An Award-Winning Book Club for Kids
Shop Now

Fairs: Books For Kids

Looking for a list of the best children's books about fairs?

Children’s literature has many notable options when it comes to fairs. To help you find the right books for you and your young reader, we’ve compiled a list of the best kids books about fairs.

Our list includes board books, picture books, and chapter books. Board books are best for babies and toddlers from ages newborn to 2 or 3. Picture books are generally great options for toddlers and for preschool and kindergarten age children. Picture books are especially enjoyable for adults to read aloud with young kids. The chapter books on our list are generally best for elementary through early middle school age tween kids. You can filter to sort by the best book type for your kid.

When it comes to children’s stories about fairs, there are a variety of titles. This list covers everything, from classics like The Major Eights 3: The Goo Disaster! to popular sellers like The Princess in Black and the Science Fair Scare.

We hope this list of kids books about fairs can be a helpful resource for parents, teachers, and others searching for a new book! As you explore the list, please comment below to let us know what books you would add.

Add to list
The Major Eights 3: The Goo Disaster!
Written by Melody Reed & illustrated by Emilie Pepin
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 6-8
In book three of the Major Eights series, Maggie has to ace her science fair project or she won't be able to perform with the band at the annual arts banquet! Maggie is thrilled to perform with the Major Eights at the school's annual arts fund-raising banquet. But when Maggie's science grade starts slipping (her one difficult subject), her mom refuses to let her play at the banquet unless she can get an A on her science fair project. Can Maggie and the girls find a way to make sure Maggie aces the project?
Add to list
Polly Diamond and the Super Stunning Spectacular School Fair
Written by Alice Kuipers & illustrated by Diana Toledano
picture book
Recommend Ages: 6-9
Polly and her magic book, Spell, have all kinds of adventures together because whatever Polly writes in Spell comes true! But when Polly and Spell join forces to make the school fair super spectacular, they quickly discover that what you write and what you mean are not always the same. Filled with the familiar details of home and school, but with a sprinkling of magic, this book is just right for fans of Ivy + Bean, Judy Moody, and Dory Fantasmagory, as well for aspiring writers, who, just like Polly, know the magic of stories.
Add to list
Fun at the Fair
Written & illustrated by Ingela P. Arrhenius
board book
Recommend Ages: 0-3
Toddlers will love exploring all the wonders of a day at the fair in this chunky, tactile board book. Little hands will thrill at flipping through the uniquely shaped, die-cut pages that overlap to reveal carousels, trains, rollercoasters and all the other fun-tastic sights and sounds of a bustling fairground. Delightfully petite, with light concept-based text and jubilant illustrations, Fun at the Fair is perfect for hands on play and bedtime reading alike. • The tactile, toylike quality makes Fun at the Fair an irresistible attention-grabber for toddlers. • Decorative and elegantly-designed, this book is ideal for both nursery display and hands-on learning. • Lovers of Scandinavian design will love Ingela Arrhenius's beautiful, 1950s-inspired art. Fans of City Block, Main Street Magic, and Ingela Arrhenius's Animals and Pop Up Things that Go! will love Fun at the Fair. • Board books for toddlers • Family read-aloud for ages 0–3 • Baby shower gift/home décor
Add to list
The Princess in Black and the Science Fair Scare
Written by Shannon Hale & illustrated by LeUyen Pham
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 4-8
Princess Magnolia is excited. Excited and nervous. She’s going to the Interkingdom Science Fair today to present her poster about seeds and plants, and when she arrives, she sees that her friends are there too! Princess Honeysuckle made a mole habitat, Princess Sneezewort has built a blanket fort, and Tommy Wigtower has a talking volcano that’s saying “EAAAAT!” Wait, what? A surprise goo monster makes this a job for the Princess in Black, and the Princess in Blankets is on the scene to lend a hand. But will two masked heroes be enough to save the science fair? A little scientific problem-solving—and a lot of princess power—will make the sixth entry in the New York Times bestselling series a smash hit.
Add to list
The Time Warp Wonder
Written by Franklin W. Dixon
chapter book
Recommend Ages: 6-9
Detective brothers Frank and Joe work to debunk a time travel machine in the eighth book in the interactive Hardy Boys Clue Book series. Bayport Elementary is almost ready for the annual science fair—it’s all down to the final touches. Frank and Joe have collaborated on a detective helmet. It’s the perfect lie detector—just place it on a suspect’s head and the bells and whistles will tell you when they’re lying. But not everyone is as prepared for the big fair. Their good friend Phil has designed a time machine he calls the Time Warp Wonder. He just needs to figure out how it works first… Phil uses Chet’s hamster as a test subject. And the machine really does make the hamster disappear from the cafeteria! It’s just that Phil isn’t sure where the hamster went or how to get him back. Frank and Joe are not so sure the hamster went back in time. They have a feeling their Clue Book will be more help to Chet’s hamster than Phil’s calculations. But the brothers start questioning their instincts when they receive pictures of the hamster in different time periods; dressed as caveman with the dinosaurs, suited up in armor in the middle ages, in a top hat watching Abe Lincoln give a speech. Could Chet’s hamster really be traveling though time? It’s up to the Hardy Boys—and you—to find out!
My Weirder-est School #1: Dr. Snow Has Got to Go! book
Add to list
Libby Loves Science book
Add to list
County Fair book
Add to list
Fergus and Zeke at the Science Fair book
Add to list
  • My Weirder-est School #1: Dr. Snow Has Got to Go! - In this first book in the My Weirder-est School series, Ella Mentry School is having a science fair! Guest scientist Dr. Snow has arrived to help A.J. and his friends conduct their own cool experiments. But what is “the Snowman” really planning? And what does S.T.E.M. even stand for, anyway? Perfect for reluctant readers and all kids hungry for funny school stories, Dan Gutman’s hugely popular My Weird School chapter book series has something for everyone. Don’t miss the hilarious adventures of A.J. and the gang!

  • Libby Loves Science - Libby and her friends volunteer to run the science booth at their school fair and have some great ideas, but Libby does not always follow directions precisely. Includes a worksheet for each experiment mentioned.

  • County Fair - It’s an exciting day for Almanzo as the Wilder family visits the county fair in this second My First Little House Book adapted from Laura Ingalls Wilder’s classic Farmer Boy. There are contests, races, and good things to eat, and Almanzo can’t wait to see what the judges think of his special pumpkin. Jody Wheeler’s luminous illustrations bring Laura’s beloved farmer boy to life.

  • Fergus and Zeke at the Science Fair - Fergus and Zeke love being the class pets in Miss Maxwell’s classroom, and they do everything the students do—listening at storytime, painting masterpieces during art class, and keeping their own special journals. But when it’s time for the school science fair, the mice aren’t sure just how to get involved. Lucy wants to time them as they run through a maze, but they want to do an experiment, not be an experiment. Then Zeke comes up with a great idea: since Lucy is training animals for her experiment, maybe he and Fergus can do the same thing! Unfortunately, the only animals available are the students themselves. Can Fergus and Zeke turn the tables and train Lucy in time for the science fair?

Add to list
Never Insult a Killer Zucchini
Written by Elana Azose & illustrated by David Clark
picture book
Recommend Ages: 7-10
This is one science fair you’ll never forget! When Mr. Farnsworth, the science-fair judge, declares that he loves zucchinis, the Killer Zucchini is smitten. As the judge makes his way through the exhibits alphabetically—A (antimatter), B (bionic limb), C (cloning)—the Killer Zucchini tries to show his affection. But when Mr. F gets to K and admits he likes to eat zucchini with ranch dressing, the Killer Zucchini gets steamed and attempts to exact his revenge on the snack-loving judge using the other science-fair projects as his means to an end. Hilarious havoc ensues as the entire science fair is destroyed by his wrath. Engaging backmatter provides the science behind the science fair entries created by the characters in the story.

    Did you enjoy our children's book recommendations? Did you know you can help us improve this list? Check out our Community Handbook and learn how to add tags to books.

    Suggested Links