatal decision. Sometimes, the only way to start a new life is to die . . .

  2. Viking Raiders (Time Traveler) - Presents Viking life and customs and introduces Norse history through portrayal of Earl Knut, an important chieftain, with his family and servants at home, and with his companions raiding nearby lands.

  3. The Last Viking - A victorious story about a boy with a wild imagination, this humorous and pertinent narrative not only addresses the serious issue of bullying, but also highlights a moving relationship between grandfather and grandson. Josh is a nervous kid, and he is especially nervous about the kids who bother him at school and in the skate park. With his helmet and sword, and joined by his trusty Scottish terrier Wolverine, Josh finds new strength when the ancient Viking gods unite with him to thwart the neighborhood bullies.

  4. You Wouldn't Want to Be a Viking Explorer! - Will you survive this arduous voyage in a fragile open boat? This interactive series will enthrall young and reluctant readers by making them part of the story, inviting them to become the main character. Each book uses humorous illustrations to depict the sometimes dark and horrific side of life during important eras in history. It is the late 10th century, and you are one of a hardy band of young adventurers who plan to sail all the way from Scandinavia to Vinland in North America.

Odd and the Frost Giants book
#10
Odd and the Frost Giants
Written by Neil Gaiman and illustrated by Chris Riddell
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

A beautifully illustrated edition of the thrilling, wintry Nordic tale by Neil Gaiman and Chris Riddell, who together weave a truly magical story of legend and adventure that will grip and enchant readers from beginning to end. Odd, a young Viking boy, is left fatherless following a raid. In his icy, ancient world there is no mercy for an unlucky soul with a crushed foot and no one to protect him. Fleeing to the woods, Odd stumbles upon and releases a trapped bear…and then Odd’s destiny begins to change. The eagle, bear, and fox Odd encounters are Norse gods, trapped in animal form by the evil frost giant who has conquered Asgard, the city of the gods. Now our hero must reclaim Thor’s hammer, outwit the frost giants and release the gods… First published in 2009, Odd and the Frost Giants has been reimagined by acclaimed artist Chris Riddell in the style of his epic black-and-white artwork from New York Times bestselling The Sleeper and the Spindle, enhanced here with metallic silver ink.

The Story of Rolf: A Viking Adventure book
#11
The Story of Rolf: A Viking Adventure
Written and illustrated by Allen French
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Rolf, a young and determined Viking bowman, faces many dangers after he vows to pursue and bring to justice the men responsible for his father’s death. Set in ancient Iceland, Allen French’s suspense-filled novel pits Christians against pagan warriors during the early years of Christianity. Brimming with exciting tales of brave men and women who led legendary lives, this thrilling tale will captivate today’s young readers just as it enthralled audiences generations ago.

Yo, Vikings! book
#12
Yo, Vikings!
Written and illustrated by Judy Schachner
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-9

Yo-wee-o! In a milestone picture book, author-illustrator Judith Byron Schachner brings us an inspiring story about making dreams come true, seasoned with a hearty helping of heroic Viking history and lore. Emma is excited as she starts to read about Erik the Red for a school report on world explorers. The excitement grows to epic proportions when she sets her sights on obtaining a real Viking ship. With a tinfoil helmet, a fighting spirit, and the help of a kindly librarian, she hatches a plan . . . and amazes her entire town when an authentic, dragon-prowed ship arrives in her backyard! Rich with details and humor in art and text, this is a tale about the magic of discovery and how far imagination, fueled by knowledge, can take one determined little girl.

Last Viking Returns The book
#13
Last Viking Returns The
Written by Norman Jorgensen and illustrated by James Foley
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

Josh is as brave as a Viking warrior. And not much can scare a Viking. Not even bullies. But the two littlest Vikings are so fearless they think they’re invincible. When Pop takes the family to Viking World, the two littlest Vikings go berserk. Josh is in for one rocky ride as he discovers just how far he’ll go to keep them safe.

The Littlest Viking book
#14
The Littlest Viking
Written by Alexandra Penfold and illustrated by Isabel Roxas
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

A hilarious story about what happens to the littlest and loudest Viking when an even littler and louder Viking arrives, perfect for fans of The Princess and the Pony and I Don’t Want to Be a Frog.

Sven might be the littlest Viking, but he has no trouble making himself known. He has the loudest warrior cry and the fiercest set of teeth. He loves to pillage and plunder. But there’s a new kid in town—a warrior princess, who is smaller than Sven and even louder. What’s a little Viking to do?

  1. Pirate, Viking & Scientist - In this funny story that’s perfect for fans of Ada Twist, Scientist, a determined little boy won’t rest until he proves his theory that you really can have more than one best friend! Pirate is friends with Scientist. Scientist is friends with Viking. Pirate and Viking are NOT friends. What can Scientist do? Use his brain, of course—and the scientific method! He forms a hypothesis, conducts an experiment, observes his results, and tests his subjects again and again until he discovers the perfect formula for friendship. Includes a bonus list of scientific terms and definitions, just right for young readers.

Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did we miss one of your favorites? Let us know in the comments below!