An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

Mummies: Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about mummies?

Children’s literature has many notable options when it comes to mummies. To help you find the right books for you and your young reader, we’ve compiled a list of the best kids books about mummies.

Our list includes picture books and chapter books. Picture books are generally great options for toddlers and for preschool and kindergarten age children. Picture books are especially enjoyable for adults to read aloud with young kids. The chapter books on our list are generally best for elementary through early middle school age tween kids. You can filter to sort by the best book type for your kid.

When it comes to children’s stories about mummies, there are a variety of titles. This list covers everything, from classics like The Curse Of The Mummy’s Tomb to popular sellers like Mummies in the Morning.

We hope this list of kids books about mummies can be a helpful resource for parents, teachers, and others searching for a new book! As you explore the list, please comment below to let us know what books you would add.

Skippyjon Jones in Mummy Trouble
Written & illustrated by Judy Schachner
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

El Skippito is back! His doggy pals want to visit the Under Mundo—the underworld—where mummitos rest in peas. But they need El Skippito’s brains and courage to answer the riddle of the Finx and enter the mummy’s tomb. Our hero is up to the task, and he’s in for another whirlwind adventure.

Violet and the Mummy Mystery
Written by Harriet Whitehorn & illustrated by Becka Moor
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 7-8

Join amateur Sherlock Holmes, Violet Remy-Robinson as she tries to track down a stolen mummy in this novel that’s part of a delightful detective series that’s perfect for fans of Robin Stevens’s Wells & Wong mysteries!When Violet’s cousin Agnes and her Aunt Mathilde arrive from Cairo, Violet is delighted. Aunt Mathilde is a professor of Ancient Egyptology and has discovered a mummy that may be the key to revealing the secret location of Queen Nefertiti’s tomb. Violet can’t wait to find out more! So when the precious mummy is stolen from the British Museum, it’s a disaster. Who has managed to pull off this crime right under the security guards’ noses and where is the mummy now? It’s up to Violet and the gang to save the day!Beautifully designed and filled with gorgeous two-color illustrations throughout, everyone is bound to fall in love with Violet and the colorful characters that make up her world.

Theodosia and the Staff of Osiris
Written by R. L. LaFevers & illustrated by Yoko Tanaka
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Theodosia Throckmorton is in a fix. Allowed to attend a reception given by one of the directors of her parents’ museum, she stumbles across Mr. Tetley of the British Museum—in most unusual circumstances! Since Theo has last seen him in a showdown in an ancient Egyptian tomb, his reappearance could mean only one thing: the Serpents of Chaos are back.
Once again Theodosia will have to take on secret societies, evil curses, and dark magic too sinister to imagine, especially if it falls into the wrong hands. Blocked at every turn, Theodosia will have to rely on her own skill and cunning—along with a little help from the most unexpected places.

Frozen Man
Written by David Getz & illustrated by Peter McCarty
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 7-10

Recounts the discovery of a man’s remains found frozen in the Alps, and describes how scientists determined that he had died five thousand years earlier

Skippy jones and mummy trouble
Written & illustrated by Judy Schachner
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

El Skippito is back! His doggy pals want to visit the Under Mundo—the underworld—where mummitos rest in peas. But they need El Skippito’s brains and courage to answer the riddle of the Finx and enter the mummy’s tomb. Our hero is up to the task, and he’s in for another whirlwind adventure.

  • The Littlest Mummy - From the New York Times bestselling author who brought us The Littlest Pilgrim comes a sweet new Halloween story filled with gentle spooky fun and one adorable little mummy friend! Mae may be the littlest mummy in the Spooky Woods, but she has a big desire to dance with her family at the big Halloween bash! But Mae just can’t seem to moan, groan, and look scary, no matter how hard she shuffles and shouts. Will Mae be able to participate in the party, or is the littlest mummy just too little?

  • Mummies in the Morning - Jack and his younger sister take a trip in their tree house back to ancient Egypt, where they help a queen’s mummy continue her voyage to the Next Life.

  • Mummy Cat - “Mummy Cat prowls his pyramid home, longing for his beloved owner. As he roams the tomb, lavish murals above his head display scenes of the cat with his young Egyptian queen. Hidden hieroglyphs deepen the tale and are explained in an informative author’snote”—

  • Museum Mystery Squad and the Case of the Hidden Hieroglyphics - Some people think that museums are boring places full of glass cases, dust and stuff no-one cares about: wrong! In a hidden headquarters below the exhibits there’s a gang ready to handle dangerous, spooky or just plain weird problems: the Museum Mystery Squad. Techie-genius Nabster, mile-a-minute Kennedy, and sharp-eyed Laurie (along with Colin the hamster!) tackle the surprising conundrums happening at the museum. From moving prehistoric creatures and secret Egyptian code breaking to missing treasure and strange messages from the past, there’s no brain-twisting, totally improbable puzzle the Squad can’t solve.

The Curse Of The Mummy's Tomb
Written by R. L. Stine
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 9-12

Lost in a pyramid while on a visit to Egypt, Gabe suddenly realizes that he is not alone, and he soon learns the meaning of the legendary curse of the mummy’s tomb. Original.

    Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did you know you can help us improve this list? Check out our Community Handbook and learn how to add tags to books.

    Suggested Links