An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

Personal Hygiene: Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about personal hygiene?

Children’s literature has many notable options when it comes to personal hygiene. To help you find the right books for you and your young reader, we’ve compiled a list of the best kids books about personal hygiene.

Our list includes board books and picture books. Board books are best for babies and toddlers from ages newborn to 2 or 3. Picture books are generally great options for toddlers and for preschool and kindergarten age children. Picture books are especially enjoyable for adults to read aloud with young kids. You can filter to sort by the best book type for your kid.

When it comes to children’s stories about personal hygiene, there are a variety of titles. This list covers everything, from classics like The Girl Who Wouldn’t Brush Her Hair to popular sellers like Hogwash! to some of our favorite hidden gems like Something Smells!.

We hope this list of kids books about personal hygiene can be a helpful resource for parents, teachers, and others searching for a new book! As you explore the list, please comment below to let us know what books you would add.

Something Smells!
Written by Blake Liliane Hellman & illustrated by Steven Henry
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Elliot wakes up one morning to the most terrible smell. But what could it be? Find out in this gentle introduction to hygiene that’s stinkin’ adorable! One morning, Elliot wakes up and smells something awful. Is it the trash? No… The dog? No… Dad? His sister? The baby? Grandma’s famous gerfartzenschanffel? No, no, no, and no! Elliot searches high and low for the something that smells, but he just can’t find it, and it’s driving him and his nostrils crazy. Almost as bad, now his mother wants him to take a bath, which means taking off his super cool skeleton costume that he’s been wearing since Halloween! The funny thing is, after Elliot finishes his bath and Mom puts his costume in the wash, something doesn’t smell anymore…

The Girl Who Wouldn't Brush Her Hair
Written by Kate Bernheimer & illustrated by Jake Parker
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

What happens when our heroine neglects her long tresses? Well, one day a mouse comes to live in a particularly tangled lock. Soon after, more mice move in, and the girl’s unruly mop is transformed into a marvelous mouse palace complete with secret passageways and a cheese cellar! But as the girl comes to find out, living with more than a hundred mice atop your head isn’t always easy. . . .

No More Diapers
Written by & illustrated by Marion Cocklico
board book
Recommend Ages: 1-4

Every day your child is taking BIG STEPS forward—and potty training is one of them. This colorful board book, with vibrant art, cool novelty features like flaps and pull-tabs, and valuable tips for parents, helps them adjust. Potty training is a huge rite of passage. How can you make the process easier for your child? When it’s time to ditch the diapers, this encouraging board book takes toddlers (a boy and a girl) through all the steps, from learning when they have to go, to lasting through the night, to personal hygiene. Parents will really appreciate the helpful advice on every page.

My Hair is a Garden
Written & illustrated by Cozbi A. Cabrera
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

After a day of being taunted by classmates about her unruly hair, Mackenzie can’t take any more and she seeks guidance from her wise and comforting neighbor, Miss Tillie. Using the beautiful garden in the backyard as a metaphor, Miss Tillie shows Mackenzie that maintaining healthy hair is not a chore nor is it something to fear. Most importantly, Mackenzie learns that natural black hair is beautiful.

A Toothbrush for Rex
Written & illustrated by Marisa Vestita
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-5

Follow along with Rex the T-Rex and his dinosaur friends in this delightful picture book!

In this charming new series of board books, parents and their children can enjoy the adventures of four baby dinosaur friends. With full-color illustrations and easy-to-understand language, boys and girls can learn valuable lessons about facing new experiences, confronting their fears, and what they need to do to grow up big and brave—just like the dinosaurs!

Bronto the Brontosaurs, Trixie the Triceratops, and Terri the Pterodactyl are nervous—there are some scary roars echoing throughout the forest and they’re coming from their friend Rex. Unfortunately, the poor baby dino has a stick stuck in his teeth! Terri comes to the rescue and pulls it out with her beak, and Rex’s friends remind him of an important fact: if Rex wants strong teeth like his dad, he has to brush his teeth!

This colorful board book is perfect to give as a gift or to read to your young children at bedtime. The adorable art and inspirational story will help encourage kids to brush their teeth so they grow big and strong, just like a T-Rex’s!

  • Hogwash! - He washed the horses, ducks and cows The goats, the cats and dogs. Everything went dandy… Until the farmer reached his hogs. “No hogwash for us today. Pigs love dirt - so go away!” Farmer’s stubborn pigs refuse to be hogwashed, and no matter what he tries, poor Farmer cannot trick them into getting clean! But when several failed attempts leave him stuck in the mud, our determined farmer realizes his hogs may have been on to something all along… sometimes a mud bath is even better! New York Times best-selling author Karma Wilson’s clever rhyming verse will engage parents and kids alike as Jim McMullan’s illustrations bring to life these delightfully mischievous pigs with a penchant for all things muddy!

  • Down at the Dino Wash Deluxe - A rollicking romp around an old fashioned car wash—where DINOSAURS are the customers! How can a dinosaur stay dirt-free in the city? Welcome to the Dino Wash Deluxe, where dinos go to get soaped, scrubbed, and spotlessly clean. The Dino Wash handles it all: scales, spikes, wings, even frills and horns. BUT WAIT! There’s a new customer in town: a T. rex with sharp teeth, long claws, and a mighty mean personality. What will happen when T. rex shows up? Filled with dinosaur facts and fun, this hilarious picture book reminds children that tough guys might not be as scary as they seem.

  • How Do You Take a Bath? - Perfect for fans of Five Little Monkeys Jump in the Bath, this fun and educational picture book brings together adorable baby animals and bathtime. How do YOU take a bath? Does your mama comb your fur? Do you shake off all your dirt? Do you splash and flap and quack? Do the birdies peck your back? No! Follow elephants, pigs, monkeys, hippos, and more in this charming rhyming picture book from veteran author Kate McMullan. How does a pig take a bath? It sinks in the mud! What about a chicken? It thrashes about in dust! And a cat? Why, it licks itself clean, of course! Sydney Hanson’s adorable illustrations toggle neatly between animals in nature grooming themselves and humorous depictions of children attempting the animals’ bathing tactics. By the end of the book, the child finally makes his way to the bathtub, no mud baths or lick baths about it!

  • Hair-Pocalypse - Second-grader Aiden Allen has seriously wild hair; in fact it keeps forming itself into weird shapes, and interfering with his school day, and nothing he says will make it behave—until finally Aiden and his hair come to a compromise that involves washing.

A Perfect Mess
Written & illustrated by Steve Breen
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5

Readers who love Olivia and Little Elliot, Big City will fall head over heels for this sweet little rhino who always makes a big mess

Henry McHenry is one messy rhino, but he tries his best to stay clean for a very important day. He jumps over a mud puddle (and splashes his friend), passes on a gooey jelly donut (just in time for a glob to land on his neighbor), and even manages to shake the ink from his leaky pen (all over his classmates). And while Henry is still neat and tidy at the end of the day, his classmates are anything but . . .

This irresistible school story from Pulitzer Prize–winning cartoonist Steve Breen is all about finding happiness in imperfections and being yourself . . . especially on class picture day!

    Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did you know you can help us improve this list? Check out our Community Handbook and learn how to add tags to books.

    Suggested Links