An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

Volcanoes: Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about volcanoes?

Children’s literature has many notable options when it comes to volcanoes. To help you find the right books for you and your young reader, we’ve compiled a list of the best kids books about volcanoes.

Our list includes picture books and chapter books. Picture books are generally great options for toddlers and for preschool and kindergarten age children. Picture books are especially enjoyable for adults to read aloud with young kids. The chapter books on our list are generally best for elementary through early middle school age tween kids. You can filter to sort by the best book type for your kid.

When it comes to children’s stories about volcanoes, there are a variety of titles. This list covers everything, from classics like Hill of Fire to popular sellers like Vacation Under The Volcano to some of our favorite hidden gems like Paper World: Planet Earth.

We hope this list of kids books about volcanoes can be a helpful resource for parents, teachers, and others searching for a new book!

Share this list
Add to list
Paper World: Planet Earth
Written & illustrated by Bomboland
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12

This guide to our planet shows paper being engineered like never before. Paper World: Planet Earth uses ingenious paper cutouts to reveal the amazing details of our planet, from bubbling volcanoes to rushing rivers to the boiling hot interior of the Earth. With detailed art by studio Bomboland, a fact-filled text, and flaps and die-cuts on every spread, this one-of-a-kind novelty book will appeal to readers of all ages.

Buy book
$24.99
Bookshop
$21.24
Amazon
$18.90
Used $16.78
Prices as of Mar 5
Add to list
Magic School Bus Blows Its Top: A Book about Volcanoes: Blows Its Top, The: A Book about Volcanoes
Written by Joanna Cole
picture book
Recommend Ages: 4-8

Ms. Frizzle’s class is having a hard time putting together a giant globe of the world.

Buy book
$3.99
Bookshop
$3.39
Amazon
$3.99
Used $3.99
Prices as of Mar 5
Add to list
The Pompeii Disaster
Written by Dan Gutman
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-11

In this explosive third installment of New York Times bestselling author Dan Gutman's action-packed series, four thrill-seeking friends travel back in time to document one of the most devastating natural disasters the world has ever seen.

Buy book
$6.99
Bookshop
$5.94
Amazon
$6.99
Used $6.99
Prices as of Mar 5
Add to list
How to Twist a Dragon's Tale
Written by Cressida Cowell
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-12
Don't miss an action-packed, hilarious, heart-warming moment of the New York Times bestselling series that inspired the hit movies!
Buy book
$8.99
Bookshop
$7.64
Amazon
$8.99
Used $8.99
Prices as of Mar 5
Add to list
Journey Through Ash and Smoke
Written by Kate Messner
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 8-10

Ranger is a time-traveling golden retriever with search-and-rescue training. In this adventure, he goes to Viking age Iceland, which proves to be tough terrain for Ranger to navigate. Usually it’s Ranger’s job to save the day before he can return to his family, but he meets a girl named Helga who rescues <i>him</i> more than once. And when a nearby volcano threatens to erupt and Helga’s new baby brother or sister starts to come early, they must journey through ash and smoke to find Helga’s father. But if Helga doesn’t need Ranger’s help, how will he ever get home?

Buy book
$5.99
Bookshop
$5.09
Amazon
$5.99
Used $5.99
Prices as of Mar 5
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
Add to list
  • The Seismic Seven - This action-packed, science-infused adventure from the critically acclaimed author of The Countdown Conspiracy follows a group of seven kids racing to save the world from a deadly supervolcano. Perfect for fans of Chris Grabenstein and Peter Lerangis. Brianna Dobson has been chosen to work with world-renowned geologist Dr. Grier in Yellowstone National Park for the summer, and she couldn’t be more excited! But then Dr. Grier tells her and the other kids on the project the real reason she’s invited them to Yellowstone: A massive supervolcano in the park is about to erupt—and if they can’t stop it, Earth will be plunged into an endless winter, and civilization will be destroyed. Bri and her new friends are ready and willing to help stop the eruption, but unexpected dangers threaten to foil their efforts. Will the Seismic Seven be able to defy nature and save the world?

  • I Survived the Eruption of Mount St. Helens, 1980 - The mountain exploded with the power of ten million tons of dynamite...

  • The Unicorn Emergency - When he returns to Olympus from Asgard, Demon must calm a groggy volcano monster while figuring out what is wrong with the unicorns.

  • I Survived the Destruction of Pompeii, Ad 79 - The beast beneath the mountain is restless...

Add to list
Vacation Under The Volcano
Written by Mary Pope Osborne & illustrated by Sal Murdocca
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 6-9

Who wants to vacation next to a volcano? Jack and Annie are about to find out when the Magic Tree House whisks them back to the days of the Roman Empire. They arrive in Pompeii and soon discover that it is the very day the city will be destroyed. Now Jack and Annie must race against time to find an ancient library before it is buried in ash!

Buy book
$7.95
Bookshop
$6.76
Amazon
$4.80
Used $0.35
Prices as of Mar 5
Add to list
Hill of Fire
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 6-6

Every day is the same for Pablo’s father. Then one afternoon the ground growls, hisses smoke, and swallows up his plow. A volcano is erupting in the middle of his cornfield!

Buy book
$15.80
Bookshop
$13.43
Amazon
$14.80
Used $7.50
Prices as of Mar 5
Add to list
A Trip to the Top of the Volcano with Mouse
Written by Frank Viva
picture book
Recommend Ages: 3-

Join Mouse and a young explorer as they prepare to climb Mount Etna. Help them list what they’ll need: “walking sticks,” “mountain boots,” “sunglasses…” “Can I have pepperoni?” asks Mouse. From sea to snow, young readers will giggle with delight as they experience the magical world drawn by Frank Viva. Over and over again, the bestselling author of Young Frank, Architect will make them relive the unforgettable journey he took to the top of one of the world’s most active volcanoes.

Buy book
$12.95
Bookshop
$11.01
Amazon
$12.95
Used $12.95
Prices as of Mar 5

    Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did you know you can help us improve this list? Check out our Community Handbook and learn how to add tags to books.