An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

Public Speaking: Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about public speaking?

As you can see, this list of kids books about public speaking is a work in progress! We’re currently exploring the best books available, and we’d love your input. If you have a title you’d suggest including on our list of kids books about public speaking, please share it with us!

We’ll be featuring a variety of titles on our list, from well known classics to popular bestsellers to lesser known titles that deserve a bigger audience. We’re also including books for a range of ages, from board books for babies and toddlers, to picture books for preschool and kindergarten age kids, to chapter books for early elementary age kids.

We’d love to hear any book suggestions you have—you can comment below or email us at [email protected].

Share this list
Add to list
Class Act
Written by Kelly Starling Lyons & illustrated by Vanessa Brantley-Newton
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 6-8

Fans of Princess Posey and Ivy and Bean will enjoy rooting for Jada Jones as she runs for student council in this easy-to-read chapter book. As a candidate for class representative, Jada is ready to give the campaign her all. But when rumors start to fly about her secret fear of public speaking, she isn’t sure who she can trust. And the pressure to make promises she can’t keep only adds to her growing list of problems. Is winning even worth it when friendships are on the line? This easy-to-read story–with plenty of pictures and a charming, relatable cast of characters–is a sure winner. The early chapter book bridges between leveled readers and chapter books for fluent readers adjusting to the chapter book format. At about 5,000 words, with short chapters and two-color art on almost every page, it will appeal to this unique reader. The two-color art throughout will help readers transition from the familiar four-color art of leveled readers and ease them into black-and-white chapter books.

Buy book
$15.99
Bookshop
$13.59
Amazon
$15.99
Used $15.99
Prices as of Jan 23
Add to list
Mr. Wayne's Masterpiece
Written & illustrated by Patricia Polacco
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

In this inspiring true story, beloved artist Patricia Polacco conquers her fear of public speaking, allowing her to discover her remarkable voice. A wonderful companion to <i>Thank You, Mr. Falker </i>and <i>The Art of Miss Chew</i>, it celebrates the lifelong impact of a great teacher. <p/>Speaking in front of an audience terrifies Trisha. Ending up in Mr. Wayne’s drama class is the last thing she wants! But Mr. Wayne gives her a backstage role painting scenery for the winter play. As she paints, she listens to the cast rehearse, memorizing their lines without even realizing it. Then, days before opening night, the lead actress suddenly moves away, and Trisha is the only other person who knows her part. Will the play have to be canceled? It won’t be an easy road–when Trisha tries to recite the lines in front of the cast, nothing comes out! But Mr. Wayne won’t let her give up, and with his coaching, Trisha is able to become one of his true masterpieces.

Buy book
$18.99
Bookshop
$16.14
Amazon
$18.99
Used $18.99
Prices as of Jan 23
Add to list
Arthur Meets the President
Written by Marc Brown
picture book
Recommend Ages: 5-8

Follow Arthur on the adventure of a lifetime, during a trip to Washington, D.C. to meet the President of the United States! When Arthur is invited to meet the President after winning an essay contest, he can’t wait explore the nation’s capitol with his family and friends. There’s just one problem: he’s got stage fright! Will he be able to overcome his fear and deliver the perfect speech in front of everyone?<br>

Buy book
$8.99
Bookshop
$7.64
Amazon
$8.99
Used $8.99
Prices as of Jan 23

    Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did you know you can help us improve this list? Check out our Community Handbook and learn how to add tags to books.