An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

Sea Monsters: Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about sea monsters?

As you can see, this list of kids books about sea monsters is a work in progress! We’re currently exploring the best books available, and we’d love your input. If you have a title you’d suggest including on our list of kids books about sea monsters, please share it with us!

We’ll be featuring a variety of titles on our list, from well known classics to popular bestsellers to lesser known titles that deserve a bigger audience. We’re also including books for a range of ages, from board books for babies and toddlers, to picture books for preschool and kindergarten age kids, to chapter books for early elementary age kids.

We’d love to hear any book suggestions you have—you can comment below or email us at [email protected].

Sea Monster!
Written by Jordan Quinn & illustrated by Robert McPhillips
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 5-9

Troubled waters ahead! Lucas and Clara search for a scary sea monster in this third chapter book in the fantastical Kingdom of Wrenly series.

Something has been making waves around Wrenly, and it’s not the tides. Prince Lucas is sure that it’s the mysterious sea monster that has only been heard of in tall tales. Now the legendary monster is frightening everyone—from fishermen, to the king’s men, to even the hardiest of sea captains. With the aid of his best friend, Clara, and a cast of unlikely helpers, it’s up to Prince Lucas to discover what is bothering the beast—and make the trouble stop!

With easy-to-read language and illustrations on almost every page, The Kingdom of Wrenly chapter books are perfect for beginning readers.

The Danger Gang and the Isle of Feral Beasts!
Written by Stephen Bramucci & illustrated by Arree Chung
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Ronald Zupan and the rest of the Danger Gang are back for their second rip-roaring adventure, perfect for fans of Indiana Jones and Lemony Snicket, fully illustrated by Arree Chung. “The ride of a lifetime.” —Matt de la Peña, Newbery Award-winning author on The Danger Gang and the Pirates of Borneo! Ronald Zupan, his quick-witted fencing partner Julianne Sato, and his trusty butler Jeeves are off on another adventure. This time, they’re trying to rescue the movie star Josh Brigand—who was kidnapped from his latest film premiere by the dreaded Liars’ Club. As the Danger Gang races to save their friend, they face off with a poisoning poet, a band of Roman candle-wielding thugs, and thousands of feral foxes. When their skills of deduction are put to the ultimate test, will Ronald and his pals be able to stick together long enough to rescue Josh and defeat the Liar’s Club once and for all? Fully illustrated by picture book talent Arree Chung, this hilarious, high-action series is a must-have for all adventurers.

Elliot Stone and the Mystery of the Summer Vacation Sea Monster
Written by L. P. Chase & illustrated by Carl DiRocco
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Having to leave his friends and miss a popular fourth-grade graduation party, Elliot is not looking forward to spending the summer in Vermont until he spots an unusual animal in Lake Bomoseen.

Lula and the Sea Monster
Written & illustrated by Alex Latimer
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

A moving story of nurturing friendship and standing up for others.

Lula loves living by the beach. But soon, her family must leave their home to make way for a new highway. Counting down the days to her move, Lula walks along the beach to find keepsakes and discovers something much more valuable than a souvenir. Lula makes friends with a small sea monster that she names Bean. Each day Lula returns to the beach to feed him. And each day Bean grows bigger and bigger. But what will happen to Lula’s new friend once she moves away?

A Crack in the Sea
Written by H. M. Bouwman & illustrated by Yuko Shimizu
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 10-14

“Pip, a young boy who can speak to fish, and his sister Kinchen set off on a great adventure, joined by twins with magical powers, refugees fleeing post-war Vietnam, and some helpful sea monsters”—

    Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did you know you can help us improve this list? Check out our Community Handbook and learn how to add tags to books.

    Suggested Links