An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

Yarn And String: Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about yarn and string?

As you can see, this list of kids books about yarn and string is a work in progress! We’re currently exploring the best books available, and we’d love your input. If you have a title you’d suggest including on our list of kids books about yarn and string, please share it with us!

We’ll be featuring a variety of titles on our list, from well known classics to popular bestsellers to lesser known titles that deserve a bigger audience. We’re also including books for a range of ages, from board books for babies and toddlers, to picture books for preschool and kindergarten age kids, to chapter books for early elementary age kids.

We’d love to hear any book suggestions you have—you can comment below or email us at [email protected].

Share this list
Add to list
Extra Yarn
Written by Mac Barnett & illustrated by Jon Klassen
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

From bestselling and award-winning author Mac Barnett and illustrator Jon Klassen comes Extra Yarn, a Caldecott Honor Book, Boston Globe-Horn Book Award winner, and a New York Times bestseller.

A young girl and her box of magical yarn transform a community in this stunning picture book. With spare, gently humorous illustrations and a palette that moves from black-and-white to a range of color, this modern fairy tale has the feel of a new classic.

Fans of Oliver Jeffers and Peter Brown will love this book.

Buy book
$17.99
Bookshop
$15.29
Amazon
$13.95
Used $3.60
Prices as of Sep 30
Add to list
Edmund Unravels
Written & illustrated by Andrew Kolb
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

This delightful debut picture book celebrates both the joy of venturing into the unknown and the value of staying connected to loved ones back home. It stars a little ball of yarn who can’t resist the tug of adventure, the twists and turns of discovery, or the comfort of family and friends.

Edmund is a ball of yarn and a ball of energy! From the time he could roll, he’s been bouncing down his front steps to explore, and his parents have always been right there to reel him in and roll him back up. But now that he’s bigger, Edmund is ready to discover the wonders of the world. Everything is new and exciting—but sometimes, even a little ball of yarn gets lonely, and there’s nothing better than the comfort of being around those he cares about.

Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$16.99
Used $16.99
Prices as of Sep 30
Add to list
One Yellow Ribbon
Written by & illustrated by Marthe Jocelyn
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-2

A wordless board book that follows the journey of one yellow ribbon as it transforms into many other objects.

Buy book
$9.95
Bookshop
$8.46
Amazon
$9.95
Used $9.95
Prices as of Sep 30
Add to list
Cat Knit
Written & illustrated by Jacob Grant
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

Cat and Yarn are the best of friends. They have so much fun playing together, the two are inseparable.

Until the day Girl takes Yarn away.

When Yarn returns, he is completely changed, no longer Cat’s bright and rolly friend. Cat is mad!

Soon, Cat begins to miss his best friend, and he just might realize that a little change isn’t so bad after all.

Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$12.59
Used $1.98
Prices as of Sep 30
Add to list
What to Do with a String
Written by Jane Yolen & illustrated by C. F. Payne
picture book
Recommend Ages: 6-8

Snag the spirit of adventure and lasso the limitless horizons of imagination to discover all the simple yet fantastical things one can make out of a string-from slingshots to sails, swings to phone lines-in this sequel to Jane Yolen’s popular picture book, What to Do with a Box (2016).

Buy book
$18.99
Bookshop
$16.14
Amazon
$5.41
Used $1.35
Prices as of Sep 30
Add to list
  • Lucy and the String - When Lucy spots a string, she can’t help but give it a yank, and before she knows it, she meets Hank! But this bear isn’t quite sure what to make of Lucy, especially because the string is attached to his pants, and they’re unraveling fast! Now Lucy must dream up the perfect solution to Hank’s missing pants, and hopefully win this dubious bear’s heart along the way.

Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did you know you can help us improve this list? Check out our Community Handbook and learn how to add tags to books.