An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

Guinea Pigs: Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about guinea pigs?

Children’s literature has many notable options when it comes to guinea pigs. To help you find the right books for you and your young reader, we’ve compiled a list of the best kids books about guinea pigs.

Our list includes picture books and chapter books. Picture books are generally great options for toddlers and for preschool and kindergarten age children. Picture books are especially enjoyable for adults to read aloud with young kids. The chapter books on our list are generally best for elementary through early middle school age tween kids. You can filter to sort by the best book type for your kid.

When it comes to children’s stories about guinea pigs, there are a variety of titles. This list covers everything, from classics like Crunch! to popular sellers like Stink and the Great Guinea Pig Express.

We hope this list of kids books about guinea pigs can be a helpful resource for parents, teachers, and others searching for a new book!

Share this list
Add to list
Wedgie & Gizmo vs. the Great Outdoors
Written by Suzanne Selfors
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

"A delightfully fun read that will leave you in stitches!"--Caldecott Medalist Dan Santat

Buy book
$12.99
Bookshop
$11.04
Amazon
$11.99
Used $2.51
Prices as of Jan 22
Add to list
Wedgie & Gizmo vs. the Toof
Written by Suzanne Selfors
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Fans of Stick Dog and My Big Fat Zombie Goldfish will LOL over Suzanne Selfors's hilarious illustrated series about the growing pains of blended families and the secret rivalry of pets.

Buy book
$12.99
Bookshop
$11.04
Amazon
$11.79
Used $3.69
Prices as of Jan 22
Add to list
Super Turbo Vs. Wonder Pig
Written by Lee Kirby & illustrated by George O’Connor
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 5-9

“When Wonder Pig starts to act strange, Super Turbo gets suspicious. Is it possible that the superhero guinea pig is actually working undercover for the evil rat Whiskerface?”–

Buy book
$5.99
Bookshop
$5.09
Amazon
$3.99
Used $4.54
Prices as of Jan 22
Add to list
Crunch!
Written & illustrated by Carolina Rabei
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-7

Crunch the guinea pig loves his food, so it’s just as well there’s plenty of it, especially when a hungry little mouse wants a share.So why does Crunch refuse?Later, Crunch can’t settle to his feast for worrying about the mouse. Although he’s never stepped outside his hutch before, Crunch sets off to look for him. Will he find the little mouse, and if so, what else might he discover?

Buy book
$17.99
Bookshop
$15.29
Amazon
$17.99
Used $17.99
Prices as of Jan 22
Add to list
Wedgie & Gizmo
Written by Suzanne Selfors
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Fans of Stick Dog and My Big Fat Zombie Goldfish will love Suzanne Selfors's hilarious new illustrated series about the growing pains of blended families and the secret rivalry of pets.

Buy book
$12.99
Bookshop
$11.04
Amazon
$11.79
Used $1.40
Prices as of Jan 22
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
  • Stink and the Great Guinea Pig Express - When three guinea pigs from the local pet shop make a great escape, Stink Moody and his friends Webster and Sophie spring into action. TA-DA! The Fantastic Fur Friends round up the little hairballs and bring them safely back to Mrs. Birdwistle’s shop, where they discover — OH-LA-LA! — guinea pig pandemonium! Time for the Great Guinea Pig Giveaway! Stink and company hit the road in a crazy quest to find good homes for 101 squealing, whistling, chirping, wiggly piggies.

  • Guinea Dog - Rufus has been dreaming of getting a dog. His best friend has one. His worst friend has one. But his dad has a few objections: They whine. They gnaw. They bark. They scratch. They beg. They drool. Rufus pays no attention when his mom offers her think-outside-the-box suggestion, because she can't be serious. She can't be. She can be. And she actually comes home with a guinea pig. And if Rufus's dad thinks dogs are a problem, he won't know what hit him when he meets the Guinea Pig That Thinks She's a Dog. She barks. She bites. She'll eat your homework.

  • Katie and the Class Pet - Katie is so excited when her name is drawn to take the class pet, Binky,home for the weekend. Things start off great, and Katie takes good care of Binky. But when she loses him, she dreads telling her teacher and classmates.

  • Philomena's New Glasses - From the creator of Ready Rabbit Gets Ready! comes a hilarious photo-story of sisterhood and one-upmanship. Philomena needs new glasses. Her sister Audrey wants them, too. And if Philomena and Audrey have them, shouldn’t their sister Nora Jane also have them? In this utterly amusing tale of sisterhood, glasses, purses, and dresses, these girls soon make an important discovery. Not everyone needs the same things!

Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did you know you can help us improve this list? Check out our Community Handbook and learn how to add tags to books.