An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

Sea Monsters: Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about sea monsters?

Children’s literature has many notable options when it comes to sea monsters. To help you find the right books for you and your young reader, we’ve compiled a list of the best kids books about sea monsters.

Our list includes picture books and chapter books. Picture books are generally great options for toddlers and for preschool and kindergarten age children. Picture books are especially enjoyable for adults to read aloud with young kids. The chapter books on our list are generally best for elementary through early middle school age tween kids. You can filter to sort by the best book type for your kid.

When it comes to children’s stories about sea monsters, there are a variety of titles. This list covers everything, from classics like Elliot Stone and the Mystery of the Summer Vacation Sea Monster to popular sellers like Summer of the Sea Serpent.

We hope this list of kids books about sea monsters can be a helpful resource for parents, teachers, and others searching for a new book!

Share this list
Add to list
Sea Monster!
Written by Jordan Quinn & illustrated by Robert McPhillips
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 5-9

Troubled waters ahead! Lucas and Clara search for a scary sea monster in this third chapter book in the fantastical Kingdom of Wrenly series.

Something has been making waves around Wrenly, and it’s not the tides. Prince Lucas is sure that it’s the mysterious sea monster that has only been heard of in tall tales. Now the legendary monster is frightening everyone—from fishermen, to the king’s men, to even the hardiest of sea captains. With the aid of his best friend, Clara, and a cast of unlikely helpers, it’s up to Prince Lucas to discover what is bothering the beast—and make the trouble stop!

With easy-to-read language and illustrations on almost every page, The Kingdom of Wrenly chapter books are perfect for beginning readers.

Buy book
$17.99
Bookshop
$15.29
Amazon
$16.80
Used $9.14
Prices as of Jan 18
Add to list
Gargantis
Written by Thomas Taylor & illustrated by Tom Booth
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12
In the second fantasy set in Eerie-on-Sea, Herbert and Violet team up to solve the mystery of Gargantis -- an ancient creature of the deep with the power to create life-threatening storms.
Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$14.29
Used $9.22
Prices as of Jan 18
Add to list
The Danger Gang and the Isle of Feral Beasts!
Written by Stephen Bramucci & illustrated by Arree Chung
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Ronald Zupan and the rest of the Danger Gang are back for their second rip-roaring adventure, perfect for fans of Indiana Jones and Lemony Snicket, fully illustrated by Arree Chung. “The ride of a lifetime.” –Matt de la Peña, Newbery Award-winning author on The Danger Gang and the Pirates of Borneo! Ronald Zupan, his quick-witted fencing partner Julianne Sato, and his trusty butler Jeeves are off on another adventure. This time, they’re trying to rescue the movie star Josh Brigand–who was kidnapped from his latest film premiere by the dreaded Liars’ Club. As the Danger Gang races to save their friend, they face off with a poisoning poet, a band of Roman candle-wielding thugs, and thousands of feral foxes. When their skills of deduction are put to the ultimate test, will Ronald and his pals be able to stick together long enough to rescue Josh and defeat the Liar’s Club once and for all? Fully illustrated by picture book talent Arree Chung, this hilarious, high-action series is a must-have for all adventurers.

Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$16.99
Used $5.34
Prices as of Jan 18
Add to list
Elliot Stone and the Mystery of the Summer Vacation Sea Monster
Written by L. P. Chase & illustrated by Carl DiRocco
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

Having to leave his friends and miss a popular fourth-grade graduation party, Elliot is not looking forward to spending the summer in Vermont until he spots an unusual animal in Lake Bomoseen.

Add to list
Malamander
Written by Thomas Taylor & illustrated by Tom Booth
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12
A quirky, creepy fantasy set in Eerie-on-Sea finds a colorful cast of characters in hot pursuit of a sea monster thought to convey a surprising gift.
Buy book
$16.99
Bookshop
$14.44
Amazon
$15.59
Used $3.12
Prices as of Jan 18
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
  • Summer of the Sea Serpent - The #1 bestselling chapter book series of all time celebrates 25 years with new covers and a new, easy-to-use numbering system! <p/> Jack and Annie are off on another mythical mission at the request of Merlin the magician. Luckily, they have a young sorcerer, Teddy, to help them. From underwater caves to a Spider Queen, from mystical selkies to a magical sword, this is a Magic Tree House adventure kids won’t want to miss! <p/>Formerly numbered as Magic Tree House #31, the title of this book is now Magic Tree House Merlin Mission #3: <i> Summer of the Sea Serpent.</i> <p/> Did you know that there’s a Magic Tree House book for every kid? <p/> Magic Tree House: Adventures with Jack and Annie, perfect for readers who are just beginning chapter books<br> <b>Merlin Missions: More challenging adventures for the experienced reader</b><br> Super Edition: A longer and more dangerous adventure<br> Fact Trackers: Nonfiction companions to your favorite Magic Tree House adventures <p/> Have more fun with Jack and Annie at MagicTreeHouse.com!

  • Lula and the Sea Monster - A moving story of nurturing friendship and standing up for others. Lula loves living by the beach. But soon, her family must leave their home to make way for a new highway. Counting down the days to her move, Lula walks along the beach to find keepsakes and discovers something much more valuable than a souvenir. Lula makes friends with a small sea monster that she names Bean. Each day Lula returns to the beach to feed him. And each day Bean grows bigger and bigger. But what will happen to Lula’s new friend once she moves away?

  • A Crack in the Sea - “Pip, a young boy who can speak to fish, and his sister Kinchen set off on a great adventure, joined by twins with magical powers, refugees fleeing post-war Vietnam, and some helpful sea monsters”–

  • Ned the Knitting Pirate - The crew of the pirate ship the Rusty Heap are a fearsome bunch! They're tougher than gristle and barnacle grit. They heave and they ho and they swab and they . . . knit?

Add to list
Monsters Don't Scuba Dive
Written by Debbie Dadey
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 7-10

The hugely popular early chapter book series re-emerges with a new look! Brand-new eye-catching cover art brings a modern feel to this classic monster series for young readers. <BR>The new swimming instructor at Camp Lone Wolf, Nessie McFarland, is anything but normal. And when she’s in her scuba gear, Nessie’s skinny black body, long neck, and little head remind the kids of the great legend of Lock Ness. But Nessie can’t really be a monster, could she?

Buy book
$4.99
Bookshop
$4.24
Amazon
$4.99
Used $0.35
Prices as of Jan 18
Add to list
Beauty and the Dreaded Sea Beast
Written by Louise Simonson & illustrated by Otis Frampton
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 9-12

When Beauty’s father is swept overboard from their ship, The Rose, just as they are being attacked by a sorcerer-pirate and his crew of living skeletons, Beauty jumps in to save him, and is immediately scooped up by a surprisingly friendly Kraken; she offers to remain with him if he finds and saves her father, but as she explores the pirate’s island she finds a treasure and a book of spells–which may hold the key to turning the Kraken back into a prince (or at least a human).

Buy book
$5.95
Bookshop
$5.06
Amazon
$5.95
Used $5.95
Prices as of Jan 18

    Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did you know you can help us improve this list? Check out our Community Handbook and learn how to add tags to books.