An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

Boredom: Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about boredom?

As you can see, this list of kids books about boredom is a work in progress! We’re currently exploring the best books available, and we’d love your input. If you have a title you’d suggest including on our list of kids books about boredom, please share it with us!

We’ll be featuring a variety of titles on our list, from well known classics to popular bestsellers to lesser known titles that deserve a bigger audience. We’re also including books for a range of ages, from board books for babies and toddlers, to picture books for preschool and kindergarten age kids, to chapter books for early elementary age kids.

We’d love to hear any book suggestions you have—you can comment below or email us at [email protected].

Add to list
The Boring Book
Written & illustrated by Shinsuke Yoshitake
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-8
Boredom: humankind's age-old adversary. It's a state that is undesirable, uninteresting . . . and just plain boring. But as one particularly bored boy discovers, there's actually more to boredom than meets the eye—more questions, more theories, and heaps of humor. This exploration of boredom from acclaimed author-illustrator Shinsuke Yoshitake playfully—and hilariously—unpacks the ways in which a seemingly stagnant state is actually a portal into a dynamic, life-enriching experience. For anyone who's ever been mind-numbingly bored, this smart, laugh-out-loud picture book just might change your perspective on the state of boredom forever.
Add to list
Penny and the Plain Piece of Paper
Written & illustrated by Miri Leshem-Pelly
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8
One little doodle girl takes control of her own creative destiny in this funny and imaginative book perfect for fans of Harold and the Purple Crayon! Penny lives on a plain piece of paper, with just one problem--she's bored. There's nothing to do, no one to talk to, not a single way to keep herself entertained! Not one to wallow, Penny makes a decision: it's high time she ventured out into the world and explored other types of paper. But when she's not serious enough for the newspaper, not angular enough for the graph paper, and not repetitive enough for the wrapping paper, Penny doesn't know where she belongs. With some help from the friends she's met along her journey, though, she comes up with the perfect paper plan for herself. In this fun and funny book about fitting in and finding home, imagination wins the day!
Add to list
I'm Bored
Written by Michael Ian Black & illustrated by Debbie Ridpath Ohi
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-8
When a bored girl meets a potato who finds children tedius, she tries to prove him wrong by demonstrating all of the things they can do, from turning cartwheels to using their imaginations.
Add to list
Solomon and Mortimer
Written & illustrated by Catherine Rayner
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-5
Solomon Crocodile is back in a brand new adventure! And this time, he's not on his own...Solomon Crocodile and his friend Mortimer are bored. They want to find some fun, but what can they do? Tree-climbing is tricky, chasing lizards doesn't end well and flying turns out to be a lot harder than it looks. But then they spot the biggest hippo in the river. Just imagine the splash he'd make if two naughty crocodiles were to surprise him! But Solomon and Mortimer are about to get a whole lot more than they bargained for... Sure to delight fans of the original Solomon Crocodile, which has sold over 100,000 copies worldwide, this warm, funny and charming tale from the Kate Greenaway Medal winning Catherine Rayner is one that young children will ask for again and again.
Add to list
My Teacher Is a Robot
Written & illustrated by Jeffrey Brown
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7
From the author of the New York Times bestselling Jedi Academy books comes an imaginative picture book about a kid whose creative outlook has everyone at school seeing the world through new eyes. Perfect for fans of The Adventures of Beekle and The Most Magnificent Thing. Fred does not want to go to school because it's boring. Especially since he thinks his teacher is a robot. If only Fred could imagine a way for his day to be more exciting... An inventively funny picture book that celebrates the boundlessness of a child's imagination and celebrates the teachers, families, and friends who get wrapped up in their fantastic worlds.
The Bored Book book
Add to list
  • The Bored Book - A brother and sister are bored and irritated visiting their grandfather. There’s no TV, no video games or computers - only books! Sent by their grandfather into the attic, they discover a dusty volume that is unlike all the others. When they open it, it expands into a giant map. As the map grows larger and larger, filling the attic, the children fall into adventures that take them all over the world, face to face with sharks, pirates, knights, even an abominable snowman. Suddenly their visit is anything but boring! The Bored Book uses stunning illustrations, with no text, to remind youngsters of the unique adventures to be found in books. The hardcover edition of The Bored Book was nominated for the 2011 Sakura Medal.

Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did you know you can help us improve this list? Check out our Community Handbook and learn how to add tags to books.

Suggested Links