An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

Cemeteries: Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about cemeteries?

As you can see, this list of kids books about cemeteries is a work in progress! We’re currently exploring the best books available, and we’d love your input. If you have a title you’d suggest including on our list of kids books about cemeteries, please share it with us!

We’ll be featuring a variety of titles on our list, from well known classics to popular bestsellers to lesser known titles that deserve a bigger audience. We’re also including books for a range of ages, from board books for babies and toddlers, to picture books for preschool and kindergarten age kids, to chapter books for early elementary age kids.

We’d love to hear any book suggestions you have—you can comment below or email us at [email protected].

Share this list
Add to list
The Graveyard Book
Written by Neil Gaiman & illustrated by Dave McKean
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 9-12

The original hardcover edition of a perennial favorite, The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman, which has sold more than one million copies and is the only novel to win both the Newbery Medal and the Carnegie Medal.

Bod is an unusual boy who inhabits an unusual place—he’s the only living resident of a graveyard. Raised from infancy by the ghosts, werewolves, and other cemetery denizens, Bod has learned the antiquated customs of his guardians’ time as well as their ghostly teachings—such as the ability to Fade so mere mortals cannot see him.

Can a boy raised by ghosts face the wonders and terrors of the worlds of both the living and the dead?

The Graveyard Book is the winner of the Newbery Medal, the Carnegie Medal, the Hugo Award for best novel, the Locus Award for Young Adult novel, the American Bookseller Association’s “Best Indie Young Adult Buzz Book,” a Horn Book Honor, and Audio Book of the Year.

Buy book
$8.99
Bookshop
$7.64
Amazon
$8.99
Used $8.99
Prices as of Jan 21
Add to list
Ra the Mighty: The Great Tomb Robbery
Written by A. B. Greenfield & illustrated by Sarah Horne
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 7-10

A smug royal cat turned detective and his dung beetle sidekick are on the case when a precious tomb gets ransacked in the Valley of the Kings.

Ra the Mighty adores his duties as Pharaoh’s cat: naps by the pool and plenty of snacks. Being lazy is so much fun. But when a royal tomb gets robbed, Ra and his hardworking friend Khepri must team up to restore justice. The clues point to a young boy whom Ra admires. Will the Great Detective play favorites, or will he uncover the truth? Mystery awaits!

More than thirty wacky illustrations with fun historical details bring these oddball characters to life, along with a glossary, pronunciation guide, and detailed author’s note about ancient Egypt. Fans of Bad Kitty will love Ra’s witty voice and arrogant antics. Pair with companion, Ra the Mighty: Cat Detective.

Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$13.89
Used $7.17
Prices as of Jan 21
Add to list
Zombie Zone (Revised)
Written by Ron Roy
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 7-9
Help Dink, Josh, and Ruth Rose solve mysteries from A to Z in this chapter book that's perfect for Halloween
Buy book
$5.99
Bookshop
$5.09
Amazon
$4.99
Used $0.53
Prices as of Jan 21
Add to list
The Turnkey of Highgate Cemetery
Written by Allison Rushby
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Flossie Birdwhistle is the Turnkey at London’s Highgate Cemetery. As Turnkey, it’s Flossie’s job to ensure that all the souls buried in the cemetery stay at rest. Not an easy job for a young ghost, but a task made especially difficult by World War II: London is being attacked every night by enemy bombers, and even the dead are unsettled. When Flossie encounters the ghost of a German soldier carrying a mysterious object that seems to exist in both the living and spirit worlds, she becomes suspicious—what is the officer up to? Before long, Flossie uncovers a sinister plot that could destroy not only her cemetery, but also her beloved country. Can Flossie and her ghostly friends stop the soldier before it’s too late? History collides with the supernatural in this exciting, ethereal mystery from Allison Rushby.

Buy book
$15.99
Bookshop
$13.59
Amazon
$15.02
Used $1.88
Prices as of Jan 21
Add to list
The Grave Digger
Written & illustrated by Rebecca Bischoff
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 9-12

In 1875 Ohio, twelve-year-old Cap Cooper is an aspiring inventor—and a reluctant graverobber—enlisted by his father to help pay for his mother’s medical expenses. When one of the dead returns to life at his touch, Cap unearths a world of dark secrets that someone at the local medical school wants to keep buried. On the brink of discovery, he’ll have to use every ounce of cunning he has to protect those he loves most and save his own skin. The Grave Digger is an eerie mystery set in the aftermath of the Civil War, filled with action, friendship, and a hint of the paranormal, perfect for those who enjoy reading late into the night and long after the lights go out.

Buy book
$15.99
Bookshop
$13.59
Amazon
$15.99
Used $15.99
Prices as of Jan 21
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
  • Sydney MacKenzie Knocks 'em Dead - West Coast girl Sydney Mackenzie moves to Delaware after her parents inherit a cemetery–and becomes involved in a mystery surrounding the Underground Railroad–in this novel from the author of <i>Just Add Magic </i>and the Lost in series. <p/>Sydney Mackenzie is an aspiring filmmaker and average less-than-popular California Girl. So when her parents drop the biggest bombshell ever–they have inherited a cemetery called Lay to Rest, which means a move to boring Delaware–Sydney is NOT happy. And to make matters worse? Their “new” house is actually right on the cemetery grounds–and it isn’t exactly California chic. <p/>But after settling in, Sydney discovers that the creepy old house might have more history than she once thought. And someone–or something–is encouraging her to delve deeper into a decades-old mystery that dates back to the Underground Railroad. Will Sydney’s filmmaking skills and the help of some new friends be enough for her get to the bottom of the mystery involving her new home?

  • Bone Garden - A spooky and adventurous debut illustrated fantasy novel about a girl made of dust and bone and imagination who seeks the truth about the magic that brought her to life. This magical story--and the brave girl in its pages--will haunt you in the best way. --Natalie Lloyd, New York Times bestselling author of Over the Moon "Remember, my dear, you do not really and truly exist." Irréelle fears she's not quite real. Only the finest magical thread tethers her to life--and to Miss Vesper. But for all her efforts to please her cruel creator, the thread is unraveling. Irréelle is forgetful as she gathers bone dust. She is slow returning from the dark passages beneath the cemetery. Worst of all, she is unmindful of her crooked bones. When Irréelle makes one final, unforgivable mistake by destroying a frightful creature just brought to life, Miss Vesper threatens to imagine her away once and for all. Defying her creator for the very first time, Irréelle flees to the underside of the graveyard and embarks on an adventure to unearth the mysterious magic that breathes bones to life, even if it means she will return to dust and be no more. Debut author Heather Kassner's The Bone Garden is a gorgeously written story--illustrated by Matt Saunders--humming with magic, mystery, and dark imaginings. Perfect for fans of Holly Black, Jonathan Auxier, and Katherine Arden. [Evokes] the dreamy tone and themes of Neil Gaiman's Coraline and The Graveyard Book . . . an impressive new fairy tale that will appeal to fans of Lisa Graff's subtly magical stories. --Booklist

  • Artie Conan Doyle and the Gravediggers' Club - Before the world meets Sherlock Homes, twelve-year-old Artie Conan Doyle has his own mysteries to solve. Will Artie survive encounters with graveyards, hounds and ghosts in foggy Edinburgh? Or will his first case be his last?

Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did you know you can help us improve this list? Check out our Community Handbook and learn how to add tags to books.