Discover

Company

Being Famous: Books For Kids

This list of the best kids books about being famous is sure to include a new favorite for the voracious young reader in your life! From Famously Phoebe to Bright Lights, Big Kitty! there's something here for everyone's tastes. Do you have a favorite book about being famous? Let us know!

Famously Phoebe book
#1
Famously Phoebe
Written by Lori Alexander and illustrated by Aurelie Blard-Quintard
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-7

Phoebe was the shining star of her family. Then someone came along to take her place. For as long as Phoebe can remember, she’s known the clickety click click of a photographer snapping her picture. Thanks to the camera-carrying “paparazzi” (aka Mom and Dad), she’s always been the star of the show . . . until the day a tiny newcomer arrives on set. Will Phoebe learn to share the spotlight and assume the role she was born to play: big sister? This sweet tale of sibling rivalry resolved is perfect for every older brother and sister.

Earn It! book
#2
Earn It!
Written and illustrated by Cinders McLeod
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

In this delightful introduction to the simple concept of earning money, an exuberant little bunny learns that fame and fortune must be earned. Bun wants to be rich and famous. She loves to sing and knows she’s meant for a career on stage. It should all be pretty easy—her mom can just drive her to the concert hall to perform! But her mom reminds her that most good things, like the garden they are growing, take time and work. At first, Bun isn’t terribly excited by the idea of singing lessons and practice, but as she does the math and daydreams about her future singing career, the more she starts to like the idea of earning her way to stardom—a feeling just as good as being rich and famous!

Game Changers: The Story of Venus and Serena Williams book
#3
Game Changers: The Story of Venus and Serena Williams
Written by Lesa Cline-Ransome and illustrated by James E. Ransome
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Venus and Serena Williams. Two peas in a pod. Best friends. Sisters. Six days a week they awoke before the sun came up to practice their serves and returns, to learn to run faster and hit harder. They were unstoppable. At age fourteen, Venus played her first professional match. Three years later, it was Serena’s turn. It wasn’t easy. Some tennis fans cheered for these two fresh faces, while those who were unhappy to see two black girls competing in a nearly all-white sport booed and taunted them. But they didn’t let it stop them. With vibrant mixed media art, nonfiction superstars Lesa Cline-Ransome and Coretta Scott King Honor winner James E. Ransome share the inspirational story of two tennis legends who were fierce competitors on the courts, but close sisters above all.

How the Second Grade Got $8,205.50 to Visit the Statue of Liberty book
#4
How the Second Grade Got $8,205.50 to Visit the Statue of Liberty
Written by Nathan Zimelman and illustrated by Bill Slavin
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Chronicles the triumphs and setbacks of the second grade as they try a variety of schemes to raise money for a trip to the Statue of Liberty.

The Life of/ La Vida De Selena book
#5
The Life of/ La Vida De Selena
Written and illustrated by Ariana Stein, Patty Rodriguez
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3

A Lil' Libros Bilingual Biography Selena's career started at a young age when she became lead singer in her family's band, Selena Y Los Dinos. She went on to become an award-winning artist with albums like Amor Prohibido and Selena Live, and earned the title "Queen of Tejano Music." Your little one will learn that Selena's favorite food was pizza and that the most important people in the world to her were her familiaand fans.

  1. The Major Eights 2: Scarlet's Big Break - In book 2 of the Major Eights series, Scarlet goes solo and risks alienating her bandmates. After their Battle of the Bands competition, the girls are famous! Everyone knows who they are now--even strangers recognize them! But the attention starts to go to Scarlet's head, and she decides to sign up for the school's talent show as a solo artist. But what about the Major Eights? Should she really leave the band and her friends behind? With each book told from a different girl's perspective, this series is all about girl power, diversity, and marching to the beat of your own drum!

  2. The Life of / la Vida de Celia - Born in 1924 in Havana, Cuba, Celia Cruz has become one of the most popular singers in the world. Her career started at a young age, when she began began entering singing contests and winning pastelitos for her efforts! Celia and her husband later moved to New York, where they became friends with other performers such as Tito Puente. As her popularity soared, Celia became known as the ?Queen of Salsa'. To this day, her magnificent music continues to be sugar to our ears!

  3. I Used to Be Famous - Kiely's been famous her entire life, but when a baby sister appears on the scene, she feels like a has-been. Now Kiely has to figure out how to gain back the attention of her adoring fans (her family), even if it means sharing the spotlight.

  4. My Life as a Youtuber - Book 7 of the much-loved My Life series that has the irrepressible Derek Fallon starting his own Youtube web series! Derek Fallon finally found something to get excited about at school—an extracurricular class on making videos! Together with his friends Carly, Matt, and Umberto, Derek can’t wait to create his own Youtube web series. But he soon realizes Youtube stardom is a lot of work. On top of that, it’s time for his foster monkey Frank to go to monkey college so Derek must scramble to find a reason for Frank to stay with his family—if only a little while longer. Can Derek solve both problems at once? What if Frank became a part of Derek's Youtube videos? Here's another funny and thoughtful novel in the series that centers around most every tween today’s pastime—Youtube! A Christy Ottaviano Book

The Right Hook of Devin Velma book
#10
The Right Hook of Devin Velma
Written and illustrated by Jake Burt
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 10-14

Even though he suffers from social anxiety, twelve-year-old Addison agrees to help his best friend achieve social media fame while at a nationally-televised NBA game.

My Family Divided book
#11
My Family Divided
Written by Diane Guerrero and illustrated by Erica Moroz
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 9-12

Guerrero, the star of "Orange Is the New Black" and "Jane the Virgin, " presents her personal story in this middle-grade memoir about her parents' deportation and the nightmarish struggles of undocumented immigrants and their American children. Photos.

Almost Famous book
#12
Almost Famous
Written by David Getz
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 9-12

Ten-year-old Maxine is determined to become a famous inventor so she can take care of her younger brother's heart condition, and she convinces a troubled classmate to help her.

The Fantastic and Terrible Fame of Classroom 13 book
#13
The Fantastic and Terrible Fame of Classroom 13
Written by Matthew J Gilbert, Honest Lee and illustrated by Joelle Dreidemy
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 6-10

When famous agent Lucy LaRoux drops by the 13th Classroom, she makes an offer no one can refuse—she wants all of the students to be FAMOUS. You might think this was unselfish, but it was not. It was very selfish. (Lucy just wants money.) With great fame comes stage fright, broken bones, reality television, and other awful accidents. As the students of Classroom 13 are about to learn, being famous (or infamous) isn't always fun.

Poppy's Best Paper book
#14
Poppy's Best Paper
Written by Susan Eaddy and illustrated by Rosalinde Bonnet
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

Fans of Olivia and Lilly will delight in Poppy, a little rabbit with big dreams—and an even bigger personality. More than anything, Poppy wants to be a verrrry famous writer. She's sure Mrs. Rose will pick her paper to read to the whole class! Trouble is, she has tall ambitions but is short on effort, and her jealousy takes over when her best friend's paper is chosen instead. In the end, Poppy discovers that she has to get out of her own way if her big dreams are going to come true. Rosalinde's adorable, expressive illustrations make memorable, quirky Poppy a real star!

  1. I Am Famous - Kiely knows she is famous! The paparazzi (her parents) follow her every move, documenting with cameras. It’s exhausting being famous, but someone has to do it! She even gets to perform a big song at her grandfather’s birthday. When she messes it up, she’s worried she’s lost her audience forever, but it turns out that no one is as loyal as her fans who love her.

  2. Katie Cox Vs. the Boy Band - Katie Cox never meant to become a pop star. And she didn't mean to start a war with Karamel (a.k.a. the World's Cheesiest Boy Band). Now her first concert is just days away. Cool? Maybe. But with her school friends more interested in her fame than her feelings, and an army of Karamel fans ready to take her down, this battle goes way beyond the charts.

  3. Pete Milano's Guide to Being a Movie Star - Pete Milano has always been the class clown and proud of it. What's the point of having friends if you can't make them laugh, right? Even if doing so has the unfortunate side effect of constantly getting him into trouble. But, for once, Pete's tricks have led him to just the right place at just the right time. Now he's about to become famous, because he's been asked to audition for the hottest new movie with the hottest girl costar. But balancing real life with movie life is way harder than it sounds. Will Pete's newfound fame mean losing his girlfriend and all his friends?

  4. Goldilocks - Everyone loves Goldilocks' hilarious online videos, but in her quest to get more likes, more laughs and more hits, she tries something a little more daring: stealing porridge #pipinghot, breaking chairs #fun, and using someone else's bed #sleep. What will Daddy Bear do when he sees that online? A hilarious cautionary tale for a new generation of internet-users from the prize-winning partnership of Jeanne Willis and Tony Ross.

Bright Lights, Big Kitty! book
#19
Bright Lights, Big Kitty!
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 7-10

"Squawk of the town. News of the day. Two-legged friends: Animal Inn is famous! Maybe not all of us animals, but Whiskers sure is! Thanks to a video that looks like he can fly through the air like a Super Cat, he's going to be on TV! And guess what? We're all going with him. What's next for Whiskers? Movies? Broadway? A YouTube show of his own? Will his life--and ours--ever be the same again?"--Jacket.

    Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did we miss one of your favorites? Let us know in the comments below!